We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place to stay in Bormio”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Genzianella
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Bormio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2017

This was my second trip to La Genzianella, this year returning with a group of 11 cyclists. The first thing that grabs your attention when arriving at the hotel is the genuine warm welcome and the very well presented lounge and bar area, this was just the start and things only get better the more you get to know the hotel and it's very attentive staff. It's a rare treat these days to find a team that are prepared to go out of their way for you to ensure that you have the best possible experience whilst staying at the hotel.

The entire team throughout our stay made us most welcome and ensured the entire week went very smoothly for the entire group. The cycling facilities are superb with the best secure bike storage room we've come across on any of our trips. The bike area is fully equipped with tools and cleaning kit so if you have enough energy left after a hard day in the saddle you can clean an maintain your bike just like being at home or better!

The rooms are modern with very comfortable beds a must after a day on the bike and like everything else in the hotel are spotlessly clean. Breakfast such an important part of a cyclists life was superb with choices for all tastes and plenty of fruit, breads, cereals, eggs and most other things that you'll need to ensure the day ahead is a successful one.

The real highlight of a day at the Genzianella is the evening meal. There's lots of choice for everyone including choices with locally sourced produce and plenty of vegetarian options as well. You'll not go hungry as there's always the very polite question posed "Would you like more!" an option never taken up in our two stays to date. The food in the evening is wonderful.

We are already returning later in 2017 with another group and the staff at the hotel really do set a high standard that we'll aspire to in all of our future cycling tours.

Looking forward to our return in September.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are of a very high standard so just pick the style that best meets your needs
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank robhawk2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,082)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 1,082 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2017

This is my third stay at this beautiful hotel and highly recommend it, especially if you are a cyclist, great bike room, very secure. The rooms are perfect and the breakfast and dinner's are absolutely superb.

Room Tip: Nothing to add all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_S658842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2
Reviewed 24 June 2017 via mobile

We arrived as bike team 28
Gusts with all our bikes and equipments.
The location is perfect in the center of Bormio
Near the Stalvio Experience bike touring
For cyclists .
The Hotel offers one of the generous
Breakfast with all healthy food .
Also high quality chef diner with 4 courses
Best Italian dish .
Every day different menu.
The staff was very very nice all the time
Smiling and ask for all our special needs
Including laundry service for our cycling uniforms.
Nice Bar in the lobby .
And nice garden to relax in the evenings.
No doubt il be back.
Also bike storage room with all the mechanics tools bike washing area ,air pumps and more.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenzianellaBormio, Federica at Hotel La Genzianella, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2017

We really appreciate your words expecially abou the staff, that is the real heart of the hotel. We believe that people can make the difference! :-) Thank you to you and all your kind guests! we love the Australian way of doing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017 via mobile

After spending 4 days here we rate this as a highlight of our 16 day cycling tour. The set-up for cyclists is perfect, with a great bike room, tools and bike wash set-up plus the option to add cycling tours and laundering of kit. We didn't use the tour however talking with other guests the routes they provided were excellent.

The absolute highlight of our stay was the service and food - the dinners were superb with a good variety. Together with pre-dinner drinks in the garden it makes for a beautiful way to end a challenging day of cycling.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Arahura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenzianellaBormio, Federica at Hotel La Genzianella, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2017

Dear Arahura!
thank for the time you dedicated to leave a review.
Next time we wait for you to test the accompanied bike tours with the exceptional team of Stelvio Experience. Take care & ride hard!
Fede

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017

Being greeted at the reception with a glass of fresh apple juice and a bright smile is only the beginning of the surprises.

I stayed there one night, to take part to the Granfondo Stelvio Santini (cycling event).

The courtesy of the staff is beyond imagination. You really feel the passion for their work. The hotel in itself is cosy & modern and the restaurant offers regional elaborate dishes. I could follow my gluten-free diet (if you ask in advance, they can make gluten-free "pizzoccheri"!!) which is a big plus!
The breakfast is hearty : pancakes, eggs & bacon, many different kinds of bread, a selection of cold meats & cheeses, and everything you need... not to mention the honeycomb that you can slice off! I was spontaneously asked if I wanted the "gluten-free basket" consisting of corn-flakes, small cakes, crackers and so forth. The waitress also suggested me some gluten-free pancakes :O ! If this isn't an outstanding service, I don't know what is.

About the facilities, I was very surprised and impressed to have at my disposal, free of charge, a workbench with all the necessary tools to repair and look after my bike. Additionally, you can store your bike in a bike-room closed with a reinforced door.

To sum it up, I was more than happy with this lucky find. I was travelling alone, but never felt the loneliness you might usually feel.

Oh yeah, I'll definitely go back for a longer stay! :)

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefano C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bormio hotels
1.2 km away
Agriturismo Rini
Agriturismo Rini
#3 of 41 in Bormio
702 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Baita dei Pini
Hotel Baita dei Pini
#4 of 41 in Bormio
918 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Funivia
Hotel Funivia
#9 of 41 in Bormio
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Larice Bianco
Hotel Larice Bianco
#1 of 41 in Bormio
356 reviews
0.4 km away
Rezia Hotel
Rezia Hotel
#14 of 41 in Bormio
357 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel San Lorenzo
Hotel San Lorenzo
#6 of 41 in Bormio
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Genzianella? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Genzianella

Address: Via Zandilla 6, 23032 Bormio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Sondrio > Bormio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bormio
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bormio
#1 Family Hotel in Bormio
#2 Business Hotel in Bormio
Price Range: ₹ 10,204 - ₹ 25,431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Genzianella 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set just few steps from the centre of Bormio and the Bormio 2000 cable-car, this elegant hotel welcomes you in a warm atmosphere blending art of living and Alpine tradition. La Genzianella offers a tastefully decorated guest rooms, all elegantly furnished and equipped with modern amenities and facilities. Great care and attention are taken in the preparation of the hotel menu to make your dining at the Genzianella a wonderful culinary experience. La Genzianella is an official Bike Hotel Alta Rezia and offers special bike facilities for bikers, such as safe storage room and laundry service for sportswear. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Hotel La Genzianella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Genzianella Hotel
La Genzianella Bormio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing