We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Hotel Piave

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Piave
Ranked #52 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Small room, tiny bathroom, unfriendly staff on arrival, luke warm showers daily. Paid £330 for three nights (flights extra) and was awful for that price. Other review suggests price that should be paid - £100 each instead of £300 each. Agent booked in error instead of Al Piave in Venice and not Mestre. Did not feel safe walking past park in evening back to hotel.
School children running around on first night.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 503907Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (637)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

198 - 202 of 637 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2012

Stayed from 7/4/2012 to 10/04/2012 and could not fault any of our time spent there, breakfast worth every single penny room very clean and attended daily so no complaints there. Only weird thing was the bathroom, situated right at the end of the bed lol the door opened into the room and the toilet is the first thing you see. My other half over 6 ft when sitting on the loo no room left to shut the door other than onto his knees lol was quite the entertainment. Dont recommend room 213 unless you are a REEEEALLY close couple lol. Would recommend this hotel and the food -staff friendly place clean sheets changed what more can you ask for when its only somewhere to sleep.

Room Tip: rooms to request are 113- 213- 313 as these are away from the general populated floors, out of the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

My partner and I stayed here from 14th March - 17th March 2012. Firstly, I think it's important to take into consideration the price that you probably paid for this hotel.. We paid £100 each B&B for Hotel Piave, including return flights (via Alpharooms)

On arrival, the staff were pleasant and welcoming. As other reviewers have mentioned, the hotel is dated, but very clean and during our stay the cleaners came to our room every day.

Breakfast was pretty good, and they tried to cater for all tastes. Whilst we were there they supplied a selection of hams, cheeses and bread, juices, cereals, natural yogurt (my favorite choice), a variety of a teas and coffees and some sweet items like cakes/ biscuits/ croissants etc.

The hotel is in a really decent area, and is so easy to get into Venice. If you come out of the hotel, turn left, then right you will be on the road "Via Piave" which is the main road leading into Mestra centre. You can jump on the no.2 bus here, which will take you into the centre of Venice and takes about 10 minutes.

The only thing I would of changed about this hotel, regardless of the price, is how paper thin the walls seem to of been (although from tapping on them they seemed to be pretty thick so no idea why it seemed so loud) as you could here other guests very easily earlier on in the day but was fine at night.. and hopefully you will not be spending too much time in your room.

Useful tips: If you're aged between 14 and 29, you can buy a "Rolling Venice" card which costs 4 EUR to purchase. This allows you to travel on all ACTV water bus, trains, and land buses for 18 EUR for 72 hours of travel which literally got us everywhere we needed to be, including to and from the airport. The card also gives you discounts on many different restaurants and other tourist attractions. As soon as you get off the plane, there is a HelloVenezia tourist desk where you can buy these. Jump on the No. 15 bus to get into Mestre, where you will need to jump off at the train station.

The HelloVenezia website is also really good to look at before you go to see what's going on in Venice and loads of other tourist info.

Our favourite thing about our trip was going on a water gondola, and would highly recommend that you do this whilst out there. I booked online before we went for a gondola ride and serenade for £67 for the two of us and was worth every penny!

Go to Murano to see glass blowing workshop for free.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel for a short stay as it provides an inexpensive place to sleep with welcoming, helpful staff and very clean surroundings.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 111, and it was absolutely fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Della0507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights and it was fine as a base. The room was large with 2 double beds and it was cleaned daily. The breakfast was nice and it is very close to the train station. The area seemed a bit dodgy but that may just be our perception and the shower was not really hot, just warm and quite small. Other than that it was fine as a room but we weren't in it much.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jislaaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We stayed in this hotel during the Venice Carnival. I'm a bit disappointed, because the water ran cold almost all the time, we had problems with the heating as well - one night it was cold, the other night the temperature was extremely high. One of the receptionists was quite rude, but the others were really nice to us.

The walls were thin, we could hear everything. The bathroom was really tiny.

What I liked was the breakfast and the location. The hotel is located near the train station, the bus stop is just 1-2 minutes from the hotel and there is also a super market.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lotos2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mestre hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Aaron
Hotel Aaron
#27 of 58 in Mestre
591 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Centrale
Hotel Centrale
#51 of 58 in Mestre
934 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#17 of 58 in Mestre
2,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Villa Costanza
Hotel Villa Costanza
#2 of 58 in Mestre
793 reviews
0.5 km away
Quality Hotel Delfino Venezia Mestre
4.3 km away
Hotel Ducale
Hotel Ducale
#1 of 1 in Favaro Veneto
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Piave? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Piave

Address: Via Col Moschin 6/10, 30171, Mestre, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Price Range: ₹ 2,638 - ₹ 11,950 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Piave 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of Mestre, near the railway station, Hotel Piave is the ideal solution for tourists who would like to reach Venice in a convenient manner yet have space to breathe in a Hotel with a peaceful family-run atmosphere, in a setting dominated by warm colours and where attention is paid to everything even in the tiniest of details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Piave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piave Hotel Mestre
Hotel Piave Province Of Venice/Mestre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing