We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Borgo di Pietrafitta…as close to perfect as you get!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Borgo di Pietrafitta Relais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Borgo di Pietrafitta Relais
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level Contributor
100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Borgo di Pietrafitta…as close to perfect as you get!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2010

We have stayed at the Pietrafitta two years in a row and have loved everything about it. It is very good value, the apartments are large and beautifully decorated and the kitchens are very good. This year we were there for four nights and cooked gourmet meals every night. Most have private terraces or gardens and you feel like you have your own personal villa. The plus side is that you can stay shorter than a week and not have to work on a Saturday to Saturday rental basis.

Their outdoor furniture including the pool lounges are of a very high quality. None of that cheap plastic furniture here!! They have a large shared infinity pool with a beautiful view of the valley below.

The Borgo is very well managed and the staff are very friendly and helpful. You may buy firewood or BBQ supplies from the office. About once a week they have a wine and cheese tasting where you may buy wine, cheese and salami and while there they give a very informative talk about the vineyards.

The Pietrafitta is 4 kms from Castellina in Chianti and there is very good access to the Racconda making for an easy drive to many of the sights that are favoured including Florence which is only about 45 minutes away. Castellina is a very nice town with some good restaurants for those that don’t want to cook all their meals. Even if you eat out it is nice to have a chilled bottle of wine and some appies the fridge!! My husband being an early riser would drive into Castellina first thing in the morning to pick up croissants at the local bar.

We have been to a couple of good restaurants while staying there. The Tres Porte in Castellina has good pizza and a full menu of steaks, etc. The Osteria Fo at Castello di Fonterutoli only a few kilometres from Castellina has a large outdoor eating area with a good view. The lunch we had was maybe our best meal on our trip (not including our own cooking!). The inside restaurant is a pleasant room. They are open daily at lunch but only on specific nights. We made a second trip to Al Ristorante Podere le Vigne in Radda in Chianti and you can’t beat the ambience when sitting in their outside garden. The vineyard is a matter of feet from you. We found the meal to be on the expensive side. The meal was delicious, the wine great and worth every penny with that beautiful view. It is a view that says “Chianti”!! Their restaurant indoors has a pleasant atmosphere but a word of warning, the restaurant is difficult to find if you haven't been before. If you are coming from Castellina, you pass through Radda and there is a huge vineyard on the right hand side. You will see a small sign and you head down a long dirt road.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Triplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borgopietrafitta, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Borgo di Pietrafitta Relais, responded to this review, 25 November 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great contribution.
I have shared your comments with the rest of the Staff.
It is great to get your feedback so we keep trying doing our best! Arrivederci!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    48
    19
    14
    6
See reviews for
55
109
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waynesville NC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2010

My husband and I stayed here for one week in Sept. As we had visited Castellina previously we were very comfortable with our surroundings. Our apartment was spacious, clean and tastefully decorated. The grounds are immaculate with spectacular views. Roberta and Cinzia were very helpful, offering restaurant suggestions and giving great directions. We definitely would return. It's a great place to relax , too bad one has to come back to reality!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kitchenonmain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2010

The Borgo di Pietrafitta Relais had exceeded our expectation in many ways; but it's definitely NOT perfect. The little villa is truly a home away from home.

First off, try to locate this villa BEFORE your trip. We used a GPS and were lost for over an hour. There were no signage to this villa (or we missed it) on the main roads. Upon check-in, then, we realized that there were no shampoo, no housekeeping, no soap. It was okay; we just didn't expect that considering how much we paid. Nothing to it, we went to the local supermarket to pick up some essentials.

My husband twisted his ankle walking on the cobble stones; the staff were attentive. They did all they could to help. They went to town to get him heated pads and cream. I couldn't ask for better service.

It's a great location for visiting Sienna and local wineries. It's such a great destination (for the food and wine). This is easily one of our favorite vacation spot of all time.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lshopsonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

My husband and I spent 3 nights at Borgo di Pietrafitta Relais for our honeymoon. When we arrived, we were pleasantly surprised, the place exceeded our expectations. Our apartment was beautiful with a full kitchen, comfortable bed and amazing scenery from our room. We immediately grabbed our wine glasses and explored the property. We were in heaven. The pool and grounds are immaculate and serene. A little town was 2 minutes away and we had some wonderful dinners in town. We also did some day trip to Sienna and Volterra. We truly enjoyed our stay and are already planning a return in Sept 2011.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessmetzger1330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2010

I came to Borgo di Pietrafitta with some girlfriends and stayed for the week. The apartments were nice and came with kitchens so you could cook. The rooms were a bit small and did not have air conditioning which made it hard to sleep at night. The pool was amazing! Don't expect anything too fancy - this property is more of an apartment than a hotel (don't expect the same service or for the front desk to be open very long). Also, something to be aware about - villas do not have internet. Overall, it was a great place to sleep, go to the pool, and it was in a great, central location to go exploring around Chianti.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soccerrlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castellina In Chianti
7.3 km away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
8.5 km away
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
#2 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
3.1 km away
Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi
Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi
#4 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 km away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
2.7 km away
Tenuta di Ricavo
Tenuta di Ricavo
#1 of 1 in Ricavo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
2.6 km away
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del Chianti
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del...
#5 of 16 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo di Pietrafitta Relais? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo di Pietrafitta Relais

Property: Borgo di Pietrafitta Relais
Address: Localita Pietrafitta 46, 53011, Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Castellina In Chianti
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,836 - ₹ 17,105
Hotel Class:3 star — Borgo di Pietrafitta Relais 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Borgo di Pietrafitta is situated in the heart of Chianti, between Florence (48 km) and Siena (20 km), in the most beautiful part of Tuscany lying 600 m above sea level, overlooking the amazing Chianti rolling hills. All 15 apartments, recently renovated, welcome travellers to soak in the reassuring charm of tradition that the region provides. We offer you a selection of different apartments: - Small units: self-catering apartments for 2/3 people composed of a living room with fireplace and kitchenette or kitchen, 1 double room, bathroom and equipped with private garden.- Medium units: self-catering apartments for 4/5 people composed of a living room with or without fireplace, kitchenette or kitchen and two double bedrooms. Some of the apartments either offer two bathrooms or equipped private patio. - Large units: self-catering apartments for 5/6 people composed of a large living room with fireplace, kitchen, two double bedrooms, two bathrooms and equipped private garden.All apartments have a private entrance and modern facilities like SAT-TV, washing machine, dishwasher, oven, microwave oven, heating, coffee machine, telephone and fireplace (in select units). Outdoor services: infinity pool with a terrific view over the valley, a private parking place and barbecue area. Other facilities (additional charges apply): bike rental, cooking classes, Vespa tour, wine tours with driver and local wine/oil tasting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Borgo di Pietrafitta Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo Di Pietrafitta Relais Hotel Castellina In Chianti

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing