We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Menaggio
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Menaggio
north wales
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“nice hotel”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

very nice hotel in a good part of lake como .staff were helpfull and food was good ;just enough .one thing i did not like was when we got off the coach there was about six concrete steps to take our heavey cases down and nobody from the hotel offered to give us a hand [we are in our later years] but offered to take them up on the lift [which we could have done ]

Room Tip: we had room on road side but did not get woken up with traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cariad9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    287
    111
    40
    18
See reviews for
74
400
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Stayed here with our tour group from our home town, the hotel location is beautiful. The hotel is a little old but quite nice. The breakfast in the morning was well managed and had a decent assortment. We had a couple of dinners in the dining room. The food was excellent, the service was ok. The maitre de works very hard to keep things going well. Unfortunately some of his staff does not have the same attitude. The hotel staff accommodates as well as they can. I would stay here again. The location is prime plus.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the back of the hotel with a balcony, this offers a fantastic view of the lake and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Coloradowoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
English traveller
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Recently returned from a holiday to Lake Como with Riviera Travel. Tour company and trips were excellent, especially the Bernina Railway, highly recommended. Unfortunately, the Grand Hotel, Menaggio, did not come up to expectations. The hotel is positioned on the lake in a beautiful looking Italienate villa. However, the restaurant was a disaster, in our opinion. Food not up to standard and very bland. Breakfast offering not exciting at all. No fresh fruit available. In the evening the restaurant staff appeared to be in disarray and lengthy waiting time between courses. Apart from this we had a great holiday and highly recommend Riviera Travel but not at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank R0bbie05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

It is a beautiful hotel but there are not a lot of people under the age of 45 that stay there. The hotel is very nice and fancy but not modern. The view of the lake, the amazing pool , and the great location for visiting the other towns made the hotel a good place to stay while visiting the lake como area. The town has great little cafes and bistros and is very walkable.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lilmatley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We had a wonderful view of the lake and the pool in the most beautiful setting on earth but that was the highlight. The room is very small, the beds were very hard and the staff not responsive. The hotel is frequented by an older crowd (65+) and had a lounge singer singing late into the night right under our window. We were unable to hear the TV over the amplification. They could not offer us another room nor did they apologize. The breakfast was not replenished quickly and many items were unavailable. The hotel does have a nice pool and the parking is free. I couldn't recommend this hotel unless you were with a large group of retired people, which is clearly their clientele.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menaggio
0.5 km away
Grand Hotel Victoria
Grand Hotel Victoria
#6 of 10 in Menaggio
249 reviews
3.3 km away
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
#2 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
1,013 reviews
3.7 km away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
20.4 km away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
795 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Garni Corona
Hotel Garni Corona
#1 of 10 in Menaggio
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Menaggio? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Menaggio

Property: Grand Hotel Menaggio
Address: Via Quattro Novembre 77, 22017 Menaggio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Menaggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Menaggio
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,285 - ₹ 36,630
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Menaggio 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Menaggio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menaggio Grand Hotel
Menaggio Hotel Grand
Grand Hotel Menaggio Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing