We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely quiet cottage with all amenities”

Review of Red Cottage

The Red Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Red Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
24 reviews
The Red Cottage
Fire Place in Lounge
Reading corner in the livign room
View from Twin Room
Twin Room
Twin Room
The Twin Bedroom
Enter a caption for your photo
Upstairs landing
Beamed double room
Double Room
Cosy beamed double room
Kitchen
Breakfast in the Garden
Cottage courtyard
Stow-on-the-Wold 1 mile from Cottage. Lots of wonderful shops, restaurants and tea rooms.
Bibury Village 8 Miles from Cottage
Stanton 4 miles from village (fantastic walk Snowshill to Stanton)
Our family picnic in Lower Slaughter couple of miles from cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Broadwell, Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
homegirl3
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely quiet cottage with all amenities”
Reviewed 17 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My two sisters and I stayed in this cottage in Broadwell for a week.It is a pretty little village with a pub and a village green.Broadwell is a mile and a half from Stow on the Wold which a great town, good pub, great deli, plenty of antique shopping and super Tesco.
The cottage is picture perfect with lots of country craft touches. In the mornings you could hear the birds chirping and cuckoo sounds.
We had a lovely time as the cottage is so central. We went to Bath, Sratford upon Avon, Broadway to see the folly, Morten in the March, Bourton on the Water, Cardiff and upper and lower Slaughter. Lower Slaughter was lovely, paticularly the waterwheel at the old mill.There is also a great gift shop at the old mill and we bought some great gifts.

One of the best places we visited was Greater Tew, a village with lots of chocolate box type houses with thatched roofs. We spent time walking around and stopped for a coffee and a slice of lemon drizzle cake at the local cafe.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quaintness of the cottage, the central location and the peace and quiet. We would have liked to stay longer.
Liked least: The stairs were very steep and we had to leave the suitcases in the lounge room and the shower only had a hand held piece, but everything else far out weighed this.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jul 2013
Thank you for your review - So pleased you had a lovely holiday. We hope to see you again :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Canada
Reviewed 10 July 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: dirty, not maintained, not as advertised
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Jul 2013
We were stunned by this review, as we did not hear from the guest until the end of the first week, where the guest requested a full refund citing the hand held shower over the bath being the deal breaker. When the refund was not forthcoming, he then claimed numerous other incorrect statements, as put in the review. The appliances are not old, the fridge was replaced last year, the cooker and washing machine are hardly used and are approx 7 years old. The courtyard is small and I cannot deny between us going we do get some weeds and I have painted the garden furniture as it was starting to peel in the sun. The furniture, bedding and towels are very good quality and replaced regularly. The parking is outside the cottage like in most English country villages.

I feel this review is vindictive and not at all reflective of our cottage or the experience fed back by any our other hundreds of guests. We have owned our cottage for 9 nine years, have many customers returning time and time again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Laneynorw...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“More than a holiday cottage it's A Home from Home”
Reviewed 1 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

A beautiful home from home character cottage sitting in a pretty village with a great pub for food and great location for exploring more of the Cotswolds with plenty of walks nearby. We stayed with friends and as my husband is very tall we slept in the second room as the bed in the master has a bed end. The owners have taken lots of time, love and care to ensure the cottage feels as homely as possible and not just the usual standard holiday home decor. We fully recommend this holiday home which is ideal for those romatic / family / friends getaways

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Homely feel
Liked least: Bed with a bed end not ideal for my very long aka tall husband
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley...
UK
2 reviews
“Ideal Get Away”
Reviewed 13 March 2013 for a stay in December 2012

We have stayed at Red Cottage on many occasion the latest time being just before Christmas.
It is ideally located for exploring the Cotswolds - we love walking and it is so cosy to come back to after.
It has everything you need and is great for families, couples. friends. The bedding is like being in a marshmallow :-)
Quiet location - local pub is friendly and does good food - lots to do close by.

We cannot wait to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: no complaints - wish we could go more
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina H
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“first class!”
Reviewed 10 March 2013 for a stay in April 2012

We have stayed in Red Cottage on quite a few occasions and have never been disappointed . It is the ideal spot for seeing the Cotswolds and surrounding area and is perfect both winter and summer.the cottage is beautifully furnished and has everything you could need,even a tiny garden, perfect for breakfast in the summer! And the wood burning stove is so cosy and nice to come home to when the weather is not so good!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: As they say........location location location
Liked least: Having to leave to come home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 88
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing