We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very good experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Diana Majestic

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Hotel Diana Majestic
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in Diano Marina
Drobak, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very good experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

The hotel is perfect situated, close to the beach. You get two deckchairs with parasol at the beach or two beds by the pool included. The pool area is very well kept and the beach also. We booked bed and breakfast and both the rooms and breakfast fullfilled our expetations. You literally sit by the sea and have a very good breakfast. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The downside, not much really, bar and restaurant a bit expensive, however a welcome drink was included. Iit is around ten minutes walk to the centre of the tonn.

Diano Marina is calmer and more relaxed compared to the french riveria, and the prices somewhat lower. Are you looking for nightlife and partying go to France.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank arntan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paolovignone, Direttore at Grand Hotel Diana Majestic, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Thank you for your comments. I’m very pleased that you were satisfied with our services and enjoyed your stay in Diano Marina.
You satisfaction means really a lot to us!
Thanks again for having chosen the Grand Hotel Diana Majestic.

Paolo Vignone, GM & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    165
    49
    14
    11
See reviews for
107
215
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

My husband and I booked at last minute for 3 nights through a hotel website. It was absolutely easy. We was in the Grand Hotel Diana Majestic the first time and we definitely will come back! We also recommend this hotel to our friends. It was a great pleasure to stay here, the service was perfect and also the personal. GREAT!

Room Tip: we had a classic room in the 4th floor and we'd choose this again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IreneSchneider55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paolovignone, Direttore at Grand Hotel Diana Majestic, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Thank you for your comments. I’m very pleased that you were satisfied with our services and enjoyed your stay in Diano Marina.
You satisfaction means really a lot to us!
Thanks again for having chosen the Grand Hotel Diana Majestic.

Paolo Vignone, GM & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zuienkerke, Belgium
Level Contributor
174 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

We stayed here 5 days with our 4 children. The location at the beach side was really fantastic, with the terrace (breakfast, bar) overseeing the see. The pool and the garden with seats is big and quiet, very nice. The service is very good, but not personal. You have seats at the pool, but have to pay for towels (3,5 euro a day ). At the see, you have a sitting place free, but you have to pay for a longchair.
The half board formula is OK, the snack restaurant at the pool very nice.
So it's a very nice location, really worthwile, but it's not cheap. The service is correct but not personal, don't ask for special service, nothing is free in this hotel (but with paying you can get a lot done...). We asked to eat one night on the seaside a la carte restaurant instead of the halfboard, by paying supplementary of course, but this was not possible. We didn't understand why... But in total, a very nice vacation ! Really.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gee_Cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paolovignone, Direttore at Grand Hotel Diana Majestic, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
Dear geert-hespel,

Thank you for your comments. I’m very pleased that you were satisfied with our services and enjoyed your stay in Diano Marina.
You satisfaction means really a lot to us!
Thanks again for having chosen the Grand Hotel Diana Majestic.

Paolo Vignone, GM & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

We booked the Diana Majestic in Diano Marina through the hotel website, and the process was easy. We booked a master suite which was over 500 Euros a night for High Season. We also had friends staying in a standard (loft) room for about 260 Euros a night. Our journey was by car from the South of France and we found the hotel easily, and found lots of parking space in the hotel’s open-air parking lot, which looked quite secure. We were not charged for parking.

Unfortunately, the middle-aged lady who ‘greeted’ us at Reception when we arrived at noon was not very friendly. She seemed rather upset that we had dragged her out of the back office where she was busy doing something. So the check-in process for us was rather mechanical and just efficient. Unfortunately no explanations whatsoever were offered regarding the bar, the restaurant, dinner, breakfast, the leisure facilities or the town – and the lady had to hurry back into the office. We had to find out more about the hotel later by asking questions or by reading the in-room hotel directory. We were nevertheless offered to use the pool as we were early and our room was not ready.

Our suite comprised of two rooms which accommodated a family of four very well. The bedroom and the living room were relatively spacious; and the kids’ beds were already prepared in the living room. Although there was no wow factor to the accommodation, the rooms and the bathroom were clean, ample and comfortable. The furnishings may have been rather ordinary, but they looked modern enough, and the housekeeping ladies who always offered a smile and a buongiorno made a very good and consistent job of keeping the rooms in order. Climate control in the rooms was unproblematic. The views of the town and the beach from the large windows of the two rooms were excellent. The suite had a very large terrace with a table and four chairs, as well as two cushioned sun-loungers, and plenty of space. Unfortunately, as the walls of the terrace were waist-high one had to stand and walk right up to the edge to enjoy the impressive views of the coast, the town of Diano Marina, and the hills behind. (Railings instead of low walls would have made such a striking difference.) We had no real view of the pool, but the other suite on the same floor had views of the pool and the beach from their balcony. We had the terrace and the Jacuzzi of the hotel’s best suite above our bedroom, and unfortunately the residents of this suite were rather keen on using their Jacuzzi fairly early in the morning – and you do hear the noise which can be enough to wake you up. If you’re thinking of booking a master suite, you may be slightly better off asking for 404 than 405.

I still believe that someone in the Italian hotel industry needs to start a revolution as regards breakfast; because while Italian lunches and dinners are generally excellent, the breakfasts leave a lot to be desired. While breakfasts at Diana majestic were quite good by Italian standards - with ample fresh fruit and reasonable cereals provided - I just can’t understand why - with the worldwide fame of quality Italian sausages - they still insist on serving those horrible fatty insipid factory-made sausages, not just here, but at most Italian hotels. The variety of bread here was also OK, but just that: “OK”. I’ve had a better variety of quality fresh wholegrain bread offered to me at Sri Lankan hotels. (The best hotel breads I’ve had have been at German and Swiss hotels.) Also there was an “egg station” with a tiny portable electric cooker and a young inexperienced egg chef churning out mediocre eggs very slowly. On the first morning, I arrived just as the eggs for the person in front of me were being placed in the pan; and I literally had to stand around for another15 minutes before my egg was done. I didn’t bother with freshly-made eggs on other mornings. I would suggest a gas cooker, with a more experienced chef; and small amounts of vegetable oil rather than big chunks of butter. Breakfast service was fairly efficient, but knives which were removed mid-breakfast were not replaced, and you had to roam the breakfast area in search of one, or find someone who could let you have a knife each time. Again, another area which the hotel may consider improving.

I liked the 2 swimming pools which catered well for both children and adults with plenty of sun-loungers. The pool attendant was a very pleasant and smiley young man. Please be aware that there is a 3.50 Euros per towel charge at the pool which is quite off-putting.

There is also a charge for the use of sunbeds on the hotel’s stretch of beach; deckchairs on the beach are free. By South of France or Ligurian standards the beach is fairly good albeit very narrow with soft but very dense sand. The immediate waters are somewhat murky, shallow, have been calmed, and are ideal for swimming or families with young children. You should still expect hawkers even on the ‘private’ beaches. There are a couple of quite good snack bars nearby for lunch.

There was no pool-side service as such, but at lunchtimes, the restaurant by the pool served fine daily specials for 11 Euros which I thought was quite good value. We also had a-la-carte dinner on the main restaurant terrace on our first evening. The meal itself was good although there were mixed reviews at the table. There were three let-downs to the dinner. First, the waiter’s choice of Ligurian red wine turned out to be a very young quite tart wine which none of us liked. Also one of the desserts (fresh fruit flambéed at the table) was so alcoholic that we were not able to go past the first spoon. We asked our waiter for coffee after desserts and he said we had to go inside to the hotel bar to order our coffees. Not something I wanted to hear when I’m paying well over 500 Euros a night at a 4-star hotel. I have no idea why the waiting staff can’t relay the hot drinks orders to the bar themselves. So one of us had to get up and go to the bar to order teas and coffees. We decided to have dinner in town after that.

The same hot-drinks situation occurred after having lunch by the pool-side restaurant. Unfortunately on almost all occasions that our group ordered coffee – including breakfast – it arrived rather lukewarm. I myself didn’t bother ordering another coffee after my third tepid coffee because I prefer my coffees hot.

Mondays to Thursdays there was entertainment on the restaurant terrace which was reasonable in quality and quite enjoyable depending on your taste in music and bands.

We always got smiles from the cleaning and housekeeping staff; Luca who worked at both restaurants was very friendly and approachable; and so was one of the gentlemen at the bar. We had a much friendlier older gentleman at Reception at check-out to whom I enjoyed chatting with. Other than that, I didn’t get an overall feel of happy friendly staff (especially at breakfast service); but I have no major complaints with staff’s competency or efficiency on the whole. On one occasion around 2:30 p.m. the bar was unattended for about 10-15 minutes and we had to get someone from Reception to find us someone to serve us.

I have been to a few Ligurian towns. The town of Diano Marina was not the most inspiring: it is a fairly ordinary small town, with no continuous seaside promenade and only a modicum of charm. (In the vicinity I would instead suggest the towns of Finale Ligure or Alessio or Laigueglia or even San Remo.) From the hotel, it is a good 10-minute walk to the edge of the happening part of town, and an additional10 minutes to the very centre. Most of the eating establishments are café-style, with comparatively few proper restaurants at the centre of town. I would definitely recommend Pizzeria Fra Diavolo and Osteria Vico del Rame. There is a lovely gelateria a few steps from the latter.

All in all I have quite mixed feelings about our trip to Diano Marina, both about the town and the hotel. The best parts were the views, relaxing by the pool and sipping a cocktail on the very pleasant restaurant terrace. We probably would not return to this town, but I would not discourage anyone from staying at the Diana Majestic despite our own lacklustre stay.

Room Tip: Suite 404 rather than 405
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Londonmammoth2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paolovignone, Direttore at Grand Hotel Diana Majestic, responded to this review, 13 August 2011
Dear Sir,

Thank you for reviewing Grand Hotel Diana Majestic.

We carefully read your comments about our hotel and we welcome all guests feeback, positive and negative: this is how we learn and hopefully improve upon the quality of our services.

Our main goal is to make all our guests feel welcome and comfortable while they are with us. And, most of our customers comments appreciate the friendliness and efforts of our staff. Another point of strength is considered to be our buffet breakfast which tries to satisfy the tastes of our international clientele

We are certainly glad you liked the friendliness from our housekeeping, Luca and Doriano the gentleman at the reception this really means a lot to us.

Please come back and let us show you how important you are.

Thanks a lot for staying with us.

Paolo Vignone, GM & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

hotel very good especially the food. Very expensive area and hotel lacks atmosphere, no music with your cocktails etc [ if you could afford a cocktail 12-20 euro]. Beach at times smelly but always very crowded with sunbeds so view spoilt. Sunbeds were 19 euro per day for two. No promenade by this part of the beach so to walk into Diana Marino is along many private beaches or via a noisy dusty unattractive road.
Our room, 209, was front seaview with a balcony and when the doors were open the sound of the sea was lovely.
The lunchtime a la carte for 11 euros upwards was a very small dish of cold pasta.
The pool and gardens however are very tranquil.

Room Tip: can only comment on room 209 but clean comfortable quiet with sea front view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roberta_underwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diano Marina hotels
1.2 km away
Hotel Torino Wellness & Spa
Hotel Torino Wellness & Spa
#2 of 44 in Diano Marina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Caravelle Talasso e Benessere
0.1 km away
Hotel Gabriella
Hotel Gabriella
#4 of 44 in Diano Marina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Bellevue et Mediterranee
Bellevue et Mediterranee
#19 of 44 in Diano Marina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
2.1 km away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#10 of 44 in Diano Marina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
1.8 km away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#14 of 44 in Diano Marina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Diana Majestic? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Diana Majestic

Property: Grand Hotel Diana Majestic
Address: Via Degli Oleandri 15, 18013 Diano Marina, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Province of Imperia > Diano Marina
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Diano Marina
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Diano Marina
#14 Romantic Hotel in Diano Marina
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,268 - ₹ 19,411
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Diana Majestic 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You couldn't ask for a better setting, the enchanting Dianese Gulf, in Diano Marina in the heart of the Italian Riviera. It's here where the Grand Hotel Diana Majestic offers the perfect balance: sports and relaxation, sightseeing and stellar dining. Facing the crystal sea of Liguria, the hotel is surrounded by a park of secular olive trees, creating an oasis of tranquillity from the chaos of city life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Grand Hotel Diana Majestic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Diano Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing