We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a night - noisy breakfast - reasonable rooms.”
Review of Hotel Merloni

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Merloni
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Menaggio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2016

We stayed one night in first floor room at gardenside. The front of the hotel is facing a rather busy road (traffic between Lago di Como and Magiore passes here). Large and dated but well maintained property. Friendly hosts at check in. Rooms are small and beds are short (190). All is old and could do with a refurbishment but its in working order. Tiny bathroom with miniscule shower. Breakfast is OK but not a personal affair. Price / quality is just about right but any higher price would not be justified. Good for a night 'en route'. Free parking and free wifi (weak signal unless directly at reception aea).

Room Tip: Garden side to avoid road raffic. Corridors are noisy so consider room at end of corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marcinbrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

The hotel Merloni is a good hotel. It is family run and the owners are friendly and welcoming. We booked a regular room but were offered an apartment as we requested a balcony. The only downside was that the apartment did not have air con. We had a fan in the bedroom which made our stay comfortable. The regular rooms all had air con but no private space or balcony. We chose the apartment on a bed and breakfast basis. The food at breakfast was good and we all enjoyed our morning meal. Our kids liked the food and we ate there a few times in the evening. The family have a set menu which rarely changed, but they did offer pizza on 2 occasions. The hotel offers a nice seating area, bar and friendly reception. The pool is very nice and our toddlers loved it. It was shallow enough at one end for our 3 year old to touch the bottom. The hotel is located about 5-10 mins from lake como and we liked being away from the crowds. There are a few bars and shops near by and 1 excellent pizza place about 4 km away. I would stay again, but we felt lake como was not suitable for toddlers. But as for hotel Merloni, we were pleased, everything was clean, tidy and efficient. The hotel is alpine in feel, but a good comfortable stay. I should say the owners were child friendly throughout our stay.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank ben r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2016

We were very satisfied staying at this hotel. Our original thought was to stay by Lake Lugano, but the prices of hotels in Switzerland were much more expensive than staying in Italy. And, since we had a car and we enjoyed driving around to get different views, we didn’t mind staying further away from Lake Lugano. Also, we enjoyed driving down to the town of Menaggio to have views of Lake Como, too. Many of the other options we had looked at in Italy were high in the mountains, and I don’t think we would have been comfortable driving to them. The drive to this hotel was easy, and it was only a little windy to get to Lake Como. Nothing too difficult.
We were in a triple room, and I think all of the triple rooms are in the annex, which is air conditioned. The original hotel is not. The annex is attached to the main hotel, so it was just a little further to walk. The pool looked beautiful, but we didn’t have a chance to use it. We were on a tight sightseeing schedule which didn’t allow for much down time, but we enjoyed the calmness of the hotel and the surroundings. The room was adequate size, with a very small room for the 3rd bed, the bathroom was very big. Parking was free and easy. Breakfast was nice.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank readytogo17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Family run hotel a short drive from the main Lake Como but the upside is so quiet and peaceful, and some amazing views of the mountains and towns below the mountains. Check in a breeze, rooms were clean and spacious with A/C, good sized bathroom, internet, and a small fridge. The surrounding grounds and pool were great, and a couple of afternoons were spent by the pool having drinks. WE also had dinner one night and it was good basic Italian food. We also had breakfast included and again was basic but well prepared. Only small downside was the locked cabinet in room which I assume had glasses, coffee making facilities - we did not ask for it to be unlocked but assume you could if you wished.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2016

Very good service from the staff on this Family run hotel. Reasonable prices, all over a good experience. The breakfast was above average, but there was a little poor insulation between the rooms. Big plus to the staff. Recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank contrajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menaggio
13.5 km away
Albergo Ristorante La Torre
Albergo Ristorante La Torre
#2 of 2 in Castiglione d'Intelvi
120 reviews
0.9 km away
Grand Hotel Victoria
Grand Hotel Victoria
#6 of 10 in Menaggio
253 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Garni Corona
Hotel Garni Corona
#1 of 10 in Menaggio
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
#4 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
3,101 reviews
0.9 km away
Grand Hotel Menaggio
Grand Hotel Menaggio
#2 of 10 in Menaggio
632 reviews
4.9 km away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Merloni? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Merloni

Address: Via Re Magi 6, 22010 Menaggio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Menaggio
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Menaggio
Price Range: ₹ 5,968 - ₹ 10,769 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Merloni 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Merloni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Merloni Menaggio, Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing