We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$76
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/10/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
eDreams
$76
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/10/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
$69
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/10/22
Priceline$76
Trip.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveller rating
12
5
0
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
12
5
0
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews visual treat pool table lonavala khandala garden area polite staff indoor games artifacts lover lobby dukes amenities property
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 23 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2022

I am writing this review while staying at the hotel.
The food is excellent and room service is good. Now things that really upset me were:
1. Dogs all around the reception. Even if they are healthy dogs(which does not seem true specially for the oldest dog, who looks very sick), keep them away. Not all enjoy their company.
2. The front office staff are so serious about cost cutting that they dont even keep a/c nor lights on in the reception. Even the lift is 'under maintenance'. My point is that you are running a hotel and these things are not acceptable.
3. Every hotel room must have tissues, cupboards with hangers to hang clothes, mini fridge, slippers. The bark did not think these as essental in their deluxe rooms.
4. The bathroom does not drain water. Water logging is a big problem. Also, behind there is a dirty water body which stinks and the smell is always present in the room. Mosquitoes are plenty.

Now, my request is to please have a look at the above and make an effort to improve. I dont want a reply from the management/owner stating that changes will be made because ive read most of these issues addressed by earlier guests and no change made till now. You are charging a normal 3 star hotel room rate. Please deliver at the same level at least.

Jeff Demelo

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank jeffdemelo1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Revenue Manager, Revenue Management at The Bark - An Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2022

Dear Guest,

Namaste!

We appreciate you for taking the time and sharing your detailed feedback on your recent stay with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay. We regret that our services and facilities could not meet your expectations.
The same has been highlighted to our team and we assure you that prompt actions will be taken.
We hope you give us another chance to serve you again.

Best Regards,
Management - The Bark - An Art Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2022 via mobile

Overall a 4 star experience.

We were 6 people and had taken 2 Deluxe Rooms & 1 standard room. Deluxe rooms are better, but the standard room is too small. The hotel is nice and well kept. It's good a good feel about it. I suggest booking directly with them. I have been told that if you book directly they ensure you get a room with a good view. One challenge though with the place is that it's surrounded by resorts. So if there is a lot of noise being made in another resort, it might distrub you. That will also ofcourse depend on the room you'll have.

Their food is not great. I am basing it only on the breakfast we had at the hotel. The breadth of breakfast buffet is good, but the cooking can improved 5 folds.

Love all the art in the different rooms and the lobby. Pool is great and they did a great job of keeping it clean. Lobby is great too, but maybe they can do a better job of keeping their games and discarding one's which don't have the necessary pieces.

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank happyh531
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Revenue Manager, Revenue Management at The Bark - An Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2022

Dear Guest,

Namaste!

We are delighted to see you share your valuable feedback in regards to your recent stay at our property. We are glad to know that you liked the cleanliness of the property and had a great time.
Also, we have noted your suggestions and taken your feedback constructively. We assure you that necessary measures will be taken and you will see a marked improvement on your next visit.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best Regards,
Management - The Bark - An Art Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2022 via mobile

Stayed in studio room. The room is big with spacious balconies. The bathroom is large and clean. Very courteous staff. Special mention for Prateek who sits at the reception for his extremely polite and helpful behavior. The lift was under maintenance so we had to climb the stairs. Food quality and quantity both are great. Inroom dining experience was good. Would request the hotel to consider putting a fridge in the room. Liked the experience.

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Traveladdicttt123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Revenue Manager, Revenue Management at The Bark - An Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2022

Dear Guest,

Namaste!

We are delighted to see your review and to know that you enjoyed your stay at our property. It was our pleasure to serve you. We are glad we could impress you with good quality food, spacious rooms and prompt services of our hospitable staff. Our associates always try going out of their way to provide you with the best service possible and we are glad we could achieve the same. In addition, we will surely share your kind comments with our stars mentioned by you.
Also, we have noted your suggestion and we assure you corrective measures will be implemented. Hope your plans bring you back soon again.

Best regards,
Management - The Bark - An Art Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2022

It has good decoration of art. Pool side with adjascent garden area is open and nice. Comfy rooms. Staff is polite and service is good. Morning buffet breakfast is also sumptuous with lot of options. Few indoor games also available. Overall a satisfying experience.

Date of stay: March 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rajuchowdhri
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Revenue Manager, Revenue Management at The Bark - An Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2022

Dear Mr Raju,

Namaste!

We are delighted to know that we could meet your expectations and you had a wonderful stay at our property. It was a pleasure to serve you and to know that you enjoyed the pool, garden, cosy rooms, delicious food, and the service by our hospitable staff. Also, we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay with us sharing your kind comments. We hope to see you soon again.


Warm Regards,
Management - The Bark, An Art Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2022 via mobile

Lonavala & Khandala have always seemed over crowded on weekends, and not being a fan of exotic sprawling typical Indian resorts like The Duke's & Fariyas, our visit to this popular Mumbai hill stn has been just in passing with stopovers for lunch at some nice eateries of hotels/resorts. This time in Feb, after a lovely glamping stay in Pawna, as we stopped by for lunch, we decided to stay back. On a Saturday it's difficult to get rooms in any descent place & luckily The Bark had one. I v always been curious about this place calling itself an art hotel, so it was an added bonus for me. Far away from the popular hotel zones, down a road, this hotel cum house is by a river/stream and immaculately maintained by its owner who is a friendly charming lady & an avid traveler and collector of art. And a dog lover too. The place is littered with arty objects & paintings. Is spacious, airy with a laid back attitude, polite staff and a library. The pool table unfortunately is no good, thanx to non-players trying to have fun with the balls all day. The pool & lawn & gazebo are the highlight here. One can just sit and watch numerous birds come and go. Being off the touristy zones, its unusually quiet and in the midst of old residential areas of Lonavala, which are quaint and peaceful. They have a nice buffet spread for breakfast, and their ala-carte menu is also quite good, although a bit pricey i thought. The owner has plans to start an Art Cafe soon, and that wud b lovely. Their basic rooms are quiet small but beautifully done and very well maintained. The rooms with balconies are very nice & given a choice i wud definitely stay in those. The suites are also spacious. And i personally felt it was great value for money, unlike the Dukes and Fariyas which have countless rooms and charge top dollar. If you are fond of Lonavala, stay here once atleast to know the difference from other hotels there.

Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank thelustytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews