We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveller rating
78
32
6
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
32
6
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 116 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

Mario Colombo and his team have created a wonderful hotel. Everybody is very professional, friendly, work very hard and their attention to detail is wonderful. Very clean, quiet, amazing food, and a great friendly feeling. A comfortable, cosy hotel perched upon the .....hill what a gem!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank UKloverEastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabetta C, Responsabile reception at Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

Thank you very much for your staying in our hotel and for your review on tripadvisor. We always try to do our best to make our guests’ stay as comfortable as possible and we are very happy to know that our efforts are appreciate. We hope to welcome again you soon in our hotel, kind regards Family Colombo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Warmly welcomed by the person at the reception that immediately proposed a free upgrade and provided guidance and map for our walk to the centre of Menaggio at the lakeside which is about 15' from the hotel. We got a nice room with large terrace with view on the lake and the well maintainded garden with nice swimming pool. We had dinner in the restaurant two evenings in a row where we met the friendly and omnipresent owner Mr Colombo, multilingual and charming, who likes a conversation with all guests. Decent food and nice selection of wines. Very good price/quality ratio.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3 which has the terrace with lakeview
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jos D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2016

Beautiful place, lovely people, would recommend to anyone. Good value quiet location, super food. Mr Colombo is a delightful gentleman, who enhances one's visit, talking to each guest at dinner in their own language.

Room Tip: all that we have used over 3 visits were good
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bulloakfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelroyalloveno, Proprietario at Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2016

Thank you very much for your staying in our hotel and for your review. We always try to do our best to make our guests’ stay as comfortable as possible and we are very happy to know that our efforts are appreciate. We hope to welcome again you soon in our hotel, kind regards Family Colombo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2016

We stayed five nights as our main base on Lake Como, and were very pleased with our choice. A fine setting with views of the lake and an excellent restaurant, which I have reviewed separately. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We did find the steep hike up from Menaggio got beyond a joke. We found out late on that a bus will bring you most of the way. Other alternatives are your own car or a taxi. We splashed out on their suite which had plenty of space, a good-sized terrace and views over the lake. Recommended both for the hotel and the restaurant (where a highlight was one of the waiters singing "Happy Birthday" in Japanese!.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a lake view in the main building. (There is an annexe across the road)
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CrazyInglesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelroyalloveno, Direttore at Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2016

Thank you very much for your staying in our hotel and for your review. We always try to do our best to make our guests’ stay as comfortable as possible and we are very happy to know that our efforts are appreciate. We hope to welcome again you soon in our hotel, kind regards Family Colombo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2016

Lovely from the moment we arrived when hotel staff made us so welcome.
Superb meals and lovely setting. Due to the time of year the pool was a bit cold (and also because we are in the middle of the mountains).
My minor criticism is the cost of the evening meals.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews