We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bellissima Villa!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Fortezza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Fortezza
Ranked #4 of 64 Ascoli Piceno B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Flagstaff, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bellissima Villa!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

We had a wonderful time - Salvatore is a gracious host, good cook, and generous person. The property is fascinating with artwork everywhere and a beautiful view - one of the most unique places we have ever stayed. The location was perfect for us, as we were able to park our car and walk into Ascoli. We think about Villa Fortezza often and hope to return someday. The review from ggfgg really does a good job detailing the Villa. We had no problem with mosquitos, but it was early in the summer. We did see fireflies (lucciole, Salvatore told me), which is something we never see in Arizona and they were beautiful and a high point of our trip. We wish Salvatore and Federica well.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank EdinFlag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
97
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

Overall: Excellent: a villa in a park and yet within minutes of town if you don't mind stairs. And tthe host is very welcoming and accommodating and relaxed. We loved it.
Check-in: The owner works in town; you'll need to tell him your time of arrival or have a phone to call when you arrive.
Language: Italian with a tiny smattering of other languages
Space/decor: modern, eclectic, artistic. There's a decent amount of space in the room. We were able to spread our bags on a bench and a shelf in the wardrobe. If you have the giant luggage many North Americans seem to like to travel with, you'll have more trouble finding space for them.
Noise: beautifully quiet -- we woke up to birds, not traffic
Comfort: comfy bed
Cleanliness: excellent in the room and bath. If you are a neat-nik, the objets d'art in the villa may overwhelm you.
Heat/ac: No heat/ac controls in room. We didn't need them anyway. Just remember to close the shutters to keep the sun out when it is hot. If you are worried about insects, but still want open windows, we found that having the windows open, but the light curtains closed worked well to provide both air and an insect screen.
Internet/TV: There's WiFi in the house. Depending on how the antenna is pointed, it may or may not be available in your room. We had a little 70s style TV in our room, but didn't try it. The electrical outlets are easy to get at for recharging gadgets.
Breakfast: Excellent: Italian sweets, crisp bread with jam, fruit, yogurt, cereal *and* savory ("salata") items like cheese. Also juice, coffee and tea. Phenomenal.
Parking: right there at the villa
Distance to attractions: 10 minute walk down stairs.
Pets: There are cats around. I think they can come inside, but I don't think they ever go into the guest rooms. If you are allergic, you should probably ask about them.
What I would change: I'd add hooks for the towels so that they have somewhere to spread out and dry. Window screens would also be really nice to keep mosquitoes out too although the light curtains did work for that.

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
14 Thank ggfgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

I always like to visit Salvatore and Federica. I have stayed in many places throughout the world, including quite a few in Ascoli Piceno, but Villa Fortezza feels like a home away from home. The house is beautiful and comfortable, full of exquisite pieces of contemporary art, many of them works of the hosts themselves. The garden is serene with a fantastic view of the center of Ascoli. The breakfast is without question the best I have ever had at a b&b, including fresh figs and tomatoes from the garden. I would highly recommend Villa Fortezza!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank jflaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

My husband and me had 5 nights at Villa Fortezza. Salvatore was very welcoming and friendly. The villa and garden are full of interesting pieces of art and are a joy to explore and look at. The villa is high up from the town so the views of Ascoli are wonderful. Our room was the 'space' room which is the largest and on the top floor, with windows like portholes in the roof - you don't get the view from here but the space was great, contemporary and comfortable, complete with a fabulous ensuite with jaquzzi bath - which after a full day touring on our motorcycle was great!
Breakfast was plentiful and served by Salvatore in his glorious garden, typical Italian breakfast with toast, conserves, yoghurts, cakes, fruit and lots of fresh coffee.
We have stayed all over Italy and in various b&bs, Villa Fortezza is a must, particulary if you
like art and culture, a very lovely place, peaceful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank betty072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2010

We spent almost a month in Italy this fall. Our week long stay at Villa Fortezza with Salvatore and Federica was the best part of our trip. Everything the other reviews say about Villa Fortezza is true. Salvatore and Federica are perfect hosts and have created a comfortable and unique lodging experience. Our room looked out over the city below with wonderful views. One amazing view was watching the sunrise from our shower in the very sleek, modern and immaculate bathroom. (Photo attached). We also enjoyed the breakfast with Salvatore's delicious homemade jams from the fruit trees on the property. Ascoli Piceno is a vital small city, with no mass tourism. The two main piazzas are beautiful public spaces, with lots of cafes for people watching, especially interesting during the late afternoon passeggiata when it seems the whole town comes out to greet one another. Molte grazie, Salvatore e Federica, speriamo di ritornare presto alla Villa Fortezza!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank margo_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ascoli Piceno hotels
0.6 km away
Palazzo Guiderocchi
Palazzo Guiderocchi
#4 of 13 in Ascoli Piceno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.9 km away
Albergo Sant'Emidio
Albergo Sant'Emidio
#2 of 13 in Ascoli Piceno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Palazzo dei Mercanti
Hotel Palazzo dei Mercanti
#1 of 13 in Ascoli Piceno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Residenza 100 Torri
Hotel Residenza 100 Torri
#3 of 13 in Ascoli Piceno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.8 km away
Antico Borgo Piceno
Antico Borgo Piceno
#2 of 64 in Ascoli Piceno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.9 km away
Il Battistero
Il Battistero
#3 of 64 in Ascoli Piceno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Fortezza? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Fortezza

Property: Villa Fortezza
Address: Viale Pia della Fortezza n 5, 63100 Ascoli Piceno, Italy
Region: Italy > Marche > Province of Ascoli Piceno > Ascoli Piceno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Ascoli Piceno
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,237 - ₹ 6,215
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Fortezza, in the city of Ascoli Piceno, is an elegant and modern building found in a mature conifer garden with incomparable views across the city. The B&B, at once luminous, creative and peaceful is run by the young and discreet owners Salvatore and Federica, who are delighted to provide guests with information about the city's gastronomy, history, events and excursions.The B&B's name, Villa Fortezza, is derived from the castle on the Colle del Annunziata above the city. The building , which was designed in 1967 by Enrico Teodori, architect and professor of urban planning at Rome university, was restored and and renewed in 2008.La Villa dispone di un ampio giardino di alte conifere, ulivi e piante da frutto, prato all'inglese, parcheggio privato, solarium, giochi per bambini. Disponibilità, cortesia e discrezione garantite dai gestori, qualità delle colazioni servite personalmente all'orario desiderato arricchiranno il Vostro soggiorno nella 'Città delle 100 torri'. Il B&B Villa Fortezza è attivo dal 2000 nella sua formula più classica sarete accolti in una dimora realmente abitata da noi gestori, Salvatore e Federica,vi aspettiamo per il vostro soggiorno ad Ascoli! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa Fortezza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing