We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improving every year”
Review of Hotel La Montanina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Montanina
Ranked #60 of 79 Hotels in Livigno
Reviewed 25 January 2010

We have stayed in this hotel for around 18 yrs and we have seen many changes and I am glad to report that this year is no exception, first thing we noticed was the new bed but I wish they would change the pillows for feather ones instead of the hard flock ones that most hotels in this area use, we always bring our own and leave them so they should have enough to kit most of the rooms out. This is not a dig at them it is what we are used to. The other change was the food, it was superbe their son is the chef and the menu each night was fantastic (it was good before but now wow ) so all in all a great place to spend your winter holls. To sum it up great holiday a must for the young at heart.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BIG-TREV-DERBYSHIRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2010

Having been to Livigno many times over the past 20 years and stayed in a variety of hotels, we were all very impressed with the family run Montanina. Our group ranged from 7 to 72 years old and all 9 family members loved the hotel. It is a great location, only a short walk from Lift 23 and the ski school meeting place. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the food of a good standard and cleanliness standards high. The hotel has a very friendly, family run feel to it and is cosy and rustic in it's feel. Miky's bar is located in the basement - great if you like a bit of lively apres ski. We heard no noise from it at all during our stay, so any prior concerns we had about the noise were completely unfounded. We would not hesitate in staying there again and recommending this lovely hotel to anyone else.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paella_Cooling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2009

This is a very cosy and central family run hotel, staff are very friendly and it is just on top of Miky's pub which has to be the best pub in town!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank odeassdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2008

The hotel is in a good position for the ski ski and ski hire only a 5 minute walk so avoided the crowded free buses in the resort.

The rooms were clean and comfortable (pillows needed a little bit getting used to - hard or lumps of concrete as my daughter described them but not a real problem).

Good buffet breakfast to stock up on before hitting the slopes, available from 7.30 - 9.30.

We booked half board - evening meal available from about 7.30pm - 4 courses each evening with 3 choices for the 2nd and 3rd course, a selection of deserts available each evening.

Staff very welcoming and wanting you to enjoy your stay. One of our group was given different meals depending what was on offer with no problems.

Several of the staff speak English well enough to help us with our extremely limited Italian.

This is a family run hotel with all the rustic charm but with all the necessary comforts for a holiday, whatever your age or needs.
I would definitely recommend ...providing you are not looking for an ultra modern base.
I would love to go again and be more confident of my ability on the slopes!!!
I would book this hotel again - (our group consisted of 3 23 yr olds and 1 50 something!!)

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsmc57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2008

We chose the Hotel Montanina for our 2 week honeymoon and had a fantastic time. The rooms were small but adequate with TV (if you need that), hairdryer, ample wardrobe and a small balcony. As we were skiing it was more than enough for us to keep our stuff and sleep there.

The breakfast is self service with plenty of choice and the evening meals were fantastic, what I would describe as typically Italian, home cooked and delicious with local dishes a regular occurance. Although we weren't told about the cheese board and salad bar so make sure you ask if you want them!

We were made to feel more than welcome on arrival (with Champagne as it was our honeymoon!), Mama (the hotel owner) speaks no english (although we think she knows more than she lets on) and spoke to us in Italian or German for the whole 2 weeks. Not that we understood either language. However 2 of her daughters also work in the hotel and are both english (and german) speaking with one of her sons running the kitchen and another running Mikys bar which is a very popular evening haunt for those that want it. Some of the rooms on the first floor can experience noise at chucking out time.

It was lovely to see the whole family in and out of the hotel, eating at one of the corner tables and still managing to keep the guests happy. It's obvious that people love this hotel (we met 3 couples who had been going there for years and they all receive a huge friendly welcome from Mama in particular) but if you want anything more than typical Italian, rustic and homely then this isn't for you.

The only grumble I have about the hotel is the rock hard pillows and the sandpaper towels. And we would NEVER fly to Innsbruck airport again after such awful journeys there and back. The other 3 couples mentioned above had all driven down and it took them less time than it did for us to fly and transfer by coach. Although Innsbruck is only 3 hours, if you have any early flight you won't make the tunnel, if you get diverted and end up elsewhere you are looking at a 5-6 hour transfer. Not pleasant. We will definately drive next time.

As honeymooners we felt we were able to spend time on our own or join in with other guests in the bar (which can get busy with card players and football on the TV) as we wished. As we got married on leap day this year, we have vowed to return to the Montanina on our first anniversary in 2012, if not before!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Daisyboo1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Livigno hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#28 of 79 in Livigno
564 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Crosal
Hotel Crosal
#26 of 79 in Livigno
176 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Alaska
Hotel Alaska
#51 of 79 in Livigno
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel La Pastorella
Hotel La Pastorella
#43 of 79 in Livigno
121 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Posta
Hotel Posta
#49 of 79 in Livigno
167 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Touring
Hotel Touring
#14 of 79 in Livigno
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Montanina? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Montanina

Address: Via Pienz 58, 23030, Livigno, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Sondrio > Livigno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Livigno
Price Range: ₹ 8,339 - ₹ 15,180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Montanina 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel La Montanina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Montanina Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing