We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So many better restaurants”
Review of Bistrot

Bistrot
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 17 - US$ 34
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 15 September 2017

We looked forward to eating here and were disappointed. We never really knew when it was actually open, because hours are not posted. One day we went by hoping to eat there based on reviews from Trip advisor, and while the gate us up, the lights were off and the door locked.

The service was slow, despite only 3 tables of customers. We were the second table to arrive and we received meals last. After a wait for my meal, I was told they were out of the meal I had ordered. Shouldn't the waiter know that ahead of time?
The portions too large. Appetizers were meal-sized, so don't go with the idea of an appetizer, first and second course. The food was adequate at best.Disappointing meal.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nauasumom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

Fantastic food, service and value for money. Situated in a back street just off the promenade. Authentic Italian. Well worth visiting

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank Marlo62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

Surprised to find the place empty tonight when the streets were so busy but we stopped as a family of 3 for a lovely meal. My mum is vegan and they made a special effort of a tasty tomato gnocchi dish for her and my dad and I had seabass which was perfect. Lovely local wine and highly recommend the pistachio cheesecake! And at the end of all that a surprisingly un-pricey bill. They even made a huge effort to call a taxi for us to get us home safely because of all the crazy traffic... Thank you so much!

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank TroyandAbed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2016

€9 added on for bread & service charge. Steak tough but replaced. Overpriced so much added that's not ordered.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank merridalemisst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gaetano c, Proprietario at Bistrot, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2016

From Gaetano Chef owner,
You ordered: 2 beers, 6 Eur + grilled fish and grilled meat for 28 Eur + side dish 3 Eur + in bill included cost for two people of 4 Eur (coperto) and while waiting for grill dishes we presented few shrimps and after you asked for bill in the waiting moment we presented a free dessert for each of you! Dear sirs we finally asked for a total of 40 Eur bill ( we rounded down -1 Eur as discounted); now, dear clients, please don't bother in writing and reading then because our waiter surprisingly found extra 25 Eur on deserted table, after you left without saying goodbye and trying also to follow you in streets hoping to give you the extra money you left in!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

Do not leave Stabia without eating here. We were too tired on our first day and so fell out of our hotel into this restaurant. Cue excellent food, most people eating here are locals - my two year old was treated like a princess. So good that we went back and were so sorry to be leaving this wonderful chef and place behind

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank 498clareb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bistrot also viewed

Castellammare Di Stabia, Province of Naples
Castellammare Di Stabia, Province of Naples
 
Castellammare Di Stabia, Province of Naples
Castellammare Di Stabia, Province of Naples
 
Castellammare Di Stabia, Province of Naples
Castellammare Di Stabia, Province of Naples
 

Been to Bistrot? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing