We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect restaurant for the perfect night”

trattoria la vecchia magnolia
Ranked #1 of 46 Restaurants in Menaggio
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Chiuso per ferie dal 16.10.2016 al 04.11.2016 Cucina aperta dalle 12 alle 14,dalle 18:45 alle 21:30 Restaurant bar with 60 seat inside and 40 in the garden
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

Vecchia Magnolia is One of the best restaurants in menaggio. It is very cosy with friendly service. The food is amazing. The risotto is delicious with lots and lots of flavour. The pizza's are very tasty. Vecchia magnolia has a big menu so there is lots to chose from. As Desert I recommend the tiramisu, it is very jummy. Also the semifredi with amareto is very good. Vecchia magnolia is an amazing restaurant with tasty food for a low budget. I devinately recommend Vecchia magnolia, you do need to make a Reservation to eat.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Stijn842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2018

We dined here last night! Excellent, friendly service and English was no problem! Great food, extensive menu & wine list with a very knowledgable maitre d'. It is a €12 taxi drive from Menaggio, but well worth it. Reservation is highly recommended as this restaurant is very popular. A pleasant courtyard, not much a view of the lake, but the service & attention more than make up for a lack of view. A memorable dinner, indeed.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank Norma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018 via mobile

What an amazing find!! You need a car to get there but it's well worth the effort. From the beginning to end this place was faultless. Staff were friendly, knowledgeable and efficient. The food was outstanding. We ordered pasta and seafood dishes...each one of which was exceptional. They do an impressive range of pizzas as well which we will definitely be going back to try. Highly recommended!!!!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Shailini B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018

A number of good choices in the menu with all the food being quite good. Only issue we had was having been in touch before arrival that some of our group may wish to eat inside, and given the ok, on arrival we were then told that this was not possible.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Vicref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018

My family and I (2 teens, my husband and myself) had a great dinner at this restaurant in mid July. We called to reserve the same day and had no problems reserving. The service was wonderful. Our main waiter was very helpful in our meal selection. My son has a seafood allergy and he went out of his way to check with the kitchen to make sure that there was no risk of contamination. The food was fresh, authentic, and simply delicious. We all had the gnocchi con patate as a first dish. Creamy, cheesy, tasty gnocchi!!! We then had a second plate of lamb chops and grilled chicken. Just absolutely delicious. The Tiramisu for dessert was homemade and so light. What surprised us was the price. Very well priced, simple, delicious food in a simply setting. We definitely recommend this restaurant as the best in Menaggio! Hands down! Tanti auguri!!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank ang1Montreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed trattoria la vecchia magnolia also viewed

 
Menaggio, Lake Como
Menaggio, Lake Como
 

Been to trattoria la vecchia magnolia? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing