We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dry cake”

Charlie's Coffee House
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in Charlestown
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We called in for takeaway coffee and cake due to the reviews but we were left very disappointed! The cake was very dry. As we stayed in Charlestown for the week, by the end of it, we came to realise why this was as the same cakes were being served the entire week we were there and left out under cloches all day and night! I dread to think what they tasted like by the Friday! Also had much better scones so sadly didn't meet our standards.

Date of visit: September 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Seasearcher18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (433)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 433 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2020 via mobile

This cafe is justly very popular. We were fortunate enough to get a table after a very short wait (they have reduced their capacity to allow for social distancing) and I’m very glad we did. We had a lovely welcome from the ladies on duty. Everything was very clean and Covid guidance was adhered to, without ever feeling oppressive. And as to the food: delicious. Bacon sandwiches or pancakes (the bacon and maple pancakes are recommended) set us up nicely for the rest of the day.

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank bedsred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2020 via mobile

Lovely greeting from the ladies at Charlie’s. We had scrambled eggs on toast with bacon. The portions were huge. Not many tables so filled up quite quickly. There is sitting outside & dogs are welcome. Cleaning was excellent. Noticed the business was up for sale such a shame.

Date of visit: November 2020
Thank LorraineM87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2020

Charming little place. We stopped by for breakfast. Covid aware (we felt very safe) Great food-great coffee-great service.

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank 728mariand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2020 via mobile

Excellent cream tea for a family of four. Lots to eat and very friendly staff. Will definitely be back

Date of visit: October 2020
2  Thank colinr667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Charlie's Coffee House also viewed

Charlestown, St Austell
Carlyon Bay, St Austell
 

Been to Charlie's Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.