We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“early train from venice to florence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna
Ranked #6 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Roslyn Heights, New York
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“early train from venice to florence”
Reviewed 5 May 2012

we had to pick up a rent a car by 12 pm on sunday in florence.decided to stay in mestre, rather than on the lagoon so we could get the train from mestre. hotel across from station. very modern. recently decorated. good breakfast. .con ventient. staff extremely helpful. the room was like a suite. try to stay on the lagoon if possible

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Danny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,093
    913
    160
    31
    22
See reviews for
453
1,072
71
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

This hotel is very modern and the rooms are lovely. They were doing some renovation work down in the foyer but this didn't affect our stay.
The room was lovely because you could close off the one part, when our daughter went to sleep. The one funny thing is the tv plays into the bathroom and this is very loud, we didn't know how to switch it off.
The hotel is right opposite the train station as well as the bus stop to Venice. The trip to venice by train or bus takes between 7-10 minutes. They sell train tickets as well as travel cards at the hotel. You can buy a 12/24/36 hour travel card, which is very useful. You use these on the buses and waterbuses, and is activated from the first time you use it.
The breakfast buffet was very nice and a big variety of foods.
The only downside was our room faced the road which made it quite noisy at night. I did ask if we could swap rooms but the hotel was full.
Very convenient and quick to get to Venice.

Room Tip: Try get a room not facing the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tanya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, NV
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We arrived by train later at night and it was so nice and convenient to just cross the street to our hotel. I am very picky about old, outdated, stinky places and believe me, these rooms are nice. The mattress felt like memory foam and I thought I would hate it but I slept like a baby. We were in the newer part of the building and our room was the biggest of 7 in our trip. Clean, renovated and state of the art sound/TV system. Free wi-fi is so nice as we encountered a few hotels that in 2012 do not offer this service. The breakfast was really good, the hotel sells the bus tickets, vaporeto passes and transportation to airport for the same price (no mark up). We loved this service. They also had my husband’s jeans washed and pressed at the last minute. Our view after dark was of prostitutes across the street, which was interesting! The area is not ideal for walking around but perfect to connect to Venice, airports and rail, of course. It felt safe even at night. I cannot imagine how painful it must be to carry your luggage on the bus, vaporeto, and drag them through the streets of Venice. Not worth it unless you have a butler or a 5-star hotel that will take care of your luggage. We saw this over and over and felt sorry for these poor tourists. 2EUR bus to Venice, 16EUR 12-hrs vaporetto (worth getting these), 7EUR one-way to Treviso airport. By the way what a nice little airport and drive from Mestre to Treviso.

Room Tip: Request room in the new building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bellemex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I’ve just returned from Venice and the city is just absolutely magical. Prices can be steep so we decided to book this hotel in Mestre because it was slightly cheaper than if we stayed in Venice directly.

In terms of location it is literally opposite the train station and every train which states “REG” next to it on the departures board goes to Venice and vice versa on the way home. It costs about 2 Euros or so for a single train journey to Venice from Mestre and it is about 5 – 10 minutes on the train.

Getting the train is not always my first choice but seriously it really is hassle free and easy! The hotel can arrange tickets for you too. I only noticed this on the last day, doh!
On arrival at the hotel we were greeted with extremely friendly reception staff. They are very helpful.

When we got to our room we were really happy. You get your usual toiletries and a hairdryer so it’s not worth buying soap if you are only going for a weekend.

The room was clean, light and it had a good size TV with sky cinema where you could watch some cheeky films if you had an hour or so to spare. The selection of channels was much better than any other 4 star we had stayed in.

The bar staff in the evening were friendly also. We managed to grab a quick drink on arrival before the bar closed at 12am. Only thing I wasn’t keen about was the breakfast. The breakfast itself was fine, it was just your standard bread, pastries, egg and bacon.

If you are a vegetarian beware because anything you can eat is based next to the meat. Even though I am a vegetarian this didn’t bother me too much it was more the service in the breakfast room. In particular a very rude young waitress. She would look and us funny when we asked for a coffee and never laid our table properly both days. In fact we didn’t really know what we were doing the first morning and had to second guess everything because the breakfast staff weren’t very much help at all.

Unfortunately, there were renovation works going on when we stayed there. So we were awoken by a very loud drill and banging noise at 7am in the morning. Although we needed to get up early anyway it would have been nice to have been forewarned and to have had a few hours extra in bed. I’m sure you can all relate to that when you’ve travelled late at night and you are absolutely knackered. However, I am sure that the renovations will be done with if you decide to go.

I am of course being very picky and I would definitely use this hotel again. It’s an excellent base to explore a beautiful city. It’s a clean, good old fashioned 4 star and you can’t really go wrong, it does what it’s says it does on the tin.

If you do go, have a wonderful time.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank The-Boils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coventry
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My wife and i stayed here in april 2012. The hotel is opposite the local bus and train stations great for travel to venice by train and main bus route to airport and surrounding area. Hotel facilities are great, dining, wi-fi, room was very comfortable with excellent large bathroom, all nicely furnished. Breakfast has a nice range of food both hot and cold, which is self service.
Hotel staff are exremely helpful and friendly. Hotel is located in main commercial area so has lots of amienties around such as other hotels, bars and restaurants along with various size supermarkets. A great base to explore venice and the surounding area from, using all the local public and private transport means at your disposal. The hotel sells all the neccessary tickets for your transport needs, good tip to buy the venice card which gives you access to buses and water taxi's in and around venice on whatever timescale suits your stay.

Room Tip: Avoid room near stairs and lifts as the noise does tend to echo around the hotel corridors and stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ColumbusCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mestre hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Villa Costanza
Hotel Villa Costanza
#2 of 58 in Mestre
740 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Tritone
Hotel Tritone
#8 of 58 in Mestre
1,290 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#18 of 58 in Mestre
2,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Venice Mestre San Giuliano
3.2 km away
Best Western Plus Quid Hotel Venice Airport
1.3 km away
NH Laguna Palace
NH Laguna Palace
#14 of 58 in Mestre
2,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna

Property: Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna
Address: Via Piave 214, 30171, Mestre, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Bologna - Mestre Station)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Mestre
#4 Green Hotel in Mestre
#5 Family Hotel in Mestre
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mestre
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mestre
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,660 - ₹ 15,244
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna is located right across from Mestre railway station, and is ten minutes by train or bus from the center of Venice and the Grand Canal. It's easily accessible from the airports of Venice and Treviso and from the motorway. If you leave your car in the parking lot of the hotel you will be able to go and discover the wonders of Venice very easily. The Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna is also at the center of many tourist itineraries of great interest and fascination, as - for example - the villas of the Riviera del Brenta, the artistic cities of Padua, Vicenza and Verona, the beautiful view of the hills around Treviso, not to forget the nearby beaches and the beautiful Dolomites. The Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna has been operating for more than a century, with a strong passion for hospitality and with a recognized high standard in competence and experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Fastbooking and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bologna Hotel
Best Western Mestre
Mestre Best Western
Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna Province Of Venice/Mestre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing