We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but great location and nice atmosphere”
Review of Casanova

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casanova
Ranked #58 of 65 Cefalu B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We stayed in room Vincent, next to the terrace open for all visitors of the b&b. The room was tiny but very lovely. From the bed we had seaview, from the bathroom view on the duomo and the nearby lighthouse. Nothing fancy in the room, but enough storage place, a minibar (to keep your own waters cold), a couple of chairs and a tiny but workable bathroom. Parking is difficult. But in any European city parking will be difficult if you want to sleep in the city center.... We stayed at Casanova only one evening before departing to the airport. But we wished we would have been there longer!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tliebregts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2011

We had a 1 night stay in Cefalu and really liked this B&B. It was easy to find once we parked the car on the big grassy area near the beach esplanade - cost was EUR10 for 24 hours which was fantastic. The rooms are located on the top of an old apartment building and there are a number of stairs to climb but that's Italy really and we didn't have a problem doing this.

Our room was upgraded to the Triple and it was HUGE with a really high ceiling complete with fresco painting. There were little Juliet balconies that overlooked the main streets below, great for drying clothes!! The room also had a mini bar with good prices. The bathroom was nothing flash but adequate and the bed was basic but comfortable enough. The two guys who run the B&B were excellent and provided assistance when needed and offered advice on dining etc. Breakfast is served on a terrace that overlooks the sea and you pretty much help yourself to the normal "continental" dishes on offer.

Cefalu is great to visit and we thoughly enjoyed the beach, browsing the streets of the old town and dinner on a deck overhanging the sea. It was well worth the stop and this B&B was very good value.

I would recommend this property to able-bodied people who are looking for a good budget nights accommodation. It does have a bit of a hostel feel about it but we are in our 50's and we loved the experience.

Room Tip: The large room with the ceiling fresco
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gem14Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Me and my partner stayed 5 nights in the Azzurra room. It was nice and spacious room with a queen bed and a double bed. We had a tiny balcony (just room for standing) over looking the sea (as well as french doors in the bathroom with a nice sea view as well). The bathroom was spacious with two sinks and two showers.

We had an ant problem the first two nights (I killed most of them) and they did not return after that. I can only assume that the prior people staying in the room must have eaten in here to attract them. We had no problems after the second night.

The breakfast is typical for a European bed and breakfast, hard boiled eggs, toast and jam, cereal, a sweet tart and some fresh fruit of the season. Breakfast is served from 8 to 10. Eat early, because once something is out, it isn't replenished.

The property has free wifi which is important to us. It worked well, and we had no problems. The bathroom had it's own hot water heater, so we never had a problem with hot water.

We enjoyed Cefalu and we enjoyed our stay at the Casanova B&B.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dallasboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

Not fancy, more a B&B/hostel than a hotel, but location is incredible. Service is great, and English is spoken. We made our reservations en route about an hour and a half before arriving and the gentleman on the phone was very polite. Arrival took longer than expected because of a festival in town but he kindly waited for us to arrive and helped us with parking.

Good shower, with plenty of hot water. We loved our room, 'Vincent', with views of sea and 'the rock' La Rocca and the big church in town.

FYI--You will have to climb three or four flights of stairs, so if you have a disability this will be a concern. Otherwise, able-bodied people will find this a haven.

Breakfast is nothing to speak of. You are given Euros to buy one coffee per person per day out of the vending machine. However, the view for breakfast is absolutely gorgeous so just enjoy it.

Another reviewer made a comment that bed was not changed, but in defense of the establishment a list of rules is posted in the room in English and Italian that states that linens and sheets are changed every third day. This may not be everyone's idea of luxury, but it is clearly posted, and was not a problem for us, as we only stayed two nights.

In short, we are dying to return to Cefalu, and we would definitely stay at Casanova again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShelleyandLenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

This bed and breakfast is located right on the water, and the sound of the breakers at night adds to the experience of Cefalu. The room we had was large, but the bed was not made up after the first night, and the breakfast was store bought and cellophane wrapped croissants and machine made coffees, although we were given money for two cappuccino.

However, the owner was extremely helpful, even picking us up at a pizzeria, when we got lost the first evening and helping us find a parking spot, which was not easy.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kwasir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cefalu hotels
0.1 km away
Ammaresiamo
Ammaresiamo
#32 of 63 in Cefalu
30 reviews
4.4 km away
B&B La Finestra sul Parco
1.4 km away
Le Calette Garden & Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Hotel Alberi Del Paradiso
1.6 km away
Hotel Kalura
Hotel Kalura
#8 of 36 in Cefalu
773 reviews
4.4 km away
Hotel Baia del Capitano
Hotel Baia del Capitano
#13 of 36 in Cefalu
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casanova? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casanova

Address: Via Porpora 3, 90015 Cefalu, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Cefalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Cefalu
Price Range: ₹ 2,907 - ₹ 3,811 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casanova 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casanova Rooms and Apartment to rent has Liberty style rooms, situated in the historical center of Cefalù. A lovely terrace with sea view is available to customers. The property is located few minutes from the beach, as well as close to the main monuments of the city. We speak italian, english, french and swedish Welcome to b&b Casanova! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Casanova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casanova Cefalu, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing