We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (851)
Filter reviews
851 results
Traveller rating
219
304
193
83
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
219
304
193
83
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gourmet restaurant on arrival privilege room free tea lake garda half board pool area refurbished room every afternoon large bottle of water plenty of sunbeds buffet style reception staff large hotel plenty of choice large pool piano bar
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 851 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2017

The hotel is very well situated on the edge of Lake Garda with all the amenities we needed. The rooms are clean and well appointed. The food is an excellent buffet and the waiting staff are very helpful. However the reception staff need a few lessons in how to be polite to guests. We wanted to pay for the wine we had at dinner but were told very rudely to come back on the last day of our stay to pay then. We were treated in a very unpleasant way and the staff had no manners or civility at all. We were treated as though we were a nuisance and to be got rid of as soon as possible so they could carry on gossiping. The manager(George) was as bad as his staff and had no idea how to treat people politely.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
4  Thank barawlings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

This very large 4 star hotel has a lot going for it - well kept grounds, plenty of places outdoors, under cover and inside to sit an relax, good size swimming pool with plenty of sun beds, one minute walk to the lake etc.

On the down side, flaws include:-

- the pool side bar not selling the food advertised:
- I would not expect to have to queue at a self service coffee machine at breakfast - that is something I would expect in a 2 or 3 star establishment. A consequence is literally dozens of people milling around carrying cups of hot liquid - a risk
- seen food in the buffet was labelled, some was not;
- bedrooms are a bit dated;
- there is a strong smell of stale smoke in places;
- the quality of the food provided at the free afternoon tea/coffee leaves a lot to be desired
- there can be a lot of noise from adjacent bedrooms and those above and below - chairs scraping on floors etc.
- sinage at lifts and stairwells is a bit hit and miss - the size and layoutof the hotel means finding ones way around could easily be improved

These are just a few examples. In the last 5 years or so I have stayed in maybe 20 hotels with a 4 star rating in the US, Asia and Europe. I would put this hotel in the bottom 20% and say its a good 3 star that could easily move up with a bit of attention to detail and service.

Room Tip: Maybe top floor at the end of a corridor to try to minimise noise
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

Having read some indifferent reviews, I was a little worried about booking this hotel however; upon arrival I was pleasantly surprised to find that the hotel was clean, spacious and the staff generally friendly and helpful. The pool area and wellness spa etc. all faultless.
We had booked a Superior Room, which was located on the 3rd floor and very comfortable and met all our needs (although not huge). We were upgraded to a balcony room ( which we hadn't booked). The balconies are not very private but a bonus if you wasn't expecting one. We also received a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine, which was a nice touch. There was also complimentary water left in the room every day.
As with all large hotels they sometimes lack that personal feel. There are large groups / package tours (of mainly Older German people) so not necessarily the place to go if you want an intimate Italian feel.
We didn't eat dinner in the restaurant so can't comment. For us, it would be a shame not to have dinner in the numerous good quality Italian restaurants in the nearby town but appreciate some people we're on all inclusive packages.
The buffet breakfast however was plentiful and of good quality.
Finally - great location! Only 10 min walk to the heart of Bardolino and only a couple of mins to the private grassed area at the lakeside (referred to as the 'beach') with ample sun beds. Worth noting that the hotel rooms do not have a lake view although hotel is situated near the lakeside.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank White62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

Just back from a week's holiday in this hotel.
We were in a superior room, 3rd floor and just to be clear, no rooms have a lake view.
The room was adequate, beds comfy, nice shower room, no bath and rooms cleaned daily and towels changed.
Water replenished daily and mini bar well stocked,albeit you had to pay for anything drunk.
We found the staff not very engaging and we had real trouble making ourselves understood,very little English spoken.
Breakfast served until 11 which was great for us, cannot comment on the evening meals as we did not partake.
It is definitely not a place for children as we could envisage very little for them to do, not an issue for us.
We had hired a car and the hotel car park is extremely cramped and very difficult to park.
We used the hotels lake garden across the road, free to hotel users and we spent 4 days relaxing and soaking up the sun...very safe and lovely views of the lake.
Bardolino is 5 minutes walk and has some lovely shops, cafes, ice cream parlours and bars, all very reasonable.
We tried extremely hard to converse in Italian, we found very few people understood English and this did make things slightly difficult. Obviously we should have tried harder, not a criticism just our experience.
Overall the hotel was good, not great but we found it comfy, relaxing and a goodnase from which to explore Lake Garda

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

We had a 3 day break to Bardolino to have sample the Lakes.The hotel was all we expected.we had a privilege room with shower on the 2nd floor. The room was clean and a good size with good facilities. We were even supplied with weighing scales. We were given a bottle of fizzy wine in the room. Bathrobes and slippers were also supplied. Towels were replaced daily as well as complimentary water every day.
The air conditioning worked well. We had a balcony overlooking the court yard. It must be noted that there are no lake views from this hotel due to its location.
The food was fine with a good choice.It is not 5 star but adequate.
There are ample sun bathing areas with a pool side bar.
The hotel is located just minutes from the town along well lit and level walkways although you have to be careful re cycle riders that are numerous.
The room is equipped with TV although the only English Channel is BBC world news. Not the best but they do supply a video player so you can take your own dvd's.
The bed was very comfortable with lightweight covers etc.
We were given free afternoon coffee and cake which was well received. Their coffee is really strong and nice.
There are lifts in the hotel and moving around was not difficult.
We found the staff friendly and helpful.
I would have no difficulty recommending this hotel although I would suggest It is better for adults than children.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews