We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant”

Review of Red Cottage

The Red Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Red Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
27 reviews
The Red Cottage
Fire Place in Lounge
Reading corner in the livign room
View from Twin Room
Twin Room
Twin Room
The Twin Bedroom
Enter a caption for your photo
Upstairs landing
Beamed double room
Double Room
Cosy beamed double room
Kitchen
Breakfast in the Garden
Cottage courtyard
Stow-on-the-Wold 1 mile from Cottage. Lots of wonderful shops, restaurants and tea rooms.
Bibury Village 8 Miles from Cottage
Stanton 4 miles from village (fantastic walk Snowshill to Stanton)
Our family picnic in Lower Slaughter couple of miles from cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Broadwell, Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sally W
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 2 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Arrived on the Friday, it was just about dark. The lamp had been left on so we could see and the whole place was lovely and warm. The cottage is charming and, I must admit, probably the best I've stayed in in relation to kitchen utensils, cookware etc. The boys took a little while to adjust themselves to the lower door frames so there were a few bumped heads! The bedroom in the attic is beautiful. All the beds are comfy and the bed linen is top notch

The tiled floors downstairs were a complete bonus and easy to keep clean with the dogs.

Def recommend this cottage to friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: lounge - lovely log fire
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jan 2016
Thank you very much for your great review Sally, we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and really liked our cottage. Hope you can all return sometime for another visit to the Cotswolds.
Thank you, John and Stephanie.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal723
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A lovely relaxing stay”
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We enjoyed a lovely stay in red cottage. Cottage was homely and felt very traditional. Very comfortable and well equipped. Our stay was relaxing yet there's lots to do and visit in the area. We visited lots of lovely villages such as Chipping Camden and Bourton on the water. Blenheim palace was also a great day out. The fire was a lovely touch in the evenings after a meal out. The village itself is very quiet with just the pub, but the food there was fine and owners very friendly and welcoming. Stow is only a short drive away for supermarket and more lively places to eat with plenty of choice. The cottage was perfect for us but the stairs may make it tricky for young children although we had some scary moments after a few glasses of wine! All in all a very good break.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2015
Thank you very much for your kind review, we are pleased to hear you had a great relaxing break in the Cotswolds and liked our cottage. Always happy to find that our guests enjoy its features, and hope you can visit again in the future.
Thanks again,
John and Stephanie.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cgs119
Southport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely little cottage”
Reviewed 2 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

What a delightful cottage this was. Everything you would need, great location, lovely rooms couldn't fault it

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2015
Thank you very much for your kind review, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in our cottage and hope you return to visit the Cotswolds again.
Thanks again,
John and Stephanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie R
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolultely perfect - very cosy and well appointed.”
Reviewed 15 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We stayed at Red Cottage with my husband and two teenage daughters plus our labrador. The cottage was perfect. It was very comfortable and had a lovely homely feel. The courtyard garden was perfect to relax and soak up some sun. The cottage catered for all our needs. The wood burning stove was very cosy. The location was fabulous with a local and very friendly pub ( The Fox). There was a lovely village green with swings which even my teenage girls enjoyed. A perfect base for seeing the Cotwolds. We hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was all perfect.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Apr 2015
Thank you very much for your kind review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and liked our cottage. We are always looking for ways to make our guests stay's as pleasant as possible. Hope you return to the Cotswolds again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claireeh2...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The most perfect, away from it all cottage”
Reviewed 22 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We had an incredible weekend in Red Cottage. Broadwell couldn't have been more perfect and the cottage was like something from a film! The cottage had that lovely rustic cottage feel whilst still being cosy and clean.

Red Cottage is the perfect spot to feel away from it all whilst on the doorstep for exploring plenty of Cotswolds highlights. By car we visited Broadway, Bourton on the water and the slaughters. We also managed a 4 hour walk on Sunday, along with a visit to the church for harvist service. We couldn't have been more welcomed by everyone we met and we couldn't have been sadder to leave!

We enjoyed breakfast in the garden every morning and didn't even leave the cottage on 2 out of the 3 evenings - instead too tempted to stay in front of the fire!

Both the twin room along with a vaulted loft double room were charming, well sized and perfect for retiring to after a night of (rather competitive) board games!

The cottage is placed on a quiet street away from the "centre" of the village. The village is untouched by Cotwolds tourism with simply one pub and a church, we hadn't wanted to stay in the heart of a busy area so this was perfect for us.

The owners John and Stephanie were incredibly helpful and friendly, we will certainly be back!

Claire x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquility
Liked least: Not having a shower head holder
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Oct 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed staying at our cottage, and would certainly love you to return.
Thanks again,
John and Stephanie.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing