We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
21
15
9
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
21
15
9
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

Just had a wonderful holiday to Hotel Apuana, fantastic staff, warm pool and cold beer!...
Will definitely be staying here again next year!
Free bicycles to use anytime, 2 mins walk to the shops and beach....Perfetto!.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017 via mobile

Very old fashioned hotel, not even at the level of a hostel. Especially if considering the cost of a tiny and broken room:120€ for mattresses that you wouldn't find even at a military camp. Avoid taking their bikes, since they don't have functioning breaks. Just pick every possible other in the same area!

Date of stay: June 2017
Thank fmmarini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nora N, Proprietario at Hotel Apuana, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2017
Google Translation

Non si capisce perché fare una recensione in inglese dall'Italia! Quando la maggior parte delle recensioni sono positive o anche molto positive, quelle invece, non critiche ma altamente denigratorie sono note ormai per essere fatte unicamente per prendere di mira e distruggere l'immagine di una data azienda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2016

I stayed at the above hotel for one weeks holiday. I found the hotel to be clean and basic.
The hotel owners were friendly and pleasant. on arrival and handed me a envelope with some details from Travelone... I arrived at approx. 11-12 midday and found myself to be the only resident here.. I was on my own till 7pm till I met the rest of the Guests.

That evening I met the rep (BIll) (I use the term "Rep"Lightly!.. As through the week He arrived twice and only stayed for 15 minutes maximum. he had poor knowledge or Information regarding the trips. He was at times rude with some guests when asked a question regarding information on the trips. .He didn't turn up for any transfers to or from the airport. .( I have been on many single holidays with other company's and have never experienced a rep like him? )
Each day we had to order our dinner for the next evening. (Which I found too rigid. (I was told by the rep that the hotel was on a budget , Hence ordering in advance.
When on holiday you shouldn't have to think about the hotels budget?
On one day there was beef on the menu. As one Guest had the cold beef and hadn't enjoyed it , but said the hot beef was lovely.
I asked the waiter if the beef on the menu was "hot or cold"? He said "HOT" So I ordered the hot beef for the following evening.
The following evening I was served cold beef!! I politely said to the waiter that it wasn't what I ordered , he didn't seem to understand and I tried to explain to the owners who were there also.. there seemed to be a "huge" discussion in the dining room and as some was in Italian, but some English.. And the mention of the hot and cold beef which was in English and raised voices made me feel embarrassed and uncomfortable as the room went silent as the raised discussions went on
. I was the customer and they had got the order wrong. No apology was offered and eventually I was given Turkey as there was no other option available..
On another evening after buying wine from the hotel and drinking with another guest enjoying the warm evening We were asked to go to bed as it was late.. We weren't causing any noise just chatting with a glass of wine. I felt like I was in and institution with rules that I had never experienced in any other hotel in Italy or anywhere else.. I felt uncomfortable and when leaving the hotel in the evening to go out I was conscious of the time .and didn't feel like I was on holiday at all as I was constantly clock watching to go back to the hotel.

Overall The hotel was clean and generally the owners were pleasant. The rooms were clean and fresh towels were given each day (the rooms do however need updating and some don't have balcony's.
The pool was ok and was plagued by ants. There was a Jacuzzi but it was never on?
The food served was ok but lacked variety and choice and was rigid in its regime .
I have been on other singles holidays and The reps were more attentive and supportive to guests if they needed it. Dinners are more flexible and varied. For e.g. Another singles holiday offers 4 meals in the hotel and 3 at local restaurants.

The location of the hotel is good and the small town is around the corner. With bars, restaurants and shops. you can get a bus outside to most places and I would recommend lucca as being a particularly nice place.
(Please also note that this is a NON- smoking hotel with notices everywhere . Yet the owners smoked like troopers and I found myself coughing by the end of the week.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank lynne l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2016

This hotel is run by the husband and wife owners, Andrea and Nora. This is not a modern, sophisticated hotel, and some of the rooms can be small. If you are going with Travel One (which I think the great majority of its British visitors are), I think you can safely assume that you won't get one of the very few rooms with a balcony as they are for multiple occupants. However, don't let any of this put you off! The hotel is a lovely place to stay.

The rooms are clean and functional, my bathroom was long and very narrow, possibly originally a cupboard, but it was modern with a really good shower. As far as a balcony is concerned, yes it's nice to have but throw open the windows and the shutters, let in the fresh air and you'll soon forget about the absence of a balcony. I like to wash a few things out when I'm on holiday and thought the lack of any drying space might be a problem but I found enough hooks and grab rails in the bathroom to hang my wet swimwear etc. I had booked a double room, it had a large wardrobe with a safe inside and two big drawers underneath, a dressing table with chair and a large mirror, also a fridge, aircon and TV. The aircon and fridge are not chargeable.
From what other guests said it seems that the rooms and bathrooms vary in size and shape. The outside area of the hotel, the town and surrounding area are so lovely that I wanted to spend time there.

The gardens and the verandah are lovely places to sit, the pool is lovely but I must say that the sun loungers are horribly uncomfortable, they are plastic with no cushions. Spending a few hours on one made my back ache! I rather liked the beach - although there were rows and rows of sun loungers and parasols they were very well spaced, the sun loungers were made of a mesh fabric and very comfortable, they even had a small sunshade you could pull over your head.

I cannot agree with the reviewer who said that the hotel was lacking in good home made Italian food as that's exactly what we got. If we were around the hotel when the chef arrived she would always have a friendly greeting and a smile. I enjoyed all of the food we were presented with (apart from one dish, a cuttlefish stew). The first course had three options, two of them were pasta dishes (listed as Noodles) in various sauces and the other was soup. There were some particularly tasty pasta dishes, particularly the lasagne. If you haven't visited Italy before, don't expect the pasta dishes to be like those we have in Britain - spaghetti bolognese for instance isn't served with a large dollop of meat, the spaghetti is merely coated in the meat sauce. The second course is a smaller course, there was a always a fish dish, a veal dish and another dish. We only had chicken once in the two weeks I was there, it was served roasted on the Sunday, on the other Sunday roast beef was available. The fish dishes were excellent. Dessert was either something sweet like tiramisu or fresh fruit. The fresh fruit started off really well, lovely nectarines, cherries and apricots, but as the holiday progressed it was obvious that the fruit was being kept in the fridge until just before serving and as a result we had peaches etc that weren't ripe enough, which was disappointing. The reason for ordering your menu choices the night before is to cut down on waste, which is sensible.

Breakfast choices included eggs, ham, cheese, cereal, yoghurt, cakes, croissants pretty much what you'd normally expect in a continental breakfast. There was fresh fruit such as pears, apples, bananas too.

Drinks can be bought in the dining room, if you buy a bottle of wine, Paola the lovely waitress would put a tag around it with your room number, she always remembered your number. Drinks can be bought at the small bar next to the verandah, if it's not manned you just pop your head into the reception area and ask for a drink. The hotel doesn't do lunches but it's not far down the road to find plenty of places that do.

Any information about where to catch buses, timetables or anything about the local area can be obtained from Nora at the reception desk. Her husband doesn't speak much English so it's best to wait till she's around. Although the staff don't speak English we managed to communicate with them, everyone was friendly and helpful.

The town of Marina di Pietrasanta is a very Italian resort, we heard very few English voices, be prepared that not all of the staff in the restaurants and shops speak much English but you can always get by! The pedestrianised walkway into the town is only a couple of minutes down the road and it's lovely to walk into the town in the evenings. There's a huge market in the town on Saturdays.

One thing to be aware of, I took some Euros and some English money to change but was told that the bank didn't change currency unless you had an account there, and there were no exchange bureaus. There are however several ATMs.

The hotel is very conveniently situated, up to mid June the buses run past the hotel, after that you have to walk a couple of minutes down to the sea front where you can get the bus to Viareggio then others out to Pisa, Lucca, etc. Pietrasanta town itself is certainly worth a visit too.

I really enjoyed my holiday and would definitely recommend the Apuana as a place to stay.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lookingforsunandfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I spent a week here in June with Travelone holidays.
The hotel is pretty and clean and in a great position not far from the beach and shops, with a lovely pool area. The food is classed as "international" but for me it was lacking in good home made Italian food which I had expected. Ate out a few times in some lovely restaurants that offered great Italian food. If you like to eat your meals al-fresco then I am afraid this is discouraged, I think for a lot of people this is a essential part of a holiday in the sun and in such a pretty setting.
All in all I had a good holiday and loved the area and will certainly be back to Tuscany in the near future!

Room tip: Not many rooms with balcony and not all have a fridge
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Theresacz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews