We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,377)
Filter reviews
1,377 results
Traveller rating
486
501
251
87
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
486
501
251
87
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviews trader vics tomato restaurant leisure pool musandam restaurant the club lounge opera house public beach sea view an update bit dated pool area an upgrade building work business trip main restaurant tiki marian
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 1,377 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

I had to write a review following my 2 night stay at the Intercontinental Muscat. My partner and I had travelled from Al Hadd to Muscat and were quite tired when we arrived. The staff at the check in went out of their way to make a room available to us when we arrived before 2pm, and even had some fruit delivered to our room as we had mentioned we were really hungry!

The room was lovely, one huge bed and a sofa overlooking the gulf of Oman. We had a coffee machine, complimentary toiletries and lovely fluffy towels!

The facilities onsite were fabulous. Huge pool and lush gardens that backed onto the beach. The pool manager, Justice (that’s his name!) was such a happy person, always smiling and on hand to help in any way.

On site there are 4 restaurants and we ate at 2. I can highly recommend Tomato. The food was lovely especially the pizzas, and they had a great wine and cocktail list. Plus it overlooks the pool and gardens and the service was great.

Just outside of the hotel grounds is a small shopping centre with lots of eateries, there is so much choice just on the doorstep and the hotel is located a few miles from Mutrah Souq which is a great shopping area in the old town if you want some authentic souvenirs.

All in all I cannot fault the hotel or its staff. One of the best stays I’ve had, and, I’ve visited 56 countries to date so that says something.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelJ6505, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Muscat, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2018

Dear Sarab b,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are delighted to hear that you had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed every aspect of it.

Hospitality is all about people and the greatest compliments we can receive are those that highlight the commitment of our staff to deliver the best possible service. Your comments has been shared to the team to whom it will serve as a great source of inspiration.

We would like to welcome you back here at the InterContinental Muscat. In the meantime, safe travels.

Kind regards,
Michael Jabbour
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

Stayed here on and off and had a great time,
Room was good and breakfast fab.
A great location and only a short taxi ride to the city centre.
Food was great in the hotel and local restaurants were ok.
BBQ Nation was a bit ropey so avoid.
Hair dresser is a bit pricey but gives a great cut.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
Thank Jenny149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelJ6505, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Muscat, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2018

Dear Jenny149,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are delighted to hear that you had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed the location, our rooms, and breakfast offer. Your feedback has been sharaed to the team to whom this will serve as a great source of inspiration.

We would like to welcome you back here at the InterContinental Muscat. In the meantime, safe travels.

Kind regards,
Michael Jabbour
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2018 via mobile

The spread was awesome and great

With varieties of continental, Indian and Arabic food a balanced mix for all types of nationals in Muscat it's a great spread.

The desert part is the one mouth watering and the best one.

Will visit again with family and friends

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank deveshskumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelJ6505, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Muscat, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2018

Dear deveshkumar,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our dining offers specially the buffet spread. Your feedback has been shared to the culinary team to whom this will be a great source of inspiration.

We would like to welcome you back here at the InterContinental Muscat. In the meantime, safe travels.

Kind regards,
Michael Jabbour
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018

I stayed one night in this hotel.

Check-in and check-out went smoothly. Warm welcome, staff smiling and polite. Also customer focused.

Rooms are a bit ageing but a renovation plan is on going. The rooms are well equipped, bed & pillows are good. Wi-Fi is fine and the safe in the room is large enough for a laptop. Bathroom amenities are of a good quality.

Fitness room is well equipped, with a wet area. There are 2 swimming pools, one of them allowing laps (20/25 meter long).

There are some civils works going on for the renovation plan. I suggest the General Manager to pay attention to the working hours of the workers. When people book a hotel room, usually their aim is to sleep well in a quiet environment. But with workers on site, noise is included in their activities. And at night time, all noises are amplified. What would be good is a commitment of GM to have the civil works stopped at 21h30. Unfortunately, I had to bother the Duty Manager because after visiting those workers and discussing with them at 21h15, it appeared they had planned to work until 23h00-23h30. After some discussions, I finally got the workers to stop their activities at 21h45, and then the room was silent. So, Mr. GM, add a sentence in the nice paperwork posted on the desk of the room upon arrival, mentionning the civil works will end anyhow at 21h30. Thank you for the good sleep of your customers.

Breakfast is excellent. Choice of (tasty) fresh fruits, fresh juices, pastries (good ones), vegetables, yoghurts (Danone), good hot station, etc.. Very good bread which is worth mentioning.

BUT Intercontinental has not enough budget to serve real BUTTER, made from real cow milk... Instaed, this prestigious brand proposes an oil speadable... I had to give back 3 portions of this oil that had turned into crystals and liquid... : (

So please, Mr. GM, don't jeopardize the good bread you serve with this unhealthy oil spreadable: go back to a real butter. This is good for health and this brings vitamine A for children. Your customers will be ready to pay 1 more Omani to get a good quality.

I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask works stop at 21h30.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank JFG_Voyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelJ6505, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Muscat, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2018

Dear JFG_Voyaguer,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback from your recent stay with us. I read with concern of your experience and regret that we have let your down. Please accept my sincere apologies for the unfavorable impression at the time. We pride ourselves in offering the highest levels of care and hospitality to all our guests and it is evident that we have fallen short of the expectation that we have set for ourselves and which you are certainly entitled to expect. We assure you that this has been discussed with the senior management team so we can avoid a similar experience in the future.

We look forward to welcome you again here at the InterContinental Muscat and to allow us to serve you better.

Kind regards,
Michael Jabbour
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

This InterContinental Hotel in Muscat is a very nice hotel. As a single I had a room with double sized bed. The room was furnished with a sitting area, bed, desk. Bath / shower acceptable and clean. Die Klimaanlage konnte man auch selbst gut einstelle. A fridge with alcoholic and soft drinks. Water bottles (0.5 l) were provided daily for free. Coffee and tea you could also prepare by yourself in the room. An ironing board and iron were also available in the room.

Internet is free, but the connection is bad and always fails. Even on the day of our departure the bill could not be issued for a while, because all devices at the reception had a total failure.It may be due to the heat. Nevertheless, in such a large hotel, the Internet is expected to work well.

The staff is very friendly, helpful and willingly provides information.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vivaldi-55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelJ6505, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Muscat, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2018

Dear Vivaldi-55,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are delighted to hear that you had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed every aspect of it.

Hospitality is all about people and the greatest compliments we can receive are those that highlight the commitment of our staff to deliver the best possible service. Your comments has been shared to the team to whom it will serve as a great source of inspiration.

We would like to welcome you back here at the InterContinental Muscat. In the meantime, safe travels.

Kind regards,
Michael Jabbour
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews