We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (297)
Filter reviews
297 results
Traveller rating
219
44
24
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
219
44
24
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews indoor pool evening meal villa cristina overlooking the lake suite villa tourist bus flip flops half board lovely hotel val di sogno our honeymoon minute walk five courses hotel is situated large walk in shower antipasti the ground floor
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 297 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2016

We stayed in Hotel Maximilian, Malcesine, Lake Garda, Villa Stafania, suite 7. Beautiful. Jews, spotlessly clean and fabulous food. Everything about this hotel was lovely, but even though there were lots of children in our party, the hotel doesn't really cater for children nor their needs. However, the Spa treatment was lovely as were the two swimming pools.

Room Tip: Villa Stefania, which is a block of suites overlooking the Lake. First floor gives the best views.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2016

Lovely hotel in a beautiful setting. We had a ground floor suite in Villa Steffani which was lovely and modern, great bathroom, and sunbeds and table and chairs on the terrace so you could stay there for the day – would highly recommend a suite in this building. We were half board which I would recommend as it saved the hassle of getting into Malcesine at night. Dinner was 4 courses and there were 3 options available (which you picked at dinner), main course was always a meat option, fish option and something for vegetarians, there was also a salad bar you could help yourself to. At dinner you had the same table every evening which was nice, especially because we had a Suite we got a lake view dinner seat. There were also great options for breakfast which you could eat on the terrace

Hotel is located in Val Di Sogno (along with a couple other hotels) which is about 20 min walk from central Malecesine where you can visit the Castle and take cable cars to Mont Baldo. A 20 min walk the other direction gets to Cassone which too is a picturesque place. There is a lovely lake front path in both directions. The hotel have bikes you can borrow too (these bikes cycle nicely, have a basket on the front, and the hotel give you a bike padlock, but there are no gears and to get up from Central Malcesine there is a steep hill!).

Facilities are good: outdoor pool (which isn’t heated!), indoor heated pool, small gym, tennis courts, bikes to rent, and private jetty into the lake. There is also a supermarket (Jolly Discounts) at the top of the road which is handy for buying drinks for your room fridge for those days spent lying out on your terrace (around 30 cent for a can of beer!)
We had a car and there was plenty of parking, we parked in the underground carpark below the tennis court but you could drive and park closer to the suite block if you wanted, but as it wasn’t far we kept the car in the shade

Highly recommend this hotel, suites in Villa Steffani, the beautiful Val Di Sogno and Malcesine areas.

Would 100% go again to this area and stay here again. Such a beautiful and relaxing time

Room Tip: Villa Steffani is the best area to be
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank JRTinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2016

Just returned from 10 nights at this amazing hotel. The setting overlooking the Lake is beautiful and inspiring, the staff all so friendly and helpful, the food of high quality restaurant standard. The dinner menu hadn't been repeated over our 10 night stay, and we loved all 5 courses of every single evening.
Thanks to all the staff for a fantastic holiday "vi amiamo tutti"

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank WilySilverFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2016

Set in beautiful, well kept grounds away from main road. All buildings are pleasant inside and out. Villa rooms are worth going for if you don't mind the expense, as they have separate living and sleeping areas, and a balcony facing the lake. Good service from all staff. Evening meals are a treat - 4 course Italian, cooked and presented to perfection, small portions but then you also help yourself to a salad buffet at whatever stage you want (unfortunately you're not allowed to sit outside for evening meal). Buffet breakfast can be taken outside overlooking the lake - adequate choice but not as special as you'd expect from a place that is so good in all other respects.

Room Tip: Would be surprised if any of the rooms were in a bad or noisy location.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank steveH51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2016

This was our first time in Italy, the hotel was recommended to us by some friends who had stayed there 3 years ago. We arrived about 6.30pm, it was raining and we were met by a member of staff who helped us with our luggage. We booked in at reception and were shown to our apartment, we were on the ground floor overlooking the lake and some lovely grounds. The apartment was immaculate, everything just spot on! We went for our evening meal in a lovely dining room, the food was possibly the best we have ever had. The staff were so efficient and very friendly, we retired to the lounge bar after our meal and again the bar man was very good. We retired to our apartment and had a good nights sleep, our bed was two four foot beds joined together! We showered, the shower did go cold for a while, as it did most times when we used it. We went for our breakfast, the selection on offer was very good. We ate on the outside terrace overlooking the lake, the view was breathtaking, mountains either side of the lake. The hotel had bikes which my wife and I used to bike into Malcesine. We had a wonderful holiday here and would recommend it very highly .

Room Tip: Obviously the apartments facing the lake are the best.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank richitfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews