We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and under flavoured food”
Review of Acqua in Bocca

Acqua in Bocca
Ranked #8 of 292 Restaurants in Marsala
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 23 - US$ 57
Restaurant details
Reviewed 13 September 2018 via mobile

We went here because of the great reviews and were very disappointed. Starter (the started named after he restaurant) looked great but the pasty was dry, the shrimps still had their guts in them and the sardines tarte tasted like a regular fish stick. The bread with cheese and fruit though was great. Then to the main: I had a nice pasta with clams and my gf the catch of the day. Dishes were served without sides so we ordered the grilled vegetables... and that is exactly what you get. Slices of grilled veggies. No added flavours like oil, garlic, salt etc.. same goes for the fish. Nicely grilled but nothing done to the fish. Just fish.

We drank only water and in the end the bill was €85....

We had some ice cream in the city after the meal. That was great;)

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank EggbirdNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (403)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 403 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2018

Visited this restaurant as a result of reading reviews on this site. But the experience was extremely disappointing. The menu is incredible limited, with most starters duplicating each other by merely being offered as “small” or “medium”. We both went for tuna tartar, with my partner ordering a small at €12, and me a medium at €23. Yet when the food arrived, both portions were almost identical. I selected a house pasta with sea urchin and tomato sauce, but it was tasteless. Marsala is famous for its wine. But the wine selection here was very short and the local wine that was recommended failed to deliver the high hopes expected. The only positive Thing i can say about this restaurant staff were friendly, as reflected in other reviews. But don’t go for the food!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018 via mobile

Very warm welcome. Staff helped translate menu. Best food I have tried and visit Italy regularly. Highly recommended

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank ashbeanzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2018 via mobile

Very friendly and warm welcome. The food was delightful, in other words 'very good'.
If we had to give one remark, the acoustics in the dining room had room for improvement. But overall a nice and lovely place to eat.I would return anytime.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Stijn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018 via mobile

The restaurant is perfect in every aspect. The dinner was a dream, above all the dessert. It was a special event for us and we can recommend it unreservedly

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank Siebenbergsteiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Acqua in Bocca also viewed

Marsala, Province of Trapani
Marsala, Province of Trapani
 
Marsala, Province of Trapani
Marsala, Province of Trapani
 
Marsala, Province of Trapani
Marsala, Province of Trapani
 

Been to Acqua in Bocca? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing