We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
eDreams
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (524)
Filter reviews
524 results
Traveller rating
331
157
23
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
331
157
23
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no elevator good size pools sea english car steps platform loungers
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 524 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2009

We stayed at this hotel from 13-20 Sept 09 and I have quite mixed feelings about it to be honest. The setting of the hotel is glorious, the gardens are beautiful with lovely "private" areas dotted around the grounds on the meander down to the sea. The "road" down to the hotel from the main road is barely a road, more a rough track and quite an experience in the dark! Our room, which was a superior terraced room, was "adequate" - nothing more really. There was also a distinct lack of information available - most hotel's have a info pack in the room, to help you work out how things work but this was not the case here.

I am not sure whether it was because we travelled late in the hotel's season but the hotel really felt as if it was on half power or "winding-down". The selection of food available, for lunch, at the pool area was minimal. On our first day we were shown a menu and consequently told that more than two thirds of it was no longer available! There was no real bar service at the hotel either so no chance of a nice nightcap after you returned from dinner. As the hotel doesn't have a restaurant we had to drive out every night which meant alcohol was limited so a "snifter" before turning in would have been nice.

The hotel is well positioned for exploring the area which is beautiful but we won't miss the "mountain goat" track in and out of the hotel at all!

Date of stay: September 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Journeymaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 October 2009

We stayed here for one night at the end of our wedding having stayed elsewhere for a week. The hotel is lovely and the layouts of the rooms are very private the terrace rooms and well recommended. Our families stayed here for a week and loved it. It is a little out of the way and transport is essential but this is also true if you are staying in the Maratea area as it is so spread out. The road into the hotel is windy and steep. There is a good pool and a lovely windy walk through the hotel gardens down the sea. The other side there is Steep Mountain, the location is really lovely. The food at the pool bar is not great but breakfast is very good. The main house of the hotel is very modern with lovely staff. With all the lush gardens bring insect repellent even at the end of September/early October most of our guests were eaten alive.

Date of stay: September 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 August 2009

We stayed at the Villa delle Meraviglie for a week with 30 of our family and friends as part of our wedding in Maratea. The hotel is a gorgeous mediterranean villa style hotel set in it's own beautiful grounds, full of pine trees and brightly coloured flowers and plants. When you drive down to the hotel you wonder where you are going, but then you see the hotel and it's terracotta tiled patios and breakfast area - really stunning. The staff are really friendly and helpful, suggesting places to visit and where to go to eat in the evenings as the hotel is bed and breakfast. Although they do a lovely selection of pasta dishes and light snacks down at the pool bar during the day. The pool area is lovely with a decent size pool and a kids pool and playground. The grounds are set into the mountain and paths meander all the way down to the sea where there is a rocky area with sun loungers and steps into the sea for swimming and snorkelling in the crystal clear waters. This area of Maratea is absolutely beautiful and well worth a visit. You do need to get taxi's at night to the local towns or port area as not really in walking distance, but this just adds to the hideaway charm of this lovely hotel.

Date of stay: June 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bazmati
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 September 2008

We have just returned from a ten day stay at the Hotel Villa Delle Meraviglie. A friend was getting married at another hotel locally and we were recommended to stay there by her wedding planner. We were a bit apprehensive because we travelling with our very energetic toddler, but the location, facilities and especially the staff were perfect.

The staff all went out of their way to treat our son like a member of the family and he had a welcoming committee every day at breakfast. The 2 pools, children's play area and miles of paths snaking up and down the mountainside around the hotel's beautifully planted grounds meant that we were always able to tire out our son. The access to the sea from the lower promenade is a bit precarious and because the 'beach' is a rocky bay it's only suitable for strong swimmers but offers some stunning photo opportunities and the black sand beach at nearby Fuimicello was great for swimming and sunbathing.

Our room had a huge sunny terrace and the room itself was a very good size too. A slight downside was that we only had a shower (I think this is the norm in a lot of places) which made bathing our little boy hard but we went prepared with a universal bath plug and got round that one.

If we had to make one criticism it's that the hotel only offers a limited dinner service (in fact we only discovered that they would do evening meals right at the end of our stay) and the lunch menu is a bit unadventurous. But what they did serve was very good. Breakfast was the usual continental style breakfast and can be eaten inside or on the terrace overlooking the sea - stunning.

We didn't do much in the area because we wanted a low key family holiday and found most of our needs met in Fuimicello about 5 mins along the SS18 - a supermarket, La Bussola Pizzeria and a cafe/bar/gelateri opposite the butchers.

All in all a great holiday in an area and hotel we would happily return to.

Date of stay: September 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank osheasm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 September 2007

We read good things about Maratea in the guide books, that the area was like a less build up Amalfi Coast, frequently primarily by Italian tourists. We were not disappointed.

This hotel is located on the side of a steep hill, between Maratea Port and Maratea town which is further up the hill. There was an Italian wedding on at the hotel the day we arrived (it took place outdoors among the trees). The hotel is tiered with some rooms in the main hotel and others underneath down the hill, each with private patio/balconies.

The rooms are generous is size, with air conditioning and very clean. Breakfast was the typical continental fare with good expresso or cappucino. The breakfast staff were a little clueless but it didn;t matter!

The pool futher down the hill is also impressive, with a bar and snacks. There is also a children's playground and you can walk all the way down to the sea.

This is a very good three star small hotel and a great base to explore the area. Don't be put off by the very steep drive down the hill to the hotel, just take it slowly up and down!

Go a little further north for amazing views!

Date of stay: September 2007
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AK_Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews