We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed impressions”
Review of Hotel Gabriella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Gabriella
Ranked #6 of 44 Hotels in Diano Marina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2010

This hotel was recommended to us by our friends, who found it good enough for a family with a small child. We gave it a try. Our baby is 2,5 years old, so she is quite naughty. At first, we received a wonderful welcome. My daughter enjoyed the swimming pool (although, being advertised as heated, its temperature doesn't exceed 23 C, which made us feel uncomfortable, after the 35 degrees we got used to in our little outdoor whirlpool at home). The room was nice and cosy, though you could hear the rumours from up above, and from the adjacent rooms till midnight. Our problems began during the dinner time, when our daughter couldn't sit at the table for an hour, and my husband and I took the turns to take her out for a walk in the garden, that is equipped with the basic facilities (half-broken) for the kids. We tried not to give nuisance to the other guests, but didn't have any success. A couple from London on the right has commented on us, thinking that we don't speak English (we come from Ticino, Switzerland), in a most impolite way. We didn't react. The next day out seats were removed to the table next door to the entrance without any explanation.

We have survived 7 days at this hotel, but the final straw that broke the camel's back was the morning of our departure. We had breakfast very early - at 8:30, hoping to leave soon and avoid traffic jams. At such an early hour small children don't eat much. Attention: we have paid half-board for three persons during the stay. So I took a plastic bag and put the things that our daughter didn't eat in it. Then my husband went to the owner of the hotel at the reception to pay for the stay. Meanwhile, my daughter and I were playing in the garden, and the proprietor could see my plastic bag very well. On our return to the hotel, I heard a very interesting discussion on the phone - the lady-proprietor was ripudiating her staff because some guests make "un'ampia scorta" during the breakfast. After hearing that, I told my husband that we are not returning to this hotel any more.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doponto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ghiru, Proprietario at Hotel Gabriella, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2010
Google Translation

Egregio Sig.Biaggini,
La ringraziamo per la preferenza accordataci e per la Sua recensione sul nostro Hotel.
Commenti e critiche sono importanti, e cerchiamo sempre e comunque di migliorare il nostro servizio facendo tesoro di tutte le recensioni che leggiamo.
Per quanto riguarda la temperatura della piscina, viene costantemente monitorata e nella settimana del Suo soggiorno era circa 26,5 gradi. Il riscaldamento della piscina è impostato a 26 gradi...quando la temperatura è superiore il sistema di riscaldamento non interviene.
Chiaramente quando in piena estate la temperatura dell'aria è intorno ai 30 gradi e quella del mare intorno ai 28 gradi, entrando in piscina si ha la sensazione della temperatura più fresca.
Per quanto riguarda il problema in sala ho chiesto al mio cameriere, ricordava perfettamente la cosa ed è stata una Sua idea...Vi ha spostato al primo tavolo dopo l'entrata perchè c'era più spazio per tre persone e soprattutto per permetterVi di uscire e rientrare in sala più comodamente quando la bambina faceva i capricci.
Problema ultimo giorno...ho chiesto a mia madre e mia sorella e credo di essere venuto a capo della cosa: la telefonata da Lei ascoltata non riguardava Voi ma una famiglia che ogni giorno, dopo la colazione, faceva la scorta per il pranzo al buffet dei salumi, della frutta e delle torte.
La ringrazio ancora e comunque per il Suo giudizio.

Alberto Ghirardi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2010

This is like a trip back into the 1950's. My wife who is 100% first generation Italian(American) loved this hotel. If you are turned off by lots of kids age one month to 13 or by old people avoid this hotel. About half of the people staying at the hotel seemed to be grandparents and their grandchildren, the rest parents and their kids. The kids were very well behaved, and quiet by American standards. I didn't see one cell phone.Most were Italian although there were a sizable number of Swiss and German plates in the parking area.
The hotel is located right on the beach, and each room is assigned beach chairs with towels handed out each morning. There is a large pool, and if you are into doing laps there are very few people in the pool at certain times of the day (early morning/late afternoon).
We took half pension (lunch/breakfast), and found the food to be good. Fish is always one of the four choices for a main course, and there were two pastas each day included in the four choices of first course. There is a large salad bar with ripe local tomatoes, and local greens. And, a bar with great coffee and gelato. Excellent!
The hotel is only a 10 minute walk from the center of Diano Marina, and a five minute drive to Cervo. We had dinner in Cervo (at the cafe that is part of the wine shop), and it was terrific in particular the two white wines we tried from Cervo.
We made our Gabrielle reservation at the last minute in the middle of July, and we were pleasantly supprised that one room was available for two nights. We walked over to Hotel Torino (which was full the two nights we wanted), and concluded that we preferred the location of Gabrielle. Torino is in the center of town, not on the beach, and doesn't have the views of Gabrielle. From the beach in front of Gabrfielle you can see Cervo on the hill, and the surrounding mountains. Lovely.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vesenaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2007

A real family hotel , very good value with its own private beach. The property has a huge swimming pool plus lots of facilities.
The provision of a space on the beach with umbrella and loungers is a real benefit and for the seafarers there is free use of the pedaloes.
Clean well furnished rooms and a lively dining room rounded off a great stay.

We would fully recommend ,especially for those with children

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MikeandAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2007

We arrived there by chance, the first hotel available after 60 we asked on the sea.

Breakfast ok, nice big rooms, perfect pool with warm water.

Included in the price everything for the private sandy beach, very close.

A bit expensive accordind to me and to my credit card.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SilenzioMonza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2006

Gabriella has a perfect location for those who want sun, sand and sea. It also has a fantastic pool which is always empty between 12.30- 2.30 while most of the guests eat their lunch........and the food is very, very good. If you have a young family or elderly relatives, it is an excellent hotel for having everything right there for you, even being able to use their kitchen to cook your child's food if you so required. There are friendly and inexpensive beach bars either side of Gabriella's private beach and you have your own sunshade and loungers allocated to you for your stay.

The hotel seems to be run by a very capable family who were friendly , efficient and approacable. The overall feeling of the hotel is one of homeliness and yet busness-like ( if you see what I mean.) ....they knew what they were doing; very organized and I think that gives great relief to the guest should any problems arise.

Diano Marina is about a ten minute walk away but walk along the beach if you can, as the road ( like most Italian roads) is dusty and noisy.............and use the train service for visits to Monte Carlo or Genoa as unlike our British trains, they usually run on time.

We thoroughly enjoyed our two weeks at Hotel Gabriella as the location and amenities for a small hotel proved quite perfect.

Stayed: July 2006
11  Thank TYMELYN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diano Marina hotels
1.3 km away
Hotel Delle Mimose
Hotel Delle Mimose
#15 of 44 in Diano Marina
410 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Torino Wellness & Spa
Hotel Torino Wellness & Spa
#2 of 44 in Diano Marina
547 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Virginia
Hotel Virginia
#4 of 44 in Diano Marina
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Hotel Liliana
Hotel Liliana
#1 of 44 in Diano Marina
578 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel Arc en Ciel
Hotel Arc en Ciel
#14 of 44 in Diano Marina
207 reviews
0.1 km away
Grand Hotel Diana Majestic
Grand Hotel Diana Majestic
#9 of 44 in Diano Marina
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gabriella? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gabriella

Address: Via Dei Gerani 9, 18013 Diano Marina, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Province of Imperia > Diano Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Diano Marina
#2 Family Hotel in Diano Marina
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Diano Marina
Price Range: ₹ 8,142 - ₹ 18,824 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gabriella 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed and managed directly by the owners, located right on the sea, in the centre of Gulf of Diano Marina, surrounded by the green of a vast garden.From the hotel there is a direct access to the private beach of fine sand and equipped with every comfort: sun-decks, umbrellas and sun loungers reserved for each room, paddle boats and canoes at no charge, indoor games area (children's games, bowls, beach-volleyball, soccer). Between the hotel and the beach, surrounded by a large solarium, has been recently built a large fresh water pool, heated and with whirlpool.The breakfast buffet is served in a charming patio by the pool, in a relaxed atmosphere enhanced by the sight of the sea. In the garden of the Hotel there is a large private parking, with reserved space for each room and completely free.A well equipped bar, reading rooms, games room, TV room, Internet Point, free WiFi throughout the hotel and a spacious dining room provide the most demanding customers. In addition, a small kitchen is available to mothers who wish to prepare the meals for their children by themselves . All rooms, accessible by lift, are equipped with bathroom, balcony, air conditioning, mini bar, telephone, electronic safe, free WiFi, TV with satellite channels,Sky channels and Info-channel. On the third floor there is a large rooftop terrace with solarium.The cuisine is exquisite, with international menu, specialties of Gulf of Diano Marina and local courses accompanied by a choice of high quality wines.Hotel Gabriella is situated in a very quiet area, just 500 meters from the city center. The bikes, available for free, allow guests to go to the center without using the car and appreciate the characteristic hinterland of Diano Marina. Moreover is possible to rent a small personalized Smart car. Kindness and courtesy of the owners and staff complete the pleasure of a stay at Hotel Gabriella. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Gabriella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gabriella Diano Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing