We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family hotel”
Review of Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Royal
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Menaggio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

If you are looking for a place to chill with a fabolous view and super friendly staff. Look no further.

I have just nice things to say about this place. We were thinking it was a bit outside the city center. But we are happy we chose this place.

It felt great to have the space and the view. This, combined with relaxed co guests and professional staff made our stay great.

The age group was mostly 60 + and some couples. Great for us!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kristel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

Mario Colombo and his team have created a wonderful hotel. Everybody is very professional, friendly, work very hard and their attention to detail is wonderful. Very clean, quiet, amazing food, and a great friendly feeling. A comfortable, cosy hotel perched upon the .....hill what a gem!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank UKloverEastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabetta C, Responsabile reception at Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

Thank you very much for your staying in our hotel and for your review on tripadvisor. We always try to do our best to make our guests’ stay as comfortable as possible and we are very happy to know that our efforts are appreciate. We hope to welcome again you soon in our hotel, kind regards Family Colombo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Warmly welcomed by the person at the reception that immediately proposed a free upgrade and provided guidance and map for our walk to the centre of Menaggio at the lakeside which is about 15' from the hotel. We got a nice room with large terrace with view on the lake and the well maintainded garden with nice swimming pool. We had dinner in the restaurant two evenings in a row where we met the friendly and omnipresent owner Mr Colombo, multilingual and charming, who likes a conversation with all guests. Decent food and nice selection of wines. Very good price/quality ratio.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3 which has the terrace with lakeview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jos D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2016

Beautiful place, lovely people, would recommend to anyone. Good value quiet location, super food. Mr Colombo is a delightful gentleman, who enhances one's visit, talking to each guest at dinner in their own language.

Room Tip: all that we have used over 3 visits were good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bulloakfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelroyalloveno, Proprietario at Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2016

Thank you very much for your staying in our hotel and for your review. We always try to do our best to make our guests’ stay as comfortable as possible and we are very happy to know that our efforts are appreciate. We hope to welcome again you soon in our hotel, kind regards Family Colombo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2016

We stayed five nights as our main base on Lake Como, and were very pleased with our choice. A fine setting with views of the lake and an excellent restaurant, which I have reviewed separately. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We did find the steep hike up from Menaggio got beyond a joke. We found out late on that a bus will bring you most of the way. Other alternatives are your own car or a taxi. We splashed out on their suite which had plenty of space, a good-sized terrace and views over the lake. Recommended both for the hotel and the restaurant (where a highlight was one of the waiters singing "Happy Birthday" in Japanese!.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a lake view in the main building. (There is an annexe across the road)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CrazyInglesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelroyalloveno, Direttore at Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2016

Thank you very much for your staying in our hotel and for your review. We always try to do our best to make our guests’ stay as comfortable as possible and we are very happy to know that our efforts are appreciate. We hope to welcome again you soon in our hotel, kind regards Family Colombo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menaggio
1 km away
Grand Hotel Menaggio
Grand Hotel Menaggio
#2 of 10 in Menaggio
643 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Garni Corona
Hotel Garni Corona
#1 of 10 in Menaggio
435 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Merloni
Hotel Merloni
#4 of 10 in Menaggio
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hotel du Lac
Hotel du Lac
#9 of 10 in Menaggio
189 reviews
5 km away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
835 reviews
4.8 km away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal

Address: Largo Vittorio Veneto 1 | Loveno di Menaggio, 22017 Menaggio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Menaggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Menaggio
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Menaggio, Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing