We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Hotel at Reasonable Prices in the Beautiful Dolomites”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Argentina
Ranked #11 of 50 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Brilliant Hotel at Reasonable Prices in the Beautiful Dolomites”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We returned to the Argentina for our ninth visit and the hotel simply gets better and better. It has a really fantastic location and offers outstanding value in this quite expensive area. The hotel continues to be particularly suitable for families as children are made very welcome, and the hotel is located right on the slopes and normally has very convenient ski in/ski out access.
For the first time in nearly ten years of skiing in the Dolomites there was a shortage of snow this year which made it impossible to ski back to the hotel in the evening. Although this was frustrating the problem could be solved by either using the ski bus or driving 2 kilometres up the road to Son dei Prade . Skis etc. can be hired on the premises and lift passes can be arranged by reception. The staff, particularly on reception, couldn’t be more friendly and welcoming and go out of their way to be as helpful as possible.
The bedrooms, which are decorated in typically alpine style have been fitted with new double glazed windows, and are cosy and comfortable. The beds are particularly comfortable with good quality bed linen with proper sheets, blankets and quilts. Bathrooms are spotless with either a bath or shower. The rooms are serviced each morning by a hard working and efficient team of maids and bed linen is changed frequently.
Virtually free Wi-Fi is available and works in all parts of the hotel including the bedrooms.
The restaurant and food quality have improved notably since last year and on most nights a very acceptable meal is provided with a good choice of dishes. Wines are competitively priced and a good bottle of wine costs around €16. Breakfasts continue to be good and now a hot dish is available together with the usual choice of bread, cheese, cold meats and cereals.
Overall then I am glad to report that the hotel continues to impress and can’t recommend it highly enough for a skiing holiday at reasonable prices in breathtaking mountain scenery.

Room Tip: Some of the single rooms are small. Try asking for a larger room if you intend staying longer than a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jcbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnsello, Owner at Hotel Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Dear Sir,thank's very much for the time that you dedicated to review our Hotel.
We are very happy to know that there are guests that return every year,and appreciate what we do every off season to improve,and it's thank's to review like yours that we can be better and better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    149
    45
    17
    11
See reviews for
104
90
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Stayed here for a week in January 2012 with my better half. The location is stunning but beware - it is a 10 min bus trip from Cortina village and the buses are not very frequent. As soon as we entered our room there was the unmistakable odor of cigarettes. It was so bad the smell actually irritated our throats and eyes. The rooms were very basic and run down and the decor certainly needs sprucing up. Surprisingly, the mattress was actually nice and firm. The shower in the morning was terrible with the temperature of the water being lukewarm. Food served in the main restaurant for breakfast and dinner was appalling. The "coffee" was probably the most disgusting excuse for a coffee I have ever had the misfortune of tasting. Having said that the bar at the front of the hotel was actually quite good. The staff at the bar served a reasonably wide variety of drinks with efficiency and friendliness. Overall however, there are better places to stay in the Dolomites. Could easily be improved but at the moment, unfortunately, not recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sylvester1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnsello, Owner at Hotel Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Dear Sir,i'm very sorry about what happened during your stay at Hotel Villa Argentina,i try to give some answer,about room with odor of cigarettes,i don't know if you asked for a no-smoking room,in any case we was ready to chenge your room.About the decor of the rooms,we are doing some renovations every off season,also in this case we was ready to up grade you if this was asked during your stay.I respect but i don't agree about what you wrote about the quality of the food,during breakfast time you can choose beetwen regular coffee or espresso,regarding the food i don't know what you was expecting to have,we have always good reviews about food.In any case i thankyou again for your time and for sure we will follow your suggestions to improve our Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We stayed here for a conference and overall were happy with the experience. The hotel is ringed by beautiful mountains and is out of the hustle and bustle of Cortina. The staff were helpful and friendly. The rooms are typical European mountain style - full of charm but a little dated in decor, and the bathroom had a bath with a hand-held shower hose. Everything was very clean and the room service daily was great. Breakfast was wonderful, and the evening meals were generally good but varied a little in quality from night to night. Still good value at the hotel meal prices. The bar was a great place to hang out after skiing. The ski hire and storage was conveniently in the hotel basement. It would normally have been so good to ski in and ski out from here BUT - the run outside the hotel was closed (we were told it was because of World Cup preparations elsewhere), so it meant a bus trip to and from any ski field. This was extremely frustrating when we had booked the hotel because it was ski-in-out. The other disadvantage which would always be inconvenient is that buses to Cortina stop in the early evening, meaning taxi trips are necessary to go out to dinner in Cortina at night. But I would stay here again for the advantages of the location and its charm.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrisbaneAlison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnsello, Owner at Hotel Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Dear guest,sorry for this late answer,i whant to thankyou very much for your kind review,its very nice that you find some minutes to talk about us,and i'm very happy that you look at our Hotel talking about the good things and also about the things that we have to improve,it's thank to review like yours that we can always triyng to be better and better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Avoid this hotel. The rooms are one step up from dorm rooms and the food is horrendous! Have the free breakfast if you must but avoid the dinners at all costs. The hotel is at least 6km out of town and you are at the mercy of the taxi drivers or the city bus schedule if you want to shop or eat in Cortina. Try the Bellevue or the Savoy instead but do not stay here.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeattlePackerfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnsello, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 12 February 2012
Dear guest thank's very much for your recension about our Hotel it was really sad to read it we do our work onestly and we put our face day by day in what we do,i answer you with a comment that we recived on the same web site only 3 days befor yours,we hope you enjoy your next stay @ a superior class Hotel,@ a superior price for arrogant people like you

“good location in the mountains”
Recensita il 5 gennaio 2012
Location of the hotel was really nice, good view of the mountains. The food was really good. The people were really nice. The rooms were alright. Ski area was really close by
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, WA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Location of the hotel was really nice, good view of the mountains. The food was really good. The people were really nice. The rooms were alright. Ski area was really close by

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myth927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnsello, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 23 December 2012
Dear guest thank you very much for your review,it's nice to read that everithing was in the right way.looking forward to welcome you again in Pocol-Dolomites we wish you all the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortina d'Ampezzo hotels
2.7 km away
Hotel Natale
Hotel Natale
#2 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
2.8 km away
Cristallo, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
Cristallo, a Luxury Collection R...
#1 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
2.5 km away
Hotel Alaska Cortina
Hotel Alaska Cortina
#12 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Hotel Meuble Villa Neve
Hotel Meuble Villa Neve
#7 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
3.6 km away
Columbia Hotel
Columbia Hotel
#15 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
2.5 km away
Hotel Bellevue Suites & SPA
Hotel Bellevue Suites & SPA
#22 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Argentina? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Argentina

Property: Hotel Villa Argentina
Address: Localita Pocol, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#14 Family Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,172 - ₹ 10,860
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Argentina 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Argentina Hotel is a place of long-standing tradition thanks to its excellent service. Provided with all modern comforts, situated in the pleasant resort of Pocol, on the famous way to the Dolomites, surrounded with meadows and forests of conifers, it is the ideal place for a quiet and joyful stay, in summer as well as in winter. From the Hotel it is possible to reach directly the up-hill facilities and all the ski-slopes of the Tofana, the World Cup slopes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Argentina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Argentina Italy/Province Of Belluno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing