We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 91/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 25/07
US$ 133
US$ 124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 145/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 132
US$ 129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 148/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ai Frutti di una Volta(Ferrara)(Great Value!)
US$ 68
US$ 63
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dolcemela(Ferrara)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$ 132
US$ 102
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Borgoleoni 18(Ferrara)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$ 144
US$ 136
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$ 103
US$ 91
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 117/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (959)
Filter reviews
959 results
Traveller rating
462
406
73
16
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
462
406
73
16
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationgreat choice of foodpanoramic roomroom was cleanhotel is ideally locatedon foothotel garageexcellent breakfastminutes walkingpastriestrain stationthe hotel offersrooms are bigstay there againfront desk staffpedestrian zonenice bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 959 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2018

An excellent hotel, quiet and yet in the historical center of town. Excellent breakfast, clean large rooms and nice bathrooms. The internet connection is good, but a bit more clumsy to get into than in the past. It is a pity that they do not provide kleenex tissue.

Room Tip: It would be useful if could put some kleenex tissue in the bathroom.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank augustosagnotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo C, Direttore at Hotel Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Dear Mr Sagnotti,
thank you so much for your review about us.
See you next time
Kind Regards
Paolo Colombarini - g.manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2018 via mobile

Hotel is conveniently placed on one of the busy streets in Ferrara, close to the Ferrara Bus&Fly stop. Welcoming staff and a clean and smart reception greet you and there are lifts to all floors. The rooms are big and airy with ensure and plenty of wardrobe space. There is a well stocked minibar although the prices are a little steep! Although no food is served during the day the breakfast is first class; loads of meat, cheese, pastries and fruit, accompanied by juice and hot drinks...perfect start to the day! All in all a nice place to stay during your stay in Ferrara.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EVVIVAFERRARA, Direttore at Hotel Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

Thank you so much Nick for your beautiful review about us.
Thank you for chosen Ferrara and our hotel!
Kind Regards from Italy.
Paolo Colombarini - g.manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

I know all rooms in Europe are small but I was counting on the service to be up to snuff...well, it is not!!

My bedding (sheets and pillow covers) was not changed during the entire stay (4nights). I know because I marked with a pen on the bedding small little identifying marks and they were there for the entire stay.

They put two small bottles of shampoo in the room during the entire stay. They put the near empty bottle back on the counter. That's right!

Parking was a complete clustermuck. I had to get someone from the front desk to walk across the street to the garage and then I had to then drive onto a lift. Then I had to drive the car into a 12 space parking level. It was like driving a car in a living room.

And checkout took about as long as getting a driver's license at the US DMV.

Other than that, it is adequate.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank jacklD5839DS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EVVIVAFERRARA, Direttore at Hotel Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear jacklD5839DS we are a 3 stars hotel and is for that reason that we change the linen every 4 nights if you stay 3 nights, like in your case (you stayed 3 night in our hotel and not 4 nights!). If you stay 4 nights we change the linen on the second day.
I'm sorry, probably you should go to 4 stars hotel and spend more money.....
Regards
Paolo Colombarini - g.manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

Stayed here with a last minute booking because we couldn't find our B&B in Tuscany. The desk staff was great and got us checked in and in our room in minutes.
The room was a little small but with a last minute booking I was just glad it wasn't a broom closet. Bed was comfortable. Bathroom was HUGE. Easily 1/2 the size of the room. Everything was clean and modern.
Breakfast was quite large and very fresh.
Location is just perfect. Right in the center of Ferrara with a couple of restaurant picks within feet of the entrance.
Pricing is moderate but extremely reasonable, especially under the circumstances.
We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 777jeannem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EVVIVAFERRARA, Direttore at Hotel Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear 777jeannem,
thank you very much for telling your beautiful experience in Ferrara.
See you for your next trip...
Kind Regards
Paolo Colombarini - g.manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

This hotel has everything I look for in a hotel! Clean, modern, central, and a good breakfast!

Front desk staff is exceedingly nice and professional. Bell staff the same; professional and efficient people work here!

The rooms are functional, clean and offer wonderful views of the city. Super charming!!!!!

I absolutely loved the photographs of Ferrara adorning the lobby; I love it when hotel chains tweak their look to acomodate local flavour.

The parking garage is very close by and convenient. And if that wasn't enough, there are two wonderful eateries just across the street.

There is just nothing I could suggest for improvement, I loved this place!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Alla-Rustica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EVVIVAFERRARA, Direttore at Hotel Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Grazie Alla-Rustica,
for your review about us.
Every day we try to do our better for our guests and when this happen we are very happy.
The best Regards.
Paolo Colombarini - g.maanger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews