We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Choose elsewhere we would say.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Ristorante Giardinetto Garda
Ranked #29 of 49 Hotels in Garda
Reviewed 22 July 2010

Booked with Thomas Cook who's advertisment in their brochure was totally wrong. We found out through another person that the balconies aren't given to British tourists and are more or less for the Italians who book there. The only room you are likely to get is one that is at either side of the hotel and looks onto a brick wall. The rooms are tiny, the smallest we have ever experienced on any holiday. The toilets are dark and cramped and the shower and fixings are in the most ridiculous places making it very uncomfortable to get ready. There is no bar area, no lounge area, no facilities to use at all, no hair dryer in your room, no ironing board and the entance to the rooms is like the opening to a cupboard. The noise of the staff begins at 0630 in the morning with them rattling around a giant trolly up and down the corridors inside and outside of the hotel and continues on well after midnight. The breakfast buffet is ridiculous. Uncovered platters of meat and cheese (ham or chorizo and bland mild cheese) sit covered in flies and there is also a cake or some cereal. Not our idea of breakfast! The service is also very slow.

Good points; the dinner menu is varied and the food is very good indeed. The prices are reasonable and the hotel is clean. It sits right on the edge of the Lake and the view once you have made it out of your hovel is very impressive. The air conditioning was very good and made our hovel nice and cool.

All in we would recommend you spend a few more pounds and try another hotel in the area that is at least 3 star. We have stayed in places around the world that have cost far less and have had far better service. We kind of expected more from a hotel situated on the front of Lake Garda in Italy.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheScottish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (195)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Ristorante Giardinetto Garda
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 59 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2010

This is a hotel we will remeber for a long time as the worst that we have ever stayed at.

The manager and wife were surly, rude and totally indifferent to the various problems that most of the guests were suffering. As an example our air conditioning broke down within four hours of our arrival and despite constant daily requests for it to be repaired it was not sorted until the last day of our stay some seven days later. Temperatures were in the nineties all week but the manager made no effort to get it sorted and just fobbed us off with a load of lies. He could have supplied a fan but consideration is definitely not one of his strong points. At least two other rooms suffered the same problem with their air conditioning.

The bathroom was a joke, you can't sit squarely on the toilet as the bidet is in the way, you can't stand squarely at the washbasin for the same reason. The shower was very small and you have to close the doors from the inside as the toilet does not allow them to open outwards.

There is no lounge or in fact anywhere in the hotel to comfortably sit, the double bedroom had one rickety chair which did not look capable of supporting anybody's weight. The tiny reception area is part of the corridor from the dining room to the kitchen and usually had a couple of the staff's bikes parked there.

In short the whole hotel is poor, the management is straight from Basil Fawlty's charm school and I am surprised that Thomas Cook use this place as part of their package deals.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PHUU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

We have just returned from a 7 night stay at the Hotel Giardinetto and have to say that we were delighted with our stay. The food was truly exceptional, the rooms were kept pristine clean and the staff were very friendly. The location of the hotel is outstanding, right on the lake front making breakfast and dinner truly memorably occassions. We felt it was esceptional value for money and the quality of the food was at a level that we have certainly never previously experienced in any half-board holiday up to 4* in the past let alone 2*. The rooms themselves were small but still offered a king size bed and they were kept immaculately clean with towels changed daily. The staff were so friendly which provided a lovely atmosphere within the hotel and certainly helped to make our stay even more memorable. The owners were extremely hard-working and very anxious to ensure that guests were looked after (providing a hairdryer on request etc). We would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a great location, clean hotel and truly wonderful food!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SatisfiedLakeGarda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

As the previous reviewer we found the meals to be of an excellent standard but room very small but spotlessly clean. I could have written the previous reviewer's review as it was word for word the same experience that we had. The staff worked extremely hard to keep hotel's cleanliness to high standard. We also found that waiters were very pleasant helpful for first few days but seemed to lose interest after this. The restaurant was very busy in the evenings with locals or business dinners, and diner's were given excellent service and attention, while we felt a bit neglected and it was difficult to get waiter's attention. When it rained, you had to either go out and get soaked or lie on your bed with Spanish TV on, as there was no lounge or reception area. This was OK for a day but quite depressing when rain lasted longer.

Garda was a beautiful place to holiday but I don't think we would consider returning to this hotel. Renting an apartment elsewhere and visiting the restaurant for a meal would be a better option as the seafood was delicious.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mojo51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2010

We stayed at the Giardinetto for 11 days on half board withg Crystal holidays and noticed an award certificate on the wall from 2007 when we arrived, a little surprising with what we experienced. Sadly our room was not ready at 2.00pm and we were not greeted in any way which was depressing after being on our feet since 4.30 am! The room was adequate although small and facing the wall of the opposite building. I had asked the agent for a balcony room for an extra payment but , as mentioned by another reviewer, " the computer says no"!
The two ladies who seemed to do all the cleaning for the entire hotel, inside and out, were lovely and very helpful. The room was spotless and towels were changed every day.
The breakfast was a good buffet and the waitress who brought the tea and coffee was very sweet. No complaints there. The food for the evening meal was excellent and a real treat if you like seafood. This is obviously a popular place for local people which is a good sign but towards the end of our stay the service tailed off completely. One evening we waited over 15 minutes for coffee, even though friends on our table had been served theirs,as all the waiters scurried about after the other customers who had come in from outside the hotel.
There is no proper reception area and no lounge which became an issue for us when it rained as there was nowhere to sit and only one very uncomfortable chair in the room.
This is definitely a restaurant with rooms and I am sad to say the two people who appeared to be the owners showed no interest in the service received by hotel guests.
Garda itself is a real gem. Beautifully clean with lovely cafes and with live music somewhere every evening
We would definitely return to Garda but we would not stay at the Giardinetto again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wallace52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Garda hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Remat
Hotel Remat
#24 of 49 in Garda
102 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel all'Ancora
Hotel all'Ancora
#32 of 49 in Garda
100 reviews
0.1 km away
Miro Hotel
Miro Hotel
#12 of 49 in Garda
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Miralago
Hotel Miralago
#31 of 49 in Garda
84 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Terminus
Hotel Terminus
#22 of 49 in Garda
196 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Cortina
Hotel Cortina
#27 of 49 in Garda
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ristorante Giardinetto Garda? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ristorante Giardinetto Garda

Address: Lungolago Regina Adelaide 27, 37016 Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Garda
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 49 Hotels in Garda
Price Range: ₹ 4,621 - ₹ 10,998 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Ristorante Giardinetto Garda 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Management - The hotel is located in a magnificent position. It overlooks the beautiful bay of Garda, is situated on the walkway alongside the lake promenade but at the same time in the heart of the picturesque village. Our guests are able to reach all main places of interest as well as several attractions conveniently on foot. The hotel disposes of double rooms with a stunning lakeview, which we are especially proud of, and also of rooms looking sidewards but still allowing a beautiful bit of view overlooking the water in front. All rooms dispose of a flatscreen satellite LED-tv, free wi-fi, air-conditioning, a safe, a servicetelefone, bathroom with a shower or a bathtub, daily fresh towels as well as showergels, hairshampoo and a hair dryer. Every room can be accessed by lift and our guests are welcome to use a private and free parking area only 200 meters away. On arrival you will be received by our multilingual staff, which is happy to help you with any request to assure you a pleasant stay. A special highlight of our hotel is our restaurant with a stunning lakeview. Our highly motivated kitchen team will prepare outstanding culinary delights for you, which our friendly waiters are happy to serve. Our excellent wine list is well stocked with Italian as well as foreign wines and ensures to perfectly enhance your choice of dinner or lunch. Our sommelier will be glad to recommend the corresponding wines and tour our wine cellar with you. Not only through our privileged location can we call ourselves a family-friendly hotel - our guests can also easily reach all main services: the pharmacy, the bus stop, the boat dock and the beaches, to which one can easily walk without having to take a car. Our kitchen staff is happy to prepare selected and tasty dishes for our smallest guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Ristorante Giardinetto Garda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giardinetto Hotel Garda
Hotel Ristorante Giardinetto Garda Lake Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing