We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Big mistake on my reservation!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Genzianella

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel La Genzianella
Ranked #2 of 42 Hotels in Bormio
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Big mistake on my reservation!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

I never got to stay at this hotel. Great many reviews, but I will never know! I normally stay at the Hotel Funivia across the street. However, when making an EARLY booking last Fall, October 2011 for May of 2012 Giro week, I found my favorite Hotel Funivia not open. I wrote to Hotel La Genzianella asking specifically for the dates of May 21-25. I was given an answer from the very friendly "Frederica" that they were indeed open. I sent my credit card info and requested the panorama suite.

When checking for all my hotel confirmations mid-January 2012, I didn't see a final confirmation from the hotel. Unfortunately, when I checked with Frederica, she not only said they had no reservation for me, but they were now not open on the 21st of May. Plus, they were now booked.

I received many confusing excuses, an apology and an offer to help find me a hotel elsewhere.

Unfortunately, I missed the final follow-up with this hotel as I did with my other hotels. At least I followed up early enough to change my plans!

I have no idea how nice this hotel may be and never will know, because the hotel couldn't even take a booking.

I recommend if you stay here, not book too far out in advance and be very diligent in following up even with a confirmation.

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

859 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    774
    75
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
232
296
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

place - perfect - few min to lifts, few minutes to old town by foot..
food - perfect - especially dinner, therefore definetely recommend to have Half Board..
service - perfect - starting from arrangements with other service providers (discounts in rentals, termal baths) to sauna in hotel..
athmosphere - perfect - candles, wooden furniture, people surrounding in the hotel - everything let us feel very warm, comfortable, and we loved staying there despite of just ~40% of slopes were open at that time because of lack of snow..

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erni13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoccarda, Germania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

During December 2011, my brother-in-law and I stayed for 4 nights in this well-kept hotel, in the low-season period before Christmas. We stayed half-board ("mezza pensione") with a pre-Christmas promotion, which included a free ski lift pass for the duration of our stay.

Accommodation:
The lobby is nice and inviting and our room was very clean with comfortable beds, but quite small (so-called "classic" room). The room temperature was rather hot (23°) but lowered after request at the reception desk. The storeroom for ski equipment is fitted with an effective venting/heating installation. I enjoyed the sauna every evening.

Food:
All meals were extraordinary. The day started with an ample breakfast. Excellent coffee accompanies various types of bread, cereals, yoghurt, marmalade, fruit, juices etc. Omelets with bacon are prepared instantly on request.
At night, one longs with appetite for the restaurant doors to open at 7:30 pm. After a refined antipasto, a tasty vegetable buffet bridges for excellent primi and secondi. The kitchen of La Genzianella serves high quality ingredients in an haute-cuisine kind of way. The dinner experience is without doubt above-average.

People:
The hotel is firmly run by an impeccable Italian lady and her three children. All staff is gentle, very polite and very helpful. After an exhausting day on the slopes, we felt quite at home lingering in the lobby.

Overall:
La Genzianella is an immaculate hotel with warmhearted people and outstanding food. It was worth every cent and I can truly say this was the best hotel experience I have ever had.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slabbinckerik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

I could not imagine a friendlier, more comfortable place to stay.

This is a family run hotel, that really treats its guests like royalty.

The rooms are spotless and well appointed. The food in the restaurant, and in the downstairs breakfast room was first rate. The bar near the foyer is comfortable and inviting.

But the highlight of the stay is the wonderful welcome and service you receive from the staff. From the first point of contact (in my case, via email) til the end of your stay, the communication and service is top notch. No request is too complicated.

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough to fellow Tripadvisor readers.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingPeteShow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

We spent a week at the genzianella in August. We would have loved to spend another week there! It felt like a home away from home. Fantastic food and wonderful service, everyone was so willing to make our stay there memorable and always lovely smiling faces!! We will definitely be back! Thanks so much!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maribelle72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bormio hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Larice Bianco
Hotel Larice Bianco
#1 of 42 in Bormio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Funivia
Hotel Funivia
#3 of 42 in Bormio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Baita dei Pini
Hotel Baita dei Pini
#5 of 42 in Bormio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Agriturismo Rini
Agriturismo Rini
#4 of 42 in Bormio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Meuble Sertorelli Reit
0.5 km away
Hotel San Lorenzo
Hotel San Lorenzo
#6 of 42 in Bormio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Genzianella? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Genzianella

Property: Hotel La Genzianella
Address: Via Zandilla 6, 23032 Bormio, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Sondrio > Bormio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bormio
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bormio
#1 Family Hotel in Bormio
#2 Business Hotel in Bormio
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,710 - ₹ 35,997
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Genzianella 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set just few steps from the centre of Bormio and the Bormio 2000 cable-car, this elegant hotel welcomes you in a warm atmosphere blending art of living and Alpine tradition. La Genzianella offers a tastefully decorated guest rooms, all elegantly furnished and equipped with modern amenities and facilities. Great care and attention are taken in the preparation of the hotel menu to make your dining at the Genzianella a wonderful culinary experience. La Genzianella is an official Bike Hotel Alta Rezia and offers special bike facilities for bikers, such as safe storage room and free laundry service for sportswear. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel La Genzianella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Genzianella Hotel
La Genzianella Bormio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing