We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Classic Indian Fine Dining Experience ”

The Indus Fine Dining
Ranked #11 of 494 Restaurants in Muscat
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 25 - US$ 50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: The Indus brings the romance of the North West Frontier to life. Our vibrant art-inspired ambience is designed to entice the senses and the spices-laden aroma is reminiscent of the rustic cuisine and exotic flavours of the Indian subcontinent that are expertly recreated by our Master Chef.The FoodExperience the warmth and succour with every bite - 'The Indus' signature entrée boasts a variety of succulent meat and vegan kebabs, made from authentic ingredients, using traditional preparations. The selection of fine ambrosia from some of the world's most celebrated wineries, and the distinctively refreshing non-alcoholic beverages are truly mesmerising. The main course features a flamboyant medley of spicy curries, innovative tandoor-cooked breads and special accompaniments. The rage of delectable desserts satiates the sweet tooth.The AmbianceThe riveting interiors of The Indus are a rich blend of the traditional and the modern; laden with artefacts, wall hangings and rich Indian fabrics. The walls are bejewelled with glimmering Kashmiri Jamawar shawls and the Zari adorned silk cushions burst with colour. The lattice screen is typical of the Indian architecture and serves as a partition for the private dining space. Dining ExperiencesOverlooking the Opera House courtyard, The Indus is an indoor and outdoor restaurant that makes every meal a celebration. The Alfresco seating at the terrace enchants the guests with the spectacular views while the opulence of the indoor seating recreates the splendour of the royal courts of India. The private dining area offers the comforts of a lounge and the privacy to enjoy an intimate meal with your loved ones. Maximum Seating Capacity - 145 * Private dining - 28 guests * Indoor seating - 71 guests * Terrace - 46 guests. Located at the Opera Galleria, Muscat, Oman, this fine dining restaurant in the Sultanate boasts of the same prestigious address as the majestic Royal Opera House.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Great location, exemplary ambience, definitely best Indian food in town and unmatched service levels.
The team definitely knows their dishes and drinks well and their suggestions are truly pragmatic.
The team and chef were really kind enough to prepare out of the menu dishes to cater our allergy issues.

A DEFINITE MUST VISIT PLACE IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR SOME PREMIUM QUALITY INDIAN FOOD.

Keep up the good work The Indus Team!

Thank Manavador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mihiran W, Guest Relations Manager at The Indus Fine Dining, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2018

Dear ,

Warm greeting from The Indus fine dining restaurant!

Thank you for your review about dining experience.

We are very pleased to know that you are happy with the overall services and staff interactions experienced during your dining with us. These are certainly going to be very encouraging and motivating for the team. It is always reassuring to learn that our efforts are being noted by those whom we count the most, "our guest".
Our team strives to go that extra mile and deliver the best experience to our guest and make their culinary journey memorable.

Our team look forward to welcome you back.

Best regards ,
Team Indus ,
Al- Zaman Group .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We visited Indus for my dad's birthday. Very good ambience and excellent service. Our hosts for the evening were Mr Anoop and Mr Pratham who went an extra mile to make our evening special by getting a birthday cake for my dad. Food was exceptional. If you are looking for Indian food in Oman, this is the place.

1  Thank meghnav2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mihiran W, Public Relations Manager at The Indus Fine Dining, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Dear Meghna V ,

Warm greeting from The Indus fine dining restaurant!

Thank you for your review about dining experience.

We are very pleased to know that you are happy with the overall services and staff interactions experienced during your dining with us. These are certainly going to be very encouraging and motivating for the team. It is always reassuring to learn that our efforts are being noted by those whom we count the most, "our guest".

Our team strives to go that extra mile and deliver the best experience to our guest and make their culinary journey memorable.

Our team look forward to welcome you back.


Best regards ,
Team Indus ,
Al- Zaman Group .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal at Indus. We sat on the terrace and enjoyed the magnificent views of the Opera House, the warm weather under magical moonlight whilst being looked after the professionals here. The recommendations made were very helpful and we were delighted with every meal! The portions for main meals are very generous although delicious. Special mention to Ajay and Wilson who contributed to a fantastic, magic night and we highly recommend a visit to this restaurant. We will definitely return if we are in Muscat again. The only negative comment is that it is expensive. I am sure more people would visit if the prices were more reasonable.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NadinedB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mihiran W, Marketing Manager at The Indus Fine Dining, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Thank you NadinedB for the review. We are glad that you had a memorable dining experience with us. Looking forward to serving you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We had dinner on the terrace last night and can’t recommend this place enough. The service Ajay and Wilson gave us was exemplary and attentive. The food was out of this world, albeit the portions are generous so we ended up over ordering. All in all a great experience

Thank Tommyd70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mihiran W, Marketing Manager at The Indus Fine Dining, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Thank you Tommyd70 for the review. We are glad that you had a memorable dining experience with us. Looking forward to serving you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

First time to try The Indus, the food was beautiful. So tasty, it didn't look like huge portions but it was more than enough. It is licenced so alcohol is available. The service was very good but as usual with every restaurant in Oman after you have finished with your food the waiters rarely come over to top up wine or ask if anything else is required, we just accept that this is the way in Oman. The only negative is the cost, basically we had a starter and a main (between us) and a bottle of wine and it came to 70 OMR (£135-£140). We sat on the terrace, a little noisy from the road but a very nice night. Think we'll keep this place for special occasions due tot he cost

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 769DaveH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mihiran W, Marketing Manager at The Indus Fine Dining, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Thank you Dave H for the review. We are glad that you had a memorable dining experience with us. Looking forward to serving you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Indus Fine Dining also viewed

Muscat, Muscat Governorate
Muscat, Muscat Governorate
 
Muscat, Muscat Governorate
Muscat, Muscat Governorate
 

Been to The Indus Fine Dining? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing