We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good restaurant on the way to Taormina”

La Bettola da Za Mela
Ranked #18 of 150 Restaurants in Giardini Naxos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 8 - US$ 34
Restaurant details
Reviewed 13 September 2018

Small friendly restaurant with a good selection of inspired sicilian dishes. Good selection of local wines

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Nino A. N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2018 via mobile

In Italy it’s hard to be disappointed but this restaurant was just a nightmare. We didn’t had so much expectations from the menu because they offering sandwiches and also Sicilian dishes but the pastas that we ordered was so disgusting that we had to return the plate and go to an another restaurant to have a proper diner...the smell of the food was the same of the toilet, really!!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Aliviush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tinos1980, Proprietario at La Bettola da Za Mela, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018
Google Translation

premetto che non rispondo mai alle recensioni ma stavolta mi sento di farlo in quanto sono stata io a servirla....premetto che la sua unica lamentela é stata il fatto che la pasta era dura....in italia chiamasi pasta al dente....seconda premessa se veramente é come dice lei il piatto non tornava indietro dopo che ne aveva mangiata più della metà. terza premessa la signora che era con lei ha pulito completamente il piatto e dopo averle rifatto la sua la signora continuava a ripetere che la pasta era buona ma lei chissà con quale santo l aveva ....quarta premessa nonostante non gli abbia fatto pagare la pasta ha continuato a lamentarsi senza nemmeno ringraziare e salutare....quindi oltretutto anche maleducato!!!!!!!!!!!!!! quinta premessa ho capito tutto quello che lei diceva e ripeto che la sua unica lamentela é stata la pasta troppo dura con questo chiudo e le dico che sono stata fin troppo educata...buona giornata!!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2018 via mobile

I had high expectations on this restaurant, since the feeling of it is authentic and nice. But the food was a disappointment. We ate a mushroom pasta (tasted too much sugar?!) and an eggplant pasta (got a hair in it...). We started with the meat and cheese tray with boring cheeses.

The staff was very nice, though. And the wine was good and affordable!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Isabell Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

The worst food I’ve had in Italy and terrible service. Antipasti plate was not heated properly, everything was lukewarm, and the vegetables were not fresh. The vegetarian in the company was served meat though we had been promised a vegetarian plate. The pasta with fresh made pesto tasted like something from an old can that’s been standing to long in the fridge. The black squid pasta was not black, it was just plain (definitely not home-made) pasta in an undefinable dark, inedible sauce. And the pasta wasn’t finished either, though we had been waiting for over an hour. The chef made a scene when we wanted to send the food back.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank sadponyguerillagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

I went for lunch and ordered orechiette with sausage. It was delicious and cheap. (8 Euro I paid eventually). The reason I gave only one start is the way it does the business. In the menu, my dish marked 7 Euro. When the bill came, it became 8 Euro. I questioned that it was different from what had been stated in the menu. I even showed the waitress the menu. She said that the price in the menu was wrong and I was still asked to pay 8 Euro. I was not arguing as it was just one Euro. I gave only one star because it violates the integrity principle when doing business regardless how much value related to this.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank hohoho2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Bettola da Za Mela also viewed

Giardini Naxos, Province of Messina
Giardini Naxos, Province of Messina
 
Giardini Naxos, Province of Messina
Giardini Naxos, Province of Messina
 
Giardini Naxos, Province of Messina
Giardini Naxos, Province of Messina
 

Been to La Bettola da Za Mela? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing