We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Food in Tuscany”
Review of Tavola di Guido

Tavola di Guido
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 62 - US$ 79
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: In Guido Haverkock we have an outstanding, talented and experienced chef whose passion for food creates a special experience at "TAVOLA di Guido", our garden-terrace restaurant. This welcoming setting is ideal for enjoying his interpretations of classic Italian dishes an sampling the best Tuscan wines selected by our maitre. In his distinctive cuisine, Guido uses only fresh ingredients, mostly organic. The kitchen team bakes our breads, served with our olive oil. The Menu changes every 4 weeks, with daily specials, as well as vegan and vegetarian plates. His love of food, balancing tradition and innovation, is obvious to all, and at the heart of the special experience, we offer. On summer days, the countryside views are stunning, while in the evenings candles and stars add to the romance of the setting. Inside, a wood fire takes the chill off cooler evenings and winter days.
Reviewed 31 July 2018

Not only is Guido the friendliest chef in Tuscany, he is by far the most talented. His creativity is unmatched and each meal is a treat for your tastebuds! From the best homemade pasta, to seafood risotto, to marinated pork chops...I can assure you will never be disappointed!

Thank AshleyB3385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LePiazze, Reception at Tavola di Guido, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Thank You Ashley,

It is very important to know you had a great time with us and we hope to see you soon,

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2018

Our staff retreat was held at Le Piazze for the 4th time & again, all our meals were beautifully prepared by Guido & his staff. During our stay, employees were treated to breakfast, lunch & dinner each day. All food was fresh & was prepared fresh for each & every meal. Food allergies & food preferences were taken into consideration for employees & guests. Special dishes were prepared for those with allergies or for those who had special food preferences. Presentation of plates was impeccable & beautiful. The setting of the property & being able to eat outside under the moon & stars was spectacular, serene & peaceful.

Staff was the best & the service was outstanding. Each & every staff member was knowledgeable of what was being served. Staff was also knowledgeable of wines & recommendations were made with all meals.

I went early to do some sightseeing & ate in other restaurants in the Castellina & Florence area but none compared to the meals we had at Tavola di Guido! Tavola de Guido definitely deserves a Michelin rating!!!

Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LePiazze, Reception at Tavola di Guido, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Dear Lucy,

A big thank you for this amazing review!
We are really happy to know you really enjoy your dinner with us and we really hope to welcome you again very soon.

Warmest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018

This is my 4th time visiting the restaurant with a large group for an event. The service is outstanding, I don't know how they manage to serve everyone in such a timely manner with such perfection and they are very accommodating with special dietary needs. The dishes that I had during this visit were nothing short of amazing, I would definitely recommend this restaurant for anyone looking for memorable meal with a beautiful atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 898emilys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LePiazze, Reception at Tavola di Guido, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Dear Ashley,

Thank you for your great review. We really hope to see you soon,

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2018 via mobile

We visited the restaurant on the last day of our six days trip across Tuscany. It was the best experience and we should come here sooner. Food, wine, staff, setting and the view was fantastic. We had 5 course tasting menu. It definitely deserves Michelin star. They offer also see food which is quite hard to get around Castelina in Chianti. Don’t mind to spend few euros more because it was great experience and well worth of money.

Thank Jernej M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LePiazze, Responsabile reception at Tavola di Guido, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2018

Dear Jernej M,

We are proud to receive such wonderful reviews. The entire staff of Tavola di Guido works very hard to not disappoint our guests' expectations and we are grateful that you really enjoyed your experience at our restaurant.

We hope to have you again as our guests!

Kind regards,
Tavola di Guido Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2018

We booked a table just before lunchtime and immediately left our hotel in Castellina in Chianti to make our way to the restaurant. Unfortunately we left before receiving the directions to the restaurant, and GPS sent us to a similarly-named town about half an hour away. We called the restaurant to say we would make it back just before their last order time of 2pm and they seemed rather reluctant, but said it would be acceptable if we arrived before 2pm. After a hair-raising drive, we arrived at the driveway to the restaurant at 1.55pm only to find it blocked by a large food delivery truck. We called the restaurant again and informed them of our predicament. The line was cut off halfway, however they did call us back 3min later to inform us that the kitchen was now closed. We are astonished that the restaurant has such a poor concept of hospitality.

I had put this bad experience aside and was not going to submit a review, but have had the exact opposite experience at Dal Pescatore recently, so have been motivated to write.

Thank MMSCPSYH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LePiazze, Responsabile reception at Tavola di Guido, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2018

Dear MMSCPSYH,

We are always welcoming feedback from our clients, positive or negative, because they are important to understand ways to improve.

But you have never been a client at Tavola and wrote a review after getting lost in the countryside. Which is not our fault. So we will share our side of the story.

We received your email at 12:39 and we answered within 10 minutes confirming your reservation at 1:30pm and adding driving direction because we know that many GPS take our guests to another restaurant called La Piazza that is 30 minutes far away from us. As we are conscious of this problem, we advise ALL our guests to use Google Maps. However, you never arrived here and you did not inform us of your position.
It is not possible that you found the food truck in front of our property because we reserve for them a second entrance in order to avoid any unpleasant inconvenience. If you made it to our restaurant you should know that for a fact.

As every restaurant, our kitchen is not open 24 hours. We have opening and closing hours but we always welcome our guests even if they arrive after 2:00pm. If you had shown up in front of our restaurant, we would have welcomed you and surprised you with our professional service and the amazing cuisine of our Chef Guido.

Kind regards,
Tavola di Guido Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tavola di Guido also viewed

Castellina In Chianti, Province of Siena
Castellina In Chianti, Province of Siena
 
Castellina In Chianti, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 
Castellina In Chianti, Province of Siena
Castellina In Chianti, Province of Siena
 

Been to Tavola di Guido? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing