We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seems tailor-made for cyclists (in summer, and probably skiers in winter)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Genzianella
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Bormio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2017

We stayed here 2 nights explicitly so we could do the Stelvio Pass in our Tesla, and in that respect it did not disappoint. When we arrived the place was swarming with lycra-clad cyclists all apparently there for the same reason as us. Our room was not bad: standard-issue pine-clad walls, and it had a small sitting area and a nice balcony, but it could have benefited from more light. Good wakl-in shower, let down by the fact that until you've worked it out you'll probably soak the towels on the rail. The food is hearty rather than gourmet, which is presumably what this hotel's target audience (cyclists, bikers, skiers) needs. Not a bad formula for dinner: amuse-bouche, choose your 1st and second courses, go and help yourself from a good salad table, eat said 1st and second courses, help yourself to chesse and/or dessert. No problems with the quantities although the pasta and main courses don't qualify as fine dining.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bullshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,053)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 1,053 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2017

It had been a number of years since I last visited Bormio and the Hotel La Genzianella, so in late Aug./early Sept. 2017 I stayed for 11 nights as a solo traveller/cyclist.

All the public areas of the hotel are all very nicely appointed, stylish and spotlessly clean. My third floor dual-single room faced the mountains rather than the beautiful town of Bormio. It was lovely, being well laid out with high quality furnishings, including two very comfortable beds. WiFi was reliable. All the rooms are serviced daily by the cleaners.

Breakfast is really good. Good breakfasts are a must for cyclists and the hotel clearly appreciates this. The environment is very nice. Just about everything you could wish for is available in the buffet breakfast which the staff maintain. All of it is high quality produce. Some nice touches include local butter (superb) and organic local honey still in the honeycomb.

Dining is a delightful experience in the Hotel La Genzianella. The food is truly brilliant. Every evening after a tough day on the bike, it was very nice to know you will eat a superb meal, delivered by friendly staff in a relaxing comfortable environment with a very international mix of visitors.

For cyclists, the bike storage facilities are great and the hotel is within close proximity of many famous mountain passes, so it’s an absolutely superb location.

Now all this is great, but in my view it’s the service where this hotel really excels. First and foremost is the friendliness of the staff, who were all consistently excellent throughout. The service is always great, but it’s the little impromptu conversations and/or helpful actions from each and every one of the staff that shows you they really care. Collectively this made me feel really welcome and special as a single visitor. I admire them for doing an exceptional job, whilst being happy and approachable throughout.

In summary, Bormio is a brilliant base for a mountainous road cycling holiday. Regardless of the purpose of your visit to Bormio, this hotel ticks all the boxes and does absolutely everything to help you get the most out of your trip. In my view, this hotel is probably as close to perfect as it’s possible to be. I will be returning more often in future years, and if my legs will still carry me up and over the mountains, I intend to return time and time again to this hotel.

Grazie, Hotel La Genzianella!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Roy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

The minute you leave the car park you're made to feel welcome. Through the lovely garden and then greeted with a glass of local apple juice. The balcony was a little disappointing, but we weren't there to sit on the balcony. Comfortable beds, reasonable sized room, great breakfast. No air con if you're there in summer.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MegDav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

Fantastique hotel, excellent service, waaw is the correct word.bike tools available , dry.room, laundry service, afternoon snack Perfect place to start climbing stelvio, gavia, bormio 2000, cancona, mortirollo.

Everything you can think off is available.

Manu thx to let us feel like proriders

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank jonaendezijnen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

With 11 we had an excellent stay in La Genzianella hotel for our bike holiday. Staff was very nice, rooms excellent, diner fabulous, mid-day-bike-snack was a complete lunch.
No effort was too much for the staff, excellent bar-service. Excellent accommodation for bike holidays with daily cleaning service, locked bike room with repair equipment and (as said) mid-day snack.
Breakfast, diner EXCELLENT, quality local specialties.
I will come back ... for sure !!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bormio hotels
1.2 km away
Agriturismo Rini
Agriturismo Rini
#3 of 41 in Bormio
679 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Baita dei Pini
Hotel Baita dei Pini
#4 of 41 in Bormio
888 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel San Lorenzo
Hotel San Lorenzo
#5 of 41 in Bormio
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Rezia Hotel
Rezia Hotel
#15 of 41 in Bormio
343 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Funivia
Hotel Funivia
#10 of 41 in Bormio
507 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Meuble Sertorelli Reit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Genzianella? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Genzianella

Address: Via Zandilla 6, 23032 Bormio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Sondrio > Bormio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bormio
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bormio
#1 Family Hotel in Bormio
#2 Business Hotel in Bormio
Price Range: ₹ 6,567 - ₹ 25,134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Genzianella 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set just few steps from the centre of Bormio and the Bormio 2000 cable-car, this elegant hotel welcomes you in a warm atmosphere blending art of living and Alpine tradition. La Genzianella offers a tastefully decorated guest rooms, all elegantly furnished and equipped with modern amenities and facilities. Great care and attention are taken in the preparation of the hotel menu to make your dining at the Genzianella a wonderful culinary experience. La Genzianella is an official Bike Hotel Alta Rezia and offers special bike facilities for bikers, such as safe storage room and laundry service for sportswear. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel La Genzianella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Genzianella Hotel
La Genzianella Bormio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing