We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best B&B on our 3 week trip!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Roof Barocco Suite B&B
Ranked #2 of 301 Lecce B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best B&B on our 3 week trip!”
Reviewed 19 July 2012

The pictures do not do this place justice. It was amazing. There are 2 separate mini-apartments which make up Roof Barocco B&B. One has 2 bedrooms, kitchen, outdoor terrace, etc. The other has 1 bedroom, open kitchen, terrace, etc. Both are on the roof of Elisabetta's incredible and luxurious house. She and her staff were always available and in the morning...wow... a basket is delivered with fresh and homemade pastries, cakes, jams, cookies and more.
We told her we wanted to cook a dinner on the roof and she insisted on supplying us with her personal olive oil from her farm. There were candles and all the fixings necessary for a romantic meal which we cooked ourselves on the top of the line kitchen stove and ate on the incredible terrace.
There is good reason this place gets a top rating in Lecce (and is located in the heart of the city). We not only want to stay again, but want to bring friends to enjoy it with us!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jwhittner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
218
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sheffield
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We knew that we had found a gem of a place the minute we arrived in Lecce.
Although we had very good directions for some unknown reason we failed. Having a typical man in the car who was reluctant to ask for directions I finally managed to get him to pull over. 5 minutes of debating he asked the next person walking alongside the car. This wonderful man could not be more helpful. Explaining that it was 4pm & coffee time we were to join him at the coffee shop to establish where to go. He insisted on paying for the coffee & promptly got in his car & told us to follow him to our destination. Now that is a real welcome!
It continued to get better. Elisabetta gave us a very warm welcome & showed us around her beautiful family home. We then got taken up to our roof top rooms. It has the most breathtaking views of the historical quarter.
Our rooms were very tastefully decorated & then we got to the kitchen with a wonderful basket of homemade produce & a stunning apple pie.
I had read of all these delights but it was still such a great thing to walk into.
We settled in straight away. It felt like home from home.
Elisabetta is one of the beautiful people you meet in life, both inside & out. We fell in love with her. She is passionate about her Italy & especially Lecce & wanted to share it with us.
We explained what we wanted from our holiday & she told us where to go & good places to eat.
I introduced her to a good old fashioned vodka & tonic & she would come & join me in the evening & share great conversation.
I can't praise her enough. I can't even write the words of how special this place & woman is.
For a romantic retreat or just a stop off between your journey, you will be treated as if you were the most special guests. Nothing is too much & every little detail is catered for.
A true gem.
We have fallen in love Elisabetta & Roof Barocco so much that we have already booked to go back in September.
As you have probably gathered, we absolutely loved it!!!!
Jojo

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheffielddob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kauai, Hawaii
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We began a 3 week trip to Puglia at Roof Barocco B&B and it couldn’t have been more perfect. No matter how well you think it has been described by other reviewers or in the website photos, they all fall short of the actual experience.
Not enough can be said about the wonderfully delicious (and very generous) welcome basket of treats, the warm breakfast cornetti, homemade jams, perfectly ripe fruit and yummy strawberry tart. For those who have not eaten taralli or friselle, what a wonderful introduction to them. For those who have, what a treat to find them, along with fresh olive oil, tomatoes and herbs in the basket! We are still dreaming about the chocolate cookies in our basket and may have to ask Elisabetta for the recipe. If you don’t know what something is in the basket, eat it anyway, it will be delicious.
The two bedroom apartment was beautifully appointed, so comfortable and immaculate – not a speck of dust anywhere. The furnishings were perfect for the suite – clearly each item was lovingly chosen to enhance the space. Had we wanted to take a simple meal in the room, we could have done so very easily. The only thing the apartment was missing was another couple to share it with.
To sit on the roof terrace at any time of the day was very special, but early morning was the best. We can still hear the birds singing, the church bells sounding and see the colors of the abundant flowers that surrounded us against the backdrop of the rooftops of historic Lecce. By the way, let’s not forget Lecce itself – it’s a great city worth exploring for a few days and Roof Barocco is the perfect location from which to visit the historic city center. You'll need to park your car - if you have one - and explore it all on foot. (We were fortunate to find the location fairly easily. The historic city center is like that of any other Italian city - be prepared to get turned around a bit, but arriving at this spot is well worth the extra attention to the directions! )
Elisabetta’s recommendations for dinners were great and she is never too busy to give some advice or share some time with you. The supporting cast, Elizabetta’s family, round out the experience of staying in someone’s home. Do ask the Gardener what his profession is when he’s not tying up the bougainvillea!
This may seem like a simple B & B but it really is so much more. Roof Barocco is not to be missed if you are planning a visit to Lecce. We can't wait to return...

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EandS_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Roof Barocco Suite B&B, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Wow!!!
what can I say??? Thanks is not enough my dear friends..I will have to come in your wonderful country for directly saying to you how your words have made me happy.. and I'm happy two times.. I will have to come to the Hawai!!! This is a great luck, isn't it?
Aloha my friends..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2012

The pictures online do not do this place justice. It is absolutely stunning. Beautiful decor inside and out with great views of the town from the rooftop terrace. In fact so charmed were we with the place we cancelled our dinner reservations one night to enjoy an al fresco self-catered meal - a definite must in fine weather. The kitchen was very well equipped with everything we needed and Elisabetta, our wonderful hostess, provided us with a hamper of delicious ingredients, mostly direct from her father-in-law's farm. Her home made complimentary jam was another highlight. She could not have been more accommodating. It's truly a great little find, really reasonably priced, and once you find it (it's easy to miss initially) a great base for exploring the town.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

This is a must-stay on your trip to Italy! Not only is Lecce a beautiful and inviting city, but this b&b is a hidden gem in Lecce. Elisabetta and Angelo are the perfect hosts; they are kind, inviting, and willing to spend the time to make your stay the most enjoyable of your trip. It is a little tricky finding the b&b without GPS (but the friendly locals, Elisabetta, and Angelo will go out of their way to help you), but totally worth the looking around. We stayed in a beautiful room on the top floor. The rooftop was huge and beautiful! Elisabetta decorated our room with freshly picked flowers and had made pastries with lemon cream as a welcome gift. Our room was a studio type of setting with a kitchen and full refrigerator. Elisabetta also stocked our room with freshly made jam and a basket full of local foods. She made us a dinner reservation that evening at the cutest restaurant that felt more like I was eating in a mom's kitchen than going to a restaurant. That morning, we awoke to a picnic basket filled with freshly made lemon cream croissants, yogurt, and strawberries. We unfortunately could only stay in this b&b for 1 night due to booking it too late, but Elisabetta was more than accommodating and set us up in another b&b for our 2nd night in Lecce. I felt more like a friend in this b&b than a customer.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ggriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lecce hotels
0.5 km away
Patria Palace Hotel
Patria Palace Hotel
#3 of 20 in Lecce
623 reviews
1.8 km away
8piuhotel
8piuhotel
#1 of 20 in Lecce
1,080 reviews
0.8 km away
Torre del Parco - Dimora Storica 1419
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Mantatelure
Mantatelure
#1 of 301 in Lecce
373 reviews
0.2 km away
Dimora San Giuseppe
Dimora San Giuseppe
#4 of 301 in Lecce
176 reviews
0.2 km away
Centro Storico
Centro Storico
#3 of 301 in Lecce
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roof Barocco Suite B&B? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roof Barocco Suite B&B

Property: Roof Barocco Suite B&B
Address: Piazzetta Dell'Arte della Stampa 13 | Centro Storico, 73100, Lecce, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Puglia > Province of Lecce > Lecce
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 301 B&Bs / Inns in Lecce
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,637 - ₹ 10,236
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A bright and amazing B&B in the heart of the historical city center of Lecce. Two indipendent and panoramic Suites, both of them with an enchanting rooftop terrace for exclusive use, air conditioning h24 and a fully equipped kitchen. Our guests are free to return at any time of the night and they will have to force themselves to leave this slice of heaven soaked among flowers to explore the beautiful Lecce.. Below them. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing