We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An ordinary hotel......but great for access to Venice”
Review of Hotel Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Plaza
Ranked #18 of 58 Hotels in Mestre
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“An ordinary hotel......but great for access to Venice”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I recently stayed here with my girlfriend during a weekend break to Venice.
We picked this hotel, as it was reasonably priced and was located close to Venice.

Reasons to stay here;
- The hotel is located directly across from the train station in Mestre. If you are looking to stay outside Venice then this location is for you, maybe not the hotel. We bought a 72 hour bus ticket, which is also valid on the vaparetto's (water buses). The bus stops directly outside the hotel, by the train station. Its a 10 minute journey to Venice, and buses arrive every ten minutes. The hotel's location was convenient to access Venice.

- The breakfast was excellent. A wide range of food to cater for everyone, and everything was fresh.

- I found the staff were helpful and friendly

Reasons not to stay here;
- The bed we had in our room was the most uncomfortable bed I have slept on. It was rock hard, and not what you need after a long day walking around Venice.

- We stayed at the end of March/ start of April. It was 20-25 degrees each day, and quite warm. I was disappointed when I came back to a boiling hot room, where the air conditioning was not working. Reception advised me that the air conditioning does not work until the summer months.

- There are no tea/coffee facilities in the room.

- While there is a FAQ section in your room booklet, I would have liked to have access to information on Venice/Mestre at reception. There was none.

The hotel gets a 3 out of 5 for me based on the above.
Would I recommend it? Yes I suppose I probably would
Would I stay here again? No I probably would not!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank How_Are_Things
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,049 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    619
    1,009
    293
    76
    52
See reviews for
402
964
90
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

If you are staying for Carnevale, it could take you a while to get to the main piazza. The trains are so packed that you have to plan carefully when you are going to and leaving from Venice. The hotel itself is a very good hotel. Spotless rooms and excellent, plentiful breakfast. We also had dinner one night at the hotel's restaurant and was excellent. It also has a very convenient little bar for coffee and pastries during the day and wine and drinks in the evening.
Beware, since it's across the train station, we saw quite a few "ladies of the night" looking for business:-)
All in all we liked it but not if we are going to Carnevale in Venice.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter than facing the train station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 53marialadiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Stayed 2 nights at the hotel. No greeting from reception staff, all were talking amongst themselves when we arrived and waited to be served. Dismissed and unhelpful. No directions to room just 'take lift to 6th floor'. Room is a bit larger than most. Clean. Bathroom cramped. Water was tepid warm. When asked re this reception sent up a repairman who ran the water for a few minutes and left. No feedback. Second night shower exactly the same....except nearly cold.
Breakfast was ordinary but met all the food groups e.g. fruit, cereal
Free internet/computer on mezanine floor.
Advertises rooms are soundproofed - we found it very noisy not from traffic but other guests.
Hotel is across the road from Mestre station (about a 15 minute ride into Venice by bus number 2 that stops across the road from the hotel). If this stop is buy walk around the corner to the next bus stop which usually does not have any tourists waiting.
We had dinner at the Soul Kitchen restaurant next door to the hotel - lovely meal - recommend the mango soup dessert - divine and different.
Stay in another hotel but eat here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main street that is across from the station for a quieter outside noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lozza08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We took the Mestre train station bus from Marco Polo airport and will take a cab to our cruise (which, hopefully won't be captained by the Chicken of the Seas). Although we paid for a bus ticket, no one seemed to care about collecting them! We came in a day early for our cruise to give us time to see Venice. The train to Venice is very conveniently across the street from the hotel, and again, no one cared to collect our tickets! I would recommend you buy just in case the Italians get their act together to collect them. The hotel itself is very clean, the rooms are very adequate. As Americans, it took us a while to figure out how to turn on the lights-- they require you put your room key in a slot by the door, which must also be why they only give you one key.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank canbax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Wonderful service a Massive thanks to the staff on reception who help me sort a problem booking a palace visit very quickly. Breakfast tasty and filling, room clean and overall great location just opposite train station. I would recommend the Plaza as opposed to paying 3 times as much in the expensive centre of Venice

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dave281267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mestre hotels
0.1 km away
Best Western Hotel Bologna
0.1 km away
Hotel Tritone
Hotel Tritone
#8 of 58 in Mestre
1,272 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Villa Costanza
Hotel Villa Costanza
#2 of 58 in Mestre
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Paris
Hotel Paris
#13 of 58 in Mestre
420 reviews
1.3 km away
NH Laguna Palace
NH Laguna Palace
#14 of 58 in Mestre
2,193 reviews
0.7 km away
Quality Hotel Delfino Venezia Mestre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza

Property: Hotel Plaza
Address: Viale Stazione 36 | near Venice-Mestre station, 30171, Mestre, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Mestre
#13 Romantic Hotel in Mestre
#16 Family Hotel in Mestre
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,375 - ₹ 13,651
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Nozio Netplan srl, ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Mestre
Hotel Plaza Province Of Venice/Mestre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing