We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal all the way!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa d'Este

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa d'Este
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Royal all the way!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

This Luxurious Hotel speaks Royalty!


Evereything is Cream de la Cream, done with elegance and fine class.

The rooms, service, gardens, food, all super fine!
Great place to get away!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,002
    128
    56
    23
    12
See reviews for
217
594
27
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
165 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Just returned from Villa d'Este. Wonderful hotel where the service was fantastic. Sparkling wine on arrival, easter egg on Easter Sunday and farewell biscuits in the room with a note thanking us for our custom. May not sound a lot but it is the little touches that makes the difference. Big room (we were on 3rd floor overlooking courtyard). Service was impeccable, nothing too much trouble. Breakfast was to die for. We ate in the hotel 4 nights. The first 2 were at The Grill and were fine the 3rd & 4th at the 'posher' Veranda. The first night there was a bit disappointed with the venison but had been spoilt at the Lime Wood in Lyndhurst. The last night had the chefs recommendations - fish and it was fab. It is expensive - 2 coffee's a brandy and port 85 euros but it is a top end hotel and service doesn't come cheap so you should expect to pay. Used the spa and had a brilliant facial one of the best I have ever had. Actually came out feeling better than when I went in, face didn't feel tight and 'peeled' as has done in some spas! Sporting facilities were great too - proper 20 metre indoor pool, not an excuse for a pool as in a lot of hotels. Gym good (if a little warm). Didn't use outside pool as wasn't open yet. Grounds are lovely and relaxing. Couple of picky points - it says jogging track - well only if you are a mountain goat. The 14 year old was still in training for Virgin mini marathon and would have needed climbing gear to use it. And very picky I know but the beds were a little hard. Have been to other hotels where they use a mattress topper and it is so much better. On the whole lovely experience.

Room Tip: Was on third floor executive courtyard room so not the most expensive but lovely. Booked with Citali...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YellowJellyBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
136 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

I decided to spend my birthday at Villa d'Este and did not regret it. It was a once-in-a-liftetime experience. We were staying on the 1st floor not far away from the spa I found it very convenient. We had a partial view on the lake and a great view on the mosaic which we found even much better especially at night.

I had a lovely card and a bottle of Champagne from the GM the day of my birthday.

A special mention for Maestro Dino Siano the excellent pianist who made my stay so special !!

In conclusion:

The -

We did not find our experience at the restaurant in terms of food that great. We found it was expensive for what it was and pretty much "flat tasting". We were expecting something else especially for such a place. However service was great and the dining room lovely. There was a reception and the Veranda restaurant was not available but we really enjoyed having dinner in the Sala Impero. The hotel kindly informed us 3 weeks prior to arrival about this and we appreciated it.

They should print new post card. They look so old. However, in the whole Como Lake it was difficult to find really nice bright post cards and guides. How come they do not take advantage of such a beautiful spot to print great post cards, especially when the hotel have great brochures.

Access to the indoor pool from outside is not very obvious.


The ++

We love:

The toiletries
The outstanding top notch service!!!!
The exceptional bed linen with the coat of arms
Great service at the spa
The daily newsletter "Buon Giorno"

Grazie Mille Villa d'Este. We will come back

Room Tip: I prefer the room with both view on the lake and the fabulous garden (mosaic). At night it is so bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MicheleParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Villa D'Este is a stunning hotel in a gorgeous setting. We traveled here with 12 people for 5 nights, and every room was beautiful, spacious, and comfortable with amazing balcony views.

They well deserve the ratings they have received as the top management and the concierge desk in particular were extremely helpful. The gentlemen in the bar area were always jovial and outgoing, and the live music created a romantic atmosphere.

There was an issue with the maid service dramatically re-arranging items in the room and an article of clothing gone missing, but management was quick to jump on the issue and I trust that there will be resolve.

The only other reason for a 4 rating instead of 5 would be some of the restaurant staff. Our group made up a large part of total guests during the time we were there, but this didn't seem to merit attentive service. Considering the group size and differences of personal taste we ordered our wine individually by the glass, and perhaps this is the reason the sommelier turned his nose up at us. I didn't appreciate the sarcastic comments after having to call him over (there were a total of maybe 4 tables that night- ours the largest) to ask for a refill when my glass had been empty for a good 15 minutes. Last time I checked a glass per course if pretty standard.

I do want to stress how helpful and friendly the concierge desk was. My boyfriend and I travelled to Florence for a day to see some friends, and they helped with the train schedule and set up a driver to pick us up in the morning and again in Milan late at night. Getting back would have otherwise been a nightmare and this service was greatly appreciated.

I would most definitely return!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ecadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
114 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

I was a little nervous to go after other reviews. We were there off season and it was not crowded so we were more than welcomed. The service was great and the glass enclosed room with the view of Lake Como almost make up for the price. Plan on spending at least $300 for 2.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank micheleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cernobbio
19.4 km away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
21.3 km away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
20.8 km away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 km away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
2.4 km away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel Villa Flori
Hotel Villa Flori
#5 of 33 in Como
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa d'Este? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa d'Este

Property: Villa d'Este
Address: Via Regina 40, 22012 Cernobbio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Cernobbio
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cernobbio
Price range (per night): ₹ 37,759 - ₹ 1,06,780
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa d'Este 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the splendor, the grandeur, the intrigue and the magic of Villa d'Este- an opulent hotel overlooking glorious Lake Como. Hailed as one of the best hotels in the world by Travel & Leisure, Condé Nast Traveler and Forbes Traveler, this famous resort destination has been widely praised for its beautiful gardens, exquisite cuisine, gala celebrations, impeccable décor and extraordinary hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa d'Este reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa d`Este Hotel Cernobbio
Hotel d Este
d Este Hotel Cernobbio
Villa Deste Lake Como
Villa D'Este Cernobbio, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing