We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Roof Barocco Suite B&B
Ranked #2 of 326 Lecce B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2012

I had been emailing Elisabetta quite frequently regarding a cooking course in Lecce and she had been so helpful and friendly that I was so looking forward to meeting her and going to roof barrocco.. It was more outstanding than I could have even dreamed! Firstly it was getting late when we were arriving into Lecce and we kept getting lost trying to find her place! GPS sometimes doesnt work so well in historic centers! I phoned her and in an instant she was there to guide us! She even came with her boss from work in his car! It isnt that easy to manoevre your way around Lecce so she totally understood... Arriving at Roof Barocco was an absolute treat! A beautifully decorated and appointed apartment with views over all the roof tops to the cathedral.. Swallows diving all around as the sun was sinking! A basket of wonderful local goodies awaited us and a lovely heart warming welcome from Elisabetta. As we seemed so inadequate with the GPS she had her lovely husband who is a busy doctor in Lecce come up and try to sort it out. He also helped me with a small medical issue I needed to talk about! What lovely people.. Her recommendations for dinner that night were superb and even though we were tired we were stimulated by the wonderful walk across old piazzas and past beautiful cathedrals to this fabulous local restaurant called Osteria degli spiriti. This is another story but I can highly recommend you go there when you are in Lecce too! Also to Piccola Casa which was also recommended by Elisabetta as is her friends restaurant and she gave us a cooking lesson there! Breakfast was delivered in a basket each morning Fresh beautiful home made pastries tarts croissants and fresh fruit and yogurts. Wonderful! She even took us to her kitchen to show us how to make one of her tarts the morning we left and gave it to us to take on our journey! One evening we just picked up a pizza to have on that beautiful terrace with a bottle of the wonderful Puglian wine... Each day brought wonderful new experiences and we absolutley loved Lecce and all that amazing Baroque architecture. We have almost talked Elisabetta to coming to New Zealand where I own a small bed and breakfast but for sure we will be back to Lecce especially to stay in her beautiful place... Next time for more than three days! You must stay here It is WONDERFUL

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank perrinehall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 185 of 374 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2012

The pictures do not do this place justice. It was amazing. There are 2 separate mini-apartments which make up Roof Barocco B&B. One has 2 bedrooms, kitchen, outdoor terrace, etc. The other has 1 bedroom, open kitchen, terrace, etc. Both are on the roof of Elisabetta's incredible and luxurious house. She and her staff were always available and in the morning...wow... a basket is delivered with fresh and homemade pastries, cakes, jams, cookies and more.
We told her we wanted to cook a dinner on the roof and she insisted on supplying us with her personal olive oil from her farm. There were candles and all the fixings necessary for a romantic meal which we cooked ourselves on the top of the line kitchen stove and ate on the incredible terrace.
There is good reason this place gets a top rating in Lecce (and is located in the heart of the city). We not only want to stay again, but want to bring friends to enjoy it with us!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jwhittner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We knew that we had found a gem of a place the minute we arrived in Lecce.
Although we had very good directions for some unknown reason we failed. Having a typical man in the car who was reluctant to ask for directions I finally managed to get him to pull over. 5 minutes of debating he asked the next person walking alongside the car. This wonderful man could not be more helpful. Explaining that it was 4pm & coffee time we were to join him at the coffee shop to establish where to go. He insisted on paying for the coffee & promptly got in his car & told us to follow him to our destination. Now that is a real welcome!
It continued to get better. Elisabetta gave us a very warm welcome & showed us around her beautiful family home. We then got taken up to our roof top rooms. It has the most breathtaking views of the historical quarter.
Our rooms were very tastefully decorated & then we got to the kitchen with a wonderful basket of homemade produce & a stunning apple pie.
I had read of all these delights but it was still such a great thing to walk into.
We settled in straight away. It felt like home from home.
Elisabetta is one of the beautiful people you meet in life, both inside & out. We fell in love with her. She is passionate about her Italy & especially Lecce & wanted to share it with us.
We explained what we wanted from our holiday & she told us where to go & good places to eat.
I introduced her to a good old fashioned vodka & tonic & she would come & join me in the evening & share great conversation.
I can't praise her enough. I can't even write the words of how special this place & woman is.
For a romantic retreat or just a stop off between your journey, you will be treated as if you were the most special guests. Nothing is too much & every little detail is catered for.
A true gem.
We have fallen in love Elisabetta & Roof Barocco so much that we have already booked to go back in September.
As you have probably gathered, we absolutely loved it!!!!
Jojo

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheffielddob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We began a 3 week trip to Puglia at Roof Barocco B&B and it couldn’t have been more perfect. No matter how well you think it has been described by other reviewers or in the website photos, they all fall short of the actual experience.
Not enough can be said about the wonderfully delicious (and very generous) welcome basket of treats, the warm breakfast cornetti, homemade jams, perfectly ripe fruit and yummy strawberry tart. For those who have not eaten taralli or friselle, what a wonderful introduction to them. For those who have, what a treat to find them, along with fresh olive oil, tomatoes and herbs in the basket! We are still dreaming about the chocolate cookies in our basket and may have to ask Elisabetta for the recipe. If you don’t know what something is in the basket, eat it anyway, it will be delicious.
The two bedroom apartment was beautifully appointed, so comfortable and immaculate – not a speck of dust anywhere. The furnishings were perfect for the suite – clearly each item was lovingly chosen to enhance the space. Had we wanted to take a simple meal in the room, we could have done so very easily. The only thing the apartment was missing was another couple to share it with.
To sit on the roof terrace at any time of the day was very special, but early morning was the best. We can still hear the birds singing, the church bells sounding and see the colors of the abundant flowers that surrounded us against the backdrop of the rooftops of historic Lecce. By the way, let’s not forget Lecce itself – it’s a great city worth exploring for a few days and Roof Barocco is the perfect location from which to visit the historic city center. You'll need to park your car - if you have one - and explore it all on foot. (We were fortunate to find the location fairly easily. The historic city center is like that of any other Italian city - be prepared to get turned around a bit, but arriving at this spot is well worth the extra attention to the directions! )
Elisabetta’s recommendations for dinners were great and she is never too busy to give some advice or share some time with you. The supporting cast, Elizabetta’s family, round out the experience of staying in someone’s home. Do ask the Gardener what his profession is when he’s not tying up the bougainvillea!
This may seem like a simple B & B but it really is so much more. Roof Barocco is not to be missed if you are planning a visit to Lecce. We can't wait to return...

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EandS_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

Wow!!!
what can I say??? Thanks is not enough my dear friends..I will have to come in your wonderful country for directly saying to you how your words have made me happy.. and I'm happy two times.. I will have to come to the Hawai!!! This is a great luck, isn't it?
Aloha my friends..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

The pictures online do not do this place justice. It is absolutely stunning. Beautiful decor inside and out with great views of the town from the rooftop terrace. In fact so charmed were we with the place we cancelled our dinner reservations one night to enjoy an al fresco self-catered meal - a definite must in fine weather. The kitchen was very well equipped with everything we needed and Elisabetta, our wonderful hostess, provided us with a hamper of delicious ingredients, mostly direct from her father-in-law's farm. Her home made complimentary jam was another highlight. She could not have been more accommodating. It's truly a great little find, really reasonably priced, and once you find it (it's easy to miss initially) a great base for exploring the town.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lecce hotels
1.8 km away
8piuhotel
8piuhotel
#1 of 21 in Lecce
1,239 reviews
0.5 km away
Patria Palace Hotel
Patria Palace Hotel
#3 of 21 in Lecce
709 reviews
0.9 km away
Mantatelure
Mantatelure
#1 of 326 in Lecce
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Dimora San Giuseppe
Dimora San Giuseppe
#7 of 326 in Lecce
193 reviews
0.2 km away
Centro Storico
Centro Storico
#3 of 326 in Lecce
331 reviews
0.6 km away
Santa Marta Suite & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roof Barocco Suite B&B? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roof Barocco Suite B&B

Address: Piazzetta Dell'Arte della Stampa 13 | Centro Storico, 73100, Lecce, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Puglia > Province of Lecce > Lecce
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 326 B&Bs / Inns in Lecce
Price Range: ₹ 6,152 - ₹ 11,343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A bright and amazing B&B in the heart of the historical city center of Lecce. Two indipendent and panoramic Suites, both of them with an enchanting rooftop terrace for exclusive use, air conditioning h24 and a fully equipped kitchen. Our guests are free to return at any time of the night and they will have to force themselves to leave this slice of heaven soaked among flowers to explore the beautiful Lecce.. Below them. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing