We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveller rating
81
50
13
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
81
50
13
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews buffet breakfast we booked a deluxe room very nice hotel nice pool area lake garda minute walk cleaning staff third floor hill cereal balcony honeymoon relaxation
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 148 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

We only stayed the one night here. It is a truly lovely boutique hotel about 10 minutes walk down to the Lake. It has a B&B feel about it. The rooms are not big but they are charming and have all that you need with Lake views. If you have mobility issues then you would be better to stay somewhere on the Lake side. However, if you are prepared for a short walk or have a car then it's perfect. The buffet breakfast was one of the best and most beautifully presented I had seen after a month of staying in five star hotels throughout Europe (Villa Sofia is a 4 star hotel). The best part of all was the amazing service provided by the manager, Giovanna. She could teach many other hotel operators a thing or two about great service. Nothing was a problem and her English was fantastic. Thank you Giovanna, you are a credit to this lovely hotel.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank LindaH850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017 via mobile

We caught a train from Venice to Desenzano. Then a ferry up the Lake. We stayed 3 nights in a room on the top floor with a lake view. The room was comfortable and clean, breakfast was excellent and the staff were very helpful.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Oldre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017 via mobile

Tucked away up the hill near the scenic Lake Garda. Short walk into small town. Comfy beds lovely view from balcony of pool and lots of foliage. Continental breakfast lovely staff lots of adults thus rather quiet no one around at night either out or asleep.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Bubbles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 8 days during September. The hotel is on the hill above the lake. We loved being in between the lake and the old town as there was a choice of restaurants. We are glad we had our car but it was possible to get around using the ferries on the lake. Our room was in the annex and was large and well appointed for storage. The bed was comfy and the aircon excellent. The bathroom was spacious and there was a balcony with chairs. The pool area was really lovely and there was never a problem getting 2 sun beds. The staff were extremely helpful and they catered for my dietary needs at breakfast and made me milk free scrambled eggs separately each day. Breakfast outside every day was a delight.

Our only fault for the hotel would be that without a restaurant and no seating outside near the bar there was never any atmosphere in the evening it was very very quiet. Everyone went out for a meal and then went straight to their rooms on returning.

We visited Venice for a day whilst here taking the train from Desenzano. We also walked the Old Ponale Path from Riva. Taking the ferries to Sirmione and Garda then walking to Bardolino were lovely trips and the Vittoriale degli Italiano in Gardone was only a short walk from the hotel and a fabulous and interesting place.

In all it was a lovely location and a great hotel

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 362KarenJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

My wife and I (both 35) have just finished an 8 night stay in Villa Sofia. Would highly recommend this hotel.
The hotel is very charming with beautiful surrounding gardens which encompass the wonderful pool area. Pool was always quiet and relaxing during our stay with no issues getting a sun lounger.
We got upgraded to a superior room as it was our honeymoon which had a small balcony to the side of property with a view of the lake. Room was a great size and was always kept spotless by cleaning staff. During our stay we had seen the garden rooms which looked relatively small all be it nice, but were glad of our upgrade.
As per a number of other reviews, breakfast was fantastic out in garden patio area. Could sit out there for hours, very relaxing. Breakfast consisted of a good choice of hot and cold buffet items, lovely breads, pastries and fruit, couldn't fault it.
The hotel does not have a restaurant and the bar is very small so you will be going out in the evenings for dinner/drinks.
The hotel is located approx. 10 min from lake front which has some nice restaurants, Ristorante Pizza Sans Souci being the highlight. The small old town is only 5 min walk from the hotel and is very charming with a few wonderful restaurants, the highlight being Trattoria Agli Angeli, which was absolutely superb but requires booking as busy most nights. Their sister restaurant on the opposite side of road had great terrace area with amazing views over the lake, great for few drinks and well worth a visit.
The larger town of Salo is only 5 min drive (€12 taxi) from Gardone and is a nice place to go for dinner and a few drinks also.
Gardone Riveria is a relatively quiet resort compared to some of the other towns, however it oozes charm and character that the more busy towns lack and is a beautiful place for a relaxing holiday.
We could not recommend Hotel Villa Sofia highly enough if staying here.
Would have no hesitation returning to both Gardone and Hotel Villa Sofia.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank PaulByrne1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews