We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Outstanding Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Outstanding Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

When approaching La Medusa down an Italian B road you wonder 'what am I going to'. Do not worry, through the gated entrance the glorious haven is revealed. The lovely yellow and white building is amazing and as soon as you step inside you will see the floors that are beautifully tiled throughout the interior.
The hotel is set in immaculate gardens which may once have been an old orange grove.It is
furnished to a very high standard with spacious communal rooms for guests to use with comfy armchairs. The clean and spacious bedrooms overlook all parts of the garden and some have sea views and views of Mt Vesuvius.There is a lovely swimming pool and sun deck and lots of comfortable outside seating.There are plenty of umbrellas and orange trees for those who like shade.
The 2 dining rooms are well appointed and the food is served by very pleasant and professional staff. The 4th floor dining room has spectacular views over Naples and the bay. The terrace around this restaurant is a true sun trap with comfortable chairs.
Francesco manages a large and able staff very well and nothing is too much trouble whatever your demands may be.
The hotel is 10 minutes from the local train station at Castel a Mare which is served by the hotel courtesy shuttle. From the station you can catch the Napoli- Sorrento train that also serves the Herculaneum and Pompeii archeological sites. Both are within easy walking distance of the stations.
This is a lovely hotel and our 4 day stay was a very pleasant experience, we couldn't fault it at all.

Room Tip: North west rooms are shady and quiet and have a side view of Vesuvius.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john1maskell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dirSorrentoCoastDir, Manager at La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa, responded to this review, 19 December 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking time to write a wonderful review..

Your compliments regarding the level of service and the facilities of the Grand Hotel La Medusa are greatly appreciated.

I am very happy and proud that you liked our location, staff and my person too....

Looking forward to welcoming you again....I wish you ...

a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year 2012.

Warmest regards from..

Francesco Donnarumma
Hotel Manager

and staff of the Grand Hotel La Medusa - Irollo Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    962
    233
    29
    11
    7
See reviews for
286
695
18
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

Fabulous, oh so Italian,the furniture in the bar and lobby very tasteful, fresh flowers everywhere. Francesco and staff amazing nothing was a problem. The manicured garden rooms serene and restful the pool is large clean and sparkling, with wait staff. Our room overlooked the garden and pool. It was comfortable and the bathroom was a generous size. Although is it a couple of ks out of the the village it is only a few minutes away in a taxi or shuttle.We went to Pompeii from here then on to the Amalfi the next day, a great suprise and the pick of our Hotels in Europe. Probably suited to either people with littlies or those with empty nests, not a place teenagers or young couples looking to party.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden/pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fifiwallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dirSorrentoCoastDir, Manager at La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa, responded to this review, 19 December 2011
Dear my Guests,

Thank you very much for your great review and for sharing on Tripadvisor your visit at Grand Hotel La Medusa.

Your lovely words make us very happy and give us new strenght to improve more and more.

Looking forward to welcoming you again....I wish you a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year 2012.

Best regards from Stabiae.

Francesco Donnarumma
Hotel Manager

and staff of Grand Hotel La Medusa - Irollo Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

We recently stayed at Medusa for our honeymoon and we couldn't have been more disappointed. We were suppose to stay for 7 nights but only ended up staying 2 because of our experience.
The hotel is no where near Sorrento. It's nearly a 40 minute drive. Medusa is so close to it's neighbors that you hear dogs barking and children screaming all day and night. Your view is a backyard and chained up dog. There isnt much close by and when you make it to town, you are in a local shipyard.
When we approached the staff about our unhappy stay, they refused to issue a refund and we ended up paying the full amount, although we only stayed for 2 nights.
Do yourself a favor, learn from our mistakes and go to Sorrento. With the outrages prices the medusa charge you'll find a much better place near the beach in Sorrento.
The Medusa is nothing more than a glorified backyard.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MrBdowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dirSorrentoCoastDir, Manager at La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa, responded to this review, 16 October 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for choosing our property and for sharing your opinion on Tripadvisor as you have threatened.
I wish to remind everyone that Tripadvisor was created to provide advice to travelers but is not to be used as “blackmail”.

Our guests are usually satisfied as you can see on Tripadvisor itself and they are sincere.

I am sorry that something during your stay has not been satisfying. We always try to do our best to make people feel at home and in 99% of the case we succeed. Sometimes unfortunately not.

I wish to offer my point of view on some points of your review also to give better information to other guests:

-All the world knows that the Grand Hotel La Medusa is 16 km away from the center of Sorrento and it is connected to Sorrento by train and it arrived in 15 minutes and it run each 20 minutes (price € 2,00). The hotel is connected to the train station/centre by public bus (stop just outside main entrance), by walk (20 minutes), by taxi (€ 10,00)and by our free shuttle bus. Information of our shuttle bus is on the website too. It run 6/7 times per day to the train and 6/7 times back to the hotel and it still covers 90% of our guests needs.

-About the town and “””local shipyard…I like to inform that Castellammare di Stabia is a pleasant, modern, nice city. It is one of the most important cities in Campania and it has still preserved a human quality that enthrals all the visitors. Here, the Kings of Naples, used to spend their holidays (Villa Quisisana) throughout the centuries. And some of Italy's most famous and glorious ships ( like Amerigo Vespucci ), have been launched in its shipyards. Castellammare di Stabia lies next to the ancient Roman city of Stabiae, which was destroyed by the Vesuvio eruption in AD 79. The name of Castellammare di Stabia immediately and inevitably calls to mind its spas. The 28 springs of mineral waters (which belong to two types: chlorinated-sodium waters and sulphurous and ferruginous waters) are an unending gift of Nature and are utilized in two spas. The varied chemical composition of the waters and their pharmacological actions offer the possibility to have, within the same building, effective thermal treatments for numerous and diverse diseases.

In Castellammare di Stabia, where holiday means health, the waters, besides being taken as a drink, are successfully employed for tub and mud baths, for inhalations and skin beauty treatment.
Castellammare has several interesting monuments:

• The castle that gives the name to the town Castrum ad Mare.
• Palazzo Farnese, the town hall seat and of the civic museum.
• Reggia di Quisisana, residence of Charles I d'Angiò
• Scoglio di Rovigliano, the fortress built in 1564 to defend town from Saracen pirates.
• Arco di San Catello, an arch in ancient town of XIV century and one of the symbol of the town
• Piazza Orologio, a beautiful square
• Piazza Fontana Grande, an important square in the heart of the town, at the feet of the hill on which there is the castle. It is near the port.
• Antiquarium Stabiano or archaeological museum, it contains the findings from the excavations of the ancient Stabiae.
• Cathedral, it was built on the former building destroyed by an earthquake and was completed in 1643.

Castellammare has several restaurant, wine-bar, ice cream shop, beach, important wear shops, local market, monuments, archaeology place, ecc....

-About night noise outside and far of the hotel I have to tell that Stabiae is usually calm and quiet, the position perfect for stay out of the crowd and traffic and to enjoy wonderful views of Vesuvio or the bay of Naples. During the very high season (in summer time) the kids who lives in a villa near the hotel enjoy till late at night (after dinner) and during the day too. It is something we cannot manage (only police can do something) but luckily it is limited to a short period when the school are closed…..About the dog (..not our dog..) it was sick…This is why I personally offered , complimentary, a room on an higher floor because we understand people desire to stay in peace during their holidays.

-About paying for the “full amount” you spend …IT IS NOT TRUE (I charged only n.02 extra nights penalty as agree with your tour operator.)Because I wish to inform you that as you booked (n.07 nights) through an operator it was not in my authority to refund money on the spot..and not correct for other guests.
Usually I try to find a solution which is acceptable for “hotel and guests” and as my character I agreed to accept from your t.o. only n.02 extras nights like penalty .
If third parties (tour operator and travel agent) are involved we cannot decide by ourselves and we must respect the policy cancellation too. We regret that you didn't give us chance despite my offers.

Finally we are sorry you didn't enjoy your time here. Probably you were looking for a property right in Sorrento centre and probably to pay for late cancellation really made you upset. For both problems in my opinion you should be upset more with your agent than with the hotel.

I hope you will come back in Castellammare di Stabia in the future anyway.

Regards from
Francesco Donnarumma
Hotel Manager

and all the staff of the Grand Hotel La Medusa – Irollo Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

Once again all the staff at La Medusa made our stay wonderful, it really is like visiting the family. We look forward to visiting again early next year.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank guglielmo2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dirSorrentoCoastDir, Manager at La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa, responded to this review, 26 October 2011
Dear my special, special Guests,

Thank you very much for your great review and for sharing on Tripadvisor your third visit in these years... WOW!!
We are really really proud for your fidelity.

Your lovely words make us very happy and give us new strenght to improve more and more.

I hope to see you soon for the fourth visit... and I wish also to inform you that 2012 rates are already on line (and very attractive NOW) and that special discounts/upgrades are available for our repeaters guests.

Grazie mille da tutta la family...la familgia!!!
we wish to welcome you back soon.

Best regards from Stabiae.

Francesco Donnarumma
Hotel Manager

and staff of Grand Hotel La Medusa - Irollo Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

This hotel was fantastic! The rooms were great, very nice and clean; the gardens and pool were great too! The staff was very welcoming and friendly, very helpful. The only negative to this hotel was the location- there is a car ride to the train station. You can set up for a free shuttle through the hotel, which is nice. Also, the train stop is a popular one, so even at night when they skip some towns, they do stop at this one. We stayed at this hotel on the first part of the honeymoon, and it was perfect because we were able to relax, but also get out a little. The breakfast was great- I must say this place had the best coffee I have ever had- it far beat out all the places we stayed on our 3 week honeymoon!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmw419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dirSorrentoCoastDir, Manager at La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa, responded to this review, 16 October 2011
Dear my valid guest,

I wish to thank you for choosing our property for your holidays and for sharing your positive experience on Tripadvisor.

Grand Hotel La Medusa is not in the centre. The position is perfect for stay out of the crowd and traffic and to enjoy wonderful views of Vesuvio or the bay of Naples too.

The hotel is connected to the centre or to the train station by public bus (stop just outside main entrance), by walk (10 minutes), by taxi (only € 10,00) and by our free shuttle bus.

I look forward to welcome you back in Castellammare di Stabia soon.... with family :)

I have deals avaialble NOW for next year 2012 and of this season (October-November-December) reservations....on our web-site.

Best regards from

Francesco Donnarumma
Hotel Manager
and all the staff Grand Hotel La Medusa - Irollo Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castellammare Di Stabia
1.5 km away
Hotel Miramare Stabia
Hotel Miramare Stabia
#2 of 15 in Castellammare Di Stabia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
4.1 km away
Towers Hotel Stabiae Sorrento Coast
Towers Hotel Stabiae Sorrento Co...
#4 of 15 in Castellammare Di Stabia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
2.9 km away
Grand Hotel La Sonrisa
Grand Hotel La Sonrisa
#1 of 1 in Sant'Antonio Abate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#3 of 15 in Castellammare Di Stabia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
2.6 km away
Relais Manfredi
Relais Manfredi
#5 of 15 in Castellammare Di Stabia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Stabia
Hotel Stabia
#9 of 15 in Castellammare Di Stabia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa

Property: La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa
Address: Via Passeggiata Archeologica 5, 80053 Castellammare Di Stabia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Castellammare Di Stabia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Castellammare Di Stabia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Castellammare Di Stabia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Castellammare Di Stabia
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,453 - ₹ 25,233
Hotel Class:4 star — La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Superior four-star Hotel is a romantic villa "fin de siecle" made up of 49 rooms, whose restoration is constantly in balance between the respect for the past and the influence of contemporary style.A unique and authentic place made ​​of beautiful old trees and surrounded by green surfaces, that admires the spectacular Bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius.On one hand, the common areas, characterized by an unmistakable style and a wonderful elegance, which completely respect the important classical style of the structure; on the other hand, the rooms, a continuous alternation of contemporary and classical Design.A Hotel, on its own, marked by a deeply individual style where the care for details, quality and hospitality represents the common denominator.The ceramics of Amalfi Coast hand-painted with an exclusive design, the antique furniture and tapestries characterize the lobby, the bar and the restaurant situated on the ground floor of the hotel; so quiet places, that make possible living in a private and protected dimension... Where each detail becomes a pleasure to be relished. The huge glass windows in Liberty Style divide the building from the secular park: an explosion of flowers and colours, a wide open-air sitting-room completely equipped with chaise-longue, easy-chairs and gazebos; an unforgettable atmosphere beyond every expectation.Around the park full of flowers, the outside Fitness Corner represents an opportunity to keep oneself fit in an uncontaminated and healthy environment; the wellness swimming-pool with geysers, the sun beds, the large solarium represent an occasion of certain and pleasant relax. From here just a step to get to the Pool Bar for an aperitif, and another for sipping a vintage wine at the outside restaurant Il Gazebo & Le Terrazze in the middle of the citrus grove.Here the Chef suggests a refined, precious Mediterranean and International cuisine, a perfect balance among tastes, smells and colours.Excellent services like a Mercedes shuttle bus to the city centre or the close beaches, the free parking, the opportunity to rent a yacht or book private excursions and much more... Will make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Castellammare Di Stabia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing