We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would be happy to go back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Bologna
Ranked #6 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Essex
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Would be happy to go back”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I’ve just returned from Venice and the city is just absolutely magical. Prices can be steep so we decided to book this hotel in Mestre because it was slightly cheaper than if we stayed in Venice directly.

In terms of location it is literally opposite the train station and every train which states “REG” next to it on the departures board goes to Venice and vice versa on the way home. It costs about 2 Euros or so for a single train journey to Venice from Mestre and it is about 5 – 10 minutes on the train.

Getting the train is not always my first choice but seriously it really is hassle free and easy! The hotel can arrange tickets for you too. I only noticed this on the last day, doh!
On arrival at the hotel we were greeted with extremely friendly reception staff. They are very helpful.

When we got to our room we were really happy. You get your usual toiletries and a hairdryer so it’s not worth buying soap if you are only going for a weekend.

The room was clean, light and it had a good size TV with sky cinema where you could watch some cheeky films if you had an hour or so to spare. The selection of channels was much better than any other 4 star we had stayed in.

The bar staff in the evening were friendly also. We managed to grab a quick drink on arrival before the bar closed at 12am. Only thing I wasn’t keen about was the breakfast. The breakfast itself was fine, it was just your standard bread, pastries, egg and bacon.

If you are a vegetarian beware because anything you can eat is based next to the meat. Even though I am a vegetarian this didn’t bother me too much it was more the service in the breakfast room. In particular a very rude young waitress. She would look and us funny when we asked for a coffee and never laid our table properly both days. In fact we didn’t really know what we were doing the first morning and had to second guess everything because the breakfast staff weren’t very much help at all.

Unfortunately, there were renovation works going on when we stayed there. So we were awoken by a very loud drill and banging noise at 7am in the morning. Although we needed to get up early anyway it would have been nice to have been forewarned and to have had a few hours extra in bed. I’m sure you can all relate to that when you’ve travelled late at night and you are absolutely knackered. However, I am sure that the renovations will be done with if you decide to go.

I am of course being very picky and I would definitely use this hotel again. It’s an excellent base to explore a beautiful city. It’s a clean, good old fashioned 4 star and you can’t really go wrong, it does what it’s says it does on the tin.

If you do go, have a wonderful time.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank The-Boils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,081
    896
    160
    31
    21
See reviews for
440
1,058
70
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
coventry
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My wife and i stayed here in april 2012. The hotel is opposite the local bus and train stations great for travel to venice by train and main bus route to airport and surrounding area. Hotel facilities are great, dining, wi-fi, room was very comfortable with excellent large bathroom, all nicely furnished. Breakfast has a nice range of food both hot and cold, which is self service.
Hotel staff are exremely helpful and friendly. Hotel is located in main commercial area so has lots of amienties around such as other hotels, bars and restaurants along with various size supermarkets. A great base to explore venice and the surounding area from, using all the local public and private transport means at your disposal. The hotel sells all the neccessary tickets for your transport needs, good tip to buy the venice card which gives you access to buses and water taxi's in and around venice on whatever timescale suits your stay.

Room Tip: Avoid room near stairs and lifts as the noise does tend to echo around the hotel corridors and stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ColumbusCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012 via mobile

The room was completely updated and very comfortable. The hotel was conveniently located from Venice. We did not want to deal with dragging luggage in and out of boats and over bridges. It was undergoing lobby renovations, but that didn't bother us. The complementary hot and cold breakfast buffet was excellent quality.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank StevenMiamiFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed here in April 2012, was a really nice hotel, staff were friendly and helpfu;.The hotel was very easy to find and very easy to get to the central of venice by train(10min journey). You can get a bus to venice aswell\\, but i would not recommend as the bus gets very packed.
The hotel room was very nice and clean, we stayed on the north side. The only thing i would say is that ask at reception to stay on the south side if your a light sleeper as the north side is by the road and it can get very loud through the night with cars and people passing by.
Breakfast at the hotel was ok, not alot to choose from but its worth getting up for as venice is a very expensive city.

Hope this review helps

Room Tip: ask to stay on south side, quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank star90star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
390 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 5 nights, primarily because of easy access to the airport by bus, and to Venice and Padua by train. The room rate was very reasonable.

The front desk staff were extremely helpful, especially the delightful Barbara.

My friend and I were lucky to score newly refurbished room 127, with beds in two adjoining rooms, a table and chairs, a desk and tons of space.

The beds and pillows were comfortable, the room was quiet, the shower had a powerful nozzle, there were ample towels, and the shower gel, shampoo etc were good.

Wifi reception was excellent - and free! And there was a kettle, tea and coffee – very rare in Italian hotels!

Breakfast was OK – fruit salad, prunes, yoghurt, awful bread (the north!), scambled eggs, bacon, salamis, cheeses, croissants etc with fresh coffee made to order as you like it delivered to the table.

We dined once in the hotel's main restaurant, sharing a humus with crostini, and a baby artichoke risotto. We received a complementary plate of dessert tastes. With a glass each of d’avola nero, the bill was 48 euro. The food and service were excellent.

I would happily stay here again to avoid the inflated prices in Venice.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Glynis031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mestre hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Villa Costanza
Hotel Villa Costanza
#2 of 58 in Mestre
723 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Tritone
Hotel Tritone
#8 of 58 in Mestre
1,273 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#18 of 58 in Mestre
2,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Venice Mestre San Giuliano
3.2 km away
Best Western Plus Quid Hotel Venice Airport
1.3 km away
NH Laguna Palace
NH Laguna Palace
#14 of 58 in Mestre
2,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Bologna? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Bologna

Property: Best Western Hotel Bologna
Address: Via Piave 214, 30171, Mestre, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Bologna - Mestre Station)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Mestre
#4 Green Hotel in Mestre
#5 Family Hotel in Mestre
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mestre
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mestre
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,712 - ₹ 15,136
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Bologna 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna is located right across from Mestre railway station, and is ten minutes by train or bus from the center of Venice and the Grand Canal. It's easily accessible from the airports of Venice and Treviso and from the motorway. If you leave your car in the parking lot of the hotel you will be able to go and discover the wonders of Venice very easily. The Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna is also at the center of many tourist itineraries of great interest and fascination, as - for example - the villas of the Riviera del Brenta, the artistic cities of Padua, Vicenza and Verona, the beautiful view of the hills around Treviso, not to forget the nearby beaches and the beautiful Dolomites. The Best Western Plus Hotel Bologna has been operating for more than a century, with a strong passion for hospitality and with a recognized high standard in competence and experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Fastbooking, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Bologna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bologna Hotel
Best Western Mestre
Mestre Best Western
Best Western Hotel Bologna Province Of Venice/Mestre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing