We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it, Italianate Retro in a great location”
Review of Hotel Continentale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Continentale
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Arezzo
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“We loved it, Italianate Retro in a great location”
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We loved our stay here. The hotel decor and rooms were a curious mix of funky modern and gaudy ornate, which worked well. Rooms were super clean, breakfast buffet was a little underwhelming, but overall good service and great location presented at great value. Beautiful rooftop terrace adds a special bonus.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SomeWorkSomePlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    141
    73
    22
    5
See reviews for
40
102
26
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
687 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Attractive room and public spaces, friendly staff, good breakfast. Must pay for parking but car is secure and process is very efficient.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kupunakane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2010

This is an old-style three-star which some would describe as having seen better days. You may agree, but it depends largely on your taste and what you're used to when you travel. I had an exceedingly comfortable and enjoyable three-night stay -- but I tend to go for places with a bit of retro glamour. Bland business hotel, this is not. But if you're the kind of person who loves 60s and 70s style, you'll be right at home.

My room was fine -- not brilliant but perfectly comfortable. Some of the furniture is a bit mismatched and I had kind of a cheap looking wardrobe. The bathroom was an absolute hoot -- straight out of 1978 with grey and yellow tiles and matching yellow accessories. Not to everyone's taste perhaps, but wonderfully retro, and also very clean and well maintained. Look at it this way -- there are people out there who spend a lot of time searching for this style in antique shops. (I really wish now I'd taken photos...)

The main areas of the hotel are fabulous. My room was off one lobby that wouldn't look out of place in a Bond film, with a fantastic glass ceiling and dark wood panelling. And the roof terrace is, quite simply, jaw dropping -- a stunning view over the entire city, with tables and sunbeds where you can sit with a Campari and soda and pretend you're Sophia Loren.

I kind of doubt that the owners deliberately kept the decor as a shrine to the 60s, but whatever. It's a nice old hotel that's lovingly maintained, with terrifically charming staff who practically fell over themselves to help me out. Sure they could have ripped out the old stuff and filled it with a lot of blonde wood and frosted glass -- but the prices would triple and you'd probably die of boredom.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank telbel6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2010

We stayed for just one night to visit Arezzo and the frescos en route between Lucca and Urbino. It made a good stop-over point. We usually try to find accommodation places with “local” charm and ambience, but as it was just for one night, we went for location. I wouldn’t usually write a review about a business-style hotel (which it is), but am doing so because I have just read a couple of negative reviews on TA. Our room was well furnished, spacious (by European standards) and the bathroom was also a reasonable size and well equipped. Both rooms were clean and certainly not shabby. We got a fair price on Venere, and it included breakfast. This was a buffet. The hotel has several sitting areas on the ground floor, all well furnished and relaxing. There was free internet access in one of these rooms. As it was pouring with rain we did not see the roof top terrace so can’t comment on that. The reception people were helpful and friendly. They have an arrangement for parking, and the car was taken away and returned when we were ready to leave. (I think this was an extra E10 approximately). The location was excellent, and we thought Arezzo was a lovely town. The hotel suited us for the night.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vicolivia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuticorin, India
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2010

I would recommend this hotel due to

1. Room are not clean
2. Bad smell
3. The air conditioner was not working and Arezzo temp was 32 C when I visited
4. Break fast was not good

The good thing is the location, nearer to Main train station.

Since I stayed for only one night, I could not visit Arezzo much.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Princeton1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arezzo hotels
1.3 km away
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#3 of 29 in Arezzo
691 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel L'Aretino
Hotel L'Aretino
#13 of 29 in Arezzo
403 reviews
0.1 km away
Vogue Hotel Arezzo
Vogue Hotel Arezzo
#8 of 29 in Arezzo
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Etrusco Arezzo Hotel
Etrusco Arezzo Hotel
#4 of 29 in Arezzo
626 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Portici Arezzo, Tuscany
2.4 km away
AC Hotel Arezzo
AC Hotel Arezzo
#12 of 29 in Arezzo
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continentale? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continentale

Property: Hotel Continentale
Address: Piazza Guido Monaco 7, 52100, Arezzo, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Arezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Arezzo
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,257 - ₹ 19,738
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continentale 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Continental Hotel, since more than 50 years, is a point of reference for anyone who wants to stay in Arezzo in an elegant atmosphere with professional and qualified staff. Recently the hotel has been completely renewed both outside and inside. The Hotel Continentale Arezzo is situated in the centre of Italy, in a strategic position, in the very heart of Tuscany.The Hotel has 73 rooms, three deluxe suites, three conference rooms equipped according to the most modern criteria, elegant and spacious living rooms, a lobby bar and a wide breakfast room and most beautifull panoramic roof in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Continentale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continentale Hotel Arezzo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing