We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, family run hotel with friendly staff !”
Review of Hotel Merloni

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Merloni
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Menaggio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2017

Hotel Merloni is a clean family run hotel with a nice view. It is situated about fifteen minutes up the road from the lake, making it the ideal hotel for those who want to stay away from the busy centre but close enough to the lake. The food is delicious but the hotel's largest asset is the staff. All were extremely kind and helpful. Colombina, the receptionist always had a smile on her face and did her utmost to accommodate the residents. Rocco the waiter made sure that everyone enjoyed their meal. We also appreciated when Giuseppe went out of his way to help us. We had a flat tyre and he arranged for it to be fixed while we were out for the day on an excursion, saving us the hassle of trying to find someone ourselves to get it fixed. This meant a lot to us as our holiday was not interrupted. I would like to say thank you to all the staff! I would definitely recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Sam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2017

Just got back from a trip to Lake Como..and a weeks stay in this very friendly family run Hotel .We have really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend to anyone who likes the not so busy Como shore lined hotels ..Very quiet ..Very friendly..Very clean ..and very good traditional Italian Food ..If you do not have a car the way down to Lake Como is simple ..buy your ticket from the Bar 100mtrs down the road an use the local bus C12 you buy your return at the same time an it lasts all day if you want it too.We have enjoyed all our holiday in everyway.The trips to Bellagio./.Cruise around the shores of Como./Lugano./ Bernina Train journey up the Alps to St Moritz is a must ..Breath Taking Scenery ..So yes gotta say this Holiday has been amazing

Room Tip: Room 9 has veiws over the pool an the mountains at the rear of hotel ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daveanlynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2016

We stayed at Hotel Merloni while visiting Lake Como and overall we found this was a comfortable and affordable option for a one night stay. The hotel is roughly a 10 minute drive away from Menaggio, and although it's more elevated in the mountains we found it was far less expensive than hotels located on the lakefront. The owners were very warm and welcoming and we were upgraded to a more comfortable room overlooking the mountains and swimming pool. Our room was spotlessly clean and included air conditioning, a small TV, reliable WiFi, and a bar fridge. We found it was an old but well maintained hotel, you cannot view Lake Como from the hotel but if you have a car it could be a convenient option (free parking is also included). My only nit-pick was the breakfast was a little meagre, but aside from that I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TaraJ-Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed at hotel merloni during our visit to como. The hotel staff was nice nd friendly, the room was spacious and clean overall a really nice stay. The downside was the restaurant, the waiter put an extra salad on our table and then charged us for it. Overall I recommand the hotel not the restaurant inside.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank ofir2793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2016

We stayed one night in first floor room at gardenside. The front of the hotel is facing a rather busy road (traffic between Lago di Como and Magiore passes here). Large and dated but well maintained property. Friendly hosts at check in. Rooms are small and beds are short (190). All is old and could do with a refurbishment but its in working order. Tiny bathroom with miniscule shower. Breakfast is OK but not a personal affair. Price / quality is just about right but any higher price would not be justified. Good for a night 'en route'. Free parking and free wifi (weak signal unless directly at reception aea).

Room Tip: Garden side to avoid road raffic. Corridors are noisy so consider room at end of corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marcinbrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menaggio
13.5 km away
Albergo Ristorante La Torre
Albergo Ristorante La Torre
#2 of 2 in Castiglione d'Intelvi
120 reviews
0.9 km away
Grand Hotel Victoria
Grand Hotel Victoria
#6 of 10 in Menaggio
253 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Garni Corona
Hotel Garni Corona
#1 of 10 in Menaggio
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
#4 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
3,101 reviews
0.9 km away
Grand Hotel Menaggio
Grand Hotel Menaggio
#2 of 10 in Menaggio
633 reviews
4.9 km away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Merloni? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Merloni

Address: Via Re Magi 6, 22010 Menaggio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Menaggio
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Menaggio
Price Range: ₹ 5,968 - ₹ 10,769 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Merloni 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Merloni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Merloni Menaggio, Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing