We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pasta”

Rosticceria Il Re Gallo
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery
Reviewed 1 October 2018 via mobile

We ate here very good ravioli with trufles. Staff unfortunately not very nice and helpful...
In minus really reach beer (5.5 euro, the same in shop cost 1.8 euro...).

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank sebastiand834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,078)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 1,078 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2018 via mobile

Every tiime we go to Castellina in Chianti we always go to Re Gallo for dinner. They have the best selections of pecorino cheese, their meats melt in your mouth and they have a decent wine list. Their waiters are very professional and always suggest the best food. Their menu is not extensive but every item on it is prepared beautifully.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank ItalianExpats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018 via mobile

This is probably my only negative review ever! The cuisine is just OK but the wait staff is very poor! Our hotel reserved for us. We asked for an outside table but they said no. We noted many people eating outside when we left. We were never asked to have a coffee or a dessert. It took over 30+ minutes to receive our bill even though we asked for it twice! And, they were NOT that busy. Skip this place as there are many better places in town.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2018 via mobile

Much enjoyed our meal and the reasonable prices.

Our bruschetta starter was a little basic but generous, and the pasta dishes to follow excellent. I had pappardelle with wild boar sauce (actually similar to a bolognese but more flavoursome) and my wife had ravioloni stuffed with aubergines and a truffle sauce. To follow we shared a fantastic panacotta - the first decent one we have found on this trip.

Whilst we didn’t have the so-called main courses, quite frankly this was a good meal and, with a half litre of drinkable house wine and sparkling water came to 45 Euros.

This place is deservedly popular and you need to book. Service is friendly and prompt, although we were eating early and the place became much busier later.

All in all a really nice little restaurant and we will definitely go again.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank eyespy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

Excellent food
Super friendly personnel, personalised service
You feel at home
Correct prices
Excellent wines
Maitre sommelier en salle

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Kathleen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rosticceria Il Re Gallo also viewed

Castellina In Chianti, Province of Siena
Castellina In Chianti, Province of Siena
 
Castellina In Chianti, Province of Siena
Castellina In Chianti, Province of Siena
 
Castellina In Chianti, Province of Siena
Castellina In Chianti, Province of Siena
 

Been to Rosticceria Il Re Gallo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing