We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the friendliest hotels we have stayed in....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Vicus Major

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Vicus Major
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Arezzo
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
862 reviews
221 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 820 helpful votes
“One of the friendliest hotels we have stayed in....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

As the title said ~ an incredibly friendly hotel !

We stayed here late April '12 while touring Unbria and Tuscany bay car and its ideal for that kind of thing. If visiting Arezzo theres a huge free car park to the north of the old town with an escallator up so staying out of towns not a problem if you have a car. Also we thought it far better value than a City Centre hotel.

On arrival reception was very friendly and efficient - wonderfull English spoken. Room is clean and comfy, nice LCD TV and the wifi not only works well but you get one code from reception which will work throughout your stay (Unlike so many who keep expiring which is a pain),

We got back from town late and there was the option to buy some little snacks which was a life saver - again v friendly.

Breakfast was good - and this was what stuck in the mind - of all the hotels we stayed in while touring this one was the only one where someone actually wished us good morning and made us a coffee ~ and asked us if we would like a refill later on. Outstanding service.

In summary thoroughly reccomend the Vicus Major. If only all Itallian hotels had this level of customer service !

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Me_n_my_rucksack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    76
    18
    1
    0
See reviews for
34
38
9
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Genova
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

We picked this hotel after reading the other reviews on Tripadvisor and must say it was a good choice; the hotel had been recently renovated and the room looked quite nice. On the downside the hotel lies a little bit in the outskirts of Arezzo so it's ideal if you have a car, I'm not sure whether there is a bus service.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ponterotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

Nice, clean, sparkling new, friendly place by the Highway near Arezzo. Trade off proximity for quality at an unbeatable price.
Staff made up for a just failed elevator with help in carrying luggage and a room in a low floor.
Breakfast coulkd have been a little better though.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ondawoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vicusmaj, Direttore at Hotel Vicus Major, responded to this review, 11 November 2011
Thank you for your kind review!! ! We apologize for the problem with the elevator: now it is solved! It will be a pleasure for us to host you again if you will come back in Arezzo! Greetings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Province of Pisa, Italy
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

Pleasantly surprised by this hotel, did not expect much for the cost. The family running this hotel is beyond nice and attentive. The rooms were impecably clean and new, while the breakfast was average good (European Style...) A perfect night stop over with a night walk in Arezzo (about a 10 minute drive to downtown). Free parking too... We were traveling with a small child as well and had no issues other than no baby seat for breakfast, but we brought our own because this is never a guarantee.

It is a good comfortable place to stay....

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank turtlefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vicusmaj, Direttore at Hotel Vicus Major, responded to this review, 28 October 2011
Thank you for your kind review!! ! We apologize for the lack of baby child: we have only crib for baby! It will be a pleasure for us to host you again if you will come back in Arezzo! Greetings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

If you're visiting the town of Arezzo, you must stay at Hotel Vicus Major. Just minutes from the historic town (birthplace of the poet Petrarch and the artists Vasari and Cimabue), this hotel is excellent. The staff is utterly professional, and the breakfast offers freshly-baked pastries along with juices, meats, and coffee. Stay here and you will not be disappointed! Internet ready, extremely clean, and very quiet.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DP M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vicusmaj, Direttore at Hotel Vicus Major, responded to this review, 7 October 2011
Thank you for your kind review!! Our guests' reviews are the most important evaluation tool for our job, and your fair words say that we are doing well: this is so great for us! So thank you again! It will be a pleasure for us to host you again if you will come back in Arezzo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arezzo hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel Il Gentiluomo
Hotel Il Gentiluomo
#1 of 29 in Arezzo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.0 km away
Garden Hotel Arezzo
Garden Hotel Arezzo
#7 of 29 in Arezzo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.0 km away
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#3 of 29 in Arezzo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Etrusco Arezzo Hotel
Etrusco Arezzo Hotel
#4 of 29 in Arezzo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Le Capanne
Hotel Le Capanne
#2 of 29 in Arezzo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.0 km away
AC Hotel Arezzo
AC Hotel Arezzo
#12 of 29 in Arezzo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vicus Major? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vicus Major

Property: Hotel Vicus Major
Address: Via di Pescaiola 83/E, 52041, Arezzo, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Arezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Arezzo
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,757 - ₹ 5,655
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vicus Major 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Hotel Vicus Major è situato nel cuore della Toscana, nei pressi del casello autostradale di Arezzo e a pochi chilometri dal centro storico della città. Calore e cortesia unite alla professionalità sono le caratteristiche che contraddistinguono la nostra struttura. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Vicus Major reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing