We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can't beat the view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Muscat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Muscat
Certificate of Excellence
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“You can't beat the view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights for business. It was a very pleasant stay. The staff were friendly and helpful. the rooms were clean and comfortable. The Iranian restaurant was great but the service was lacking. The Dukes Pub had a great atmosphere and good eats. The Wifi was a bit expensive. the Wifi availability at the pool was a nice touch. I would say it was a great stay and would stay their again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank syrinri21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet_Turner_DOSM, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. I am happy that you had such a good stay with us and I hope that you will be returning to Muscat soon so that we may be able to welcome you back. Shiraz and Dukes Bar were recently successful in the Oman Today Restaurant Awards as you will see from our recent posts – so you are in very good company with your positive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    578
    629
    132
    38
    15
See reviews for
262
469
79
355
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

The family recently stayed at the hotel and had an enjoyable stay. The hotel was a little tired however service was good and friendly. From the research I did the hotels are expensive so not great value for money. The food was very good I recommend Dukes Bar where the portions were huge.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Madmoo1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Ain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

Frankly, we found this hotel to be average on its own, but overall, because of the superb location, staying there was great.

This is a great location in Muscat. With the sea view from the room, the pool, cliff-top eating area, and beach below, this is a great place to stay. A nice walk along the public beach leads to some restaurants along the beach and a small neighbourhood full of cafés and restaurants at the far end.

The average-sized room was okay, and the building is showing its age; the rooms, the hallways, and the lobby. A few fix-ups and a coat of paint would do wonders. Everything was clean. The rooms are non-smoking. The check-in/lobby staff were very nice and very helpful.

Most bad points come from experiences with the restaurants/bar. Service and consistency in those is a big problem. Overall, I would stay at the Crowne Plaza again, mostly because of the great location and facilities.

The restaurants in the hotel all feature a great view if you're sitting outside, but are hit-and-miss when it comes to service. Some dining staff were great (a pleasant surprise), others dismally bad. In the Gulf region, bad restaurant service is typical. It is normal for restaurants to have huge numbers of staff, but dreadful service – few people are actually working – the restaurants at this hotel were no different.

Lunch from the pool-side bar was 50/50 (one good sandwich, one overcooked 'Thai' chicken) with good, attentive service.

A light dinner at the pub tasted good, but the service reached a new low. Despite a scattering of empty tables, we were seated next to a big table full of loud drunks, and surrounded by smokers. We asked to be moved and the second table was very good. The waiter forgot almost everything and we had to hunt down seemingly deaf, shoe-gazing staff to ask for things: bread; my wife's order (which wasn't passed to the kitchen); the cheque; a pen to sign the cheque with. The only person paying attention and seemingly trying to do a good job was the manager/supervisor, who fixed every problem we had. He is likely overworked.

A second visit to the pool-side bar was frustrating. First, the bar is quite big, but doesn't have many chairs. After finding a place to sit, despite being at the bar, ordering an apértif and a cocktail took at least 20 minutes, and it was obvious the 'bartender' didn't know what he was talking about or doing.

The main restaurant (the name escapes me) has a big, great-looking buffet on Friday night, with a barbeque and live jazz band. We missed this because of plans, and had the regular buffet the following night; the food was average – almost cloned selection and flavours as I've had at other hotel buffets in cities in the UAE.

Despite all the bad points, I would stay there again. The location is too good to miss. I would like to try the Friday night buffet, and eat off-site, along the beach, for most other meals.

Room Tip: Get 'sea view'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davidc068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet_Turner_DOSM, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Dear David, thank you for your feedback. We like to consider that all comments are positive and provide us with the chance to improve.

I have passed all of your comments onto our Food and Beverage Manager who will investigate the shortcomings in our service, I apologise that you did not find it to our usual high standards.

All of our restaurants are non-smoking indoors, as per Omani law. However as all of our restaurants also offer outdoor terrace dining, smoking is permitted.

You mentioned eating in Dukes Bar, we were fortunate to have won the Best Pub Food category in the recent Oman Today Restaurant Awards, so the food is excellent.

Our main restaurant, Tropicana, offers rotating menus each night and provides an International Buffet in order to meet the needs of all of our guests. We also offer a “Butchers Night” on Wednesdays and “Seafood Night” on Thursdays. Both evenings feature live cooking stations and live music.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

All in all a very nice hotel but slightly out the way, however, there is a free shuttle bus to and from th local Souq. Which, if you feel energetic is. 45 min walk along the Corniche into Muscat.

The on site restaurants were very good but I wouldn't recommend the pizza in the Italian, whilst edible, the pizza base was at bit heavy.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view across the pool and beach to get benefit of the sunset, saying that you lo ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chammer98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet_Turner_DOSM, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Thank you for your comments, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have passed your feedback onto our Executive Chef regarding the Pizza base. I hope that you had fun at the local souk and managed to pick up some bargains and momento’s of Oman, it certainly is a great place to soak up the local culture. We are extremely fortunate with our location, it is said that we do have the best views in Muscat and I am happy that you managed to experience our wonderful sunsets. Please do come back and visit us should your be returning to Oman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

The Crowne Plaza has a wonderful location looking west over the Gulf of Oman. Our room was clean and comfortable. We went to two of the hotel restaurants, both excellent. The Edge serves grilled fish on a cliff top terrace. The Shiraz offers delicious Persian food (the duck and pomegranite stew was outstanding). There is an excellent and varied breakfast buffet. All the hotel staff were courteous and helpful.

Room Tip: Get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 112Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet_Turner_DOSM, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Thank you for your positive comments on our hotel and our restaurants, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon. I have passed your comments onto our Executive Chef, who I am sure will be very thankful for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Muscat hotels
9.1 km away
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
4.5 km away
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Grand Hyatt Muscat
#7 of 49 in Muscat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
15.1 km away
Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
2.1 km away
Coral Muscat Hotel & Apartments
7.1 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Muscat? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Muscat

Property: Crowne Plaza Muscat
Address: Qurum Heights | Po. Box 1455, Muscat 112, Oman
Phone Number:
Region: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Muscat
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Muscat
#3 Romantic Hotel in Muscat
#4 Spa Hotel in Muscat
#6 Luxury Hotel in Muscat
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,030 - ₹ 22,179
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Muscat 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Check into an elegant seaside hotel in Oman's thriving capital with a private beach and easy access to local businesses. The dazzling Crowne Plaza(R) Muscat hotel looks out across the turquoise waters of the Gulf of Oman from a lush clifftop in fashionable Qurum Heights. With a panoramic terrace, pool and private beach, the hotel is just a 20-minute drive from Muscat International Airport and steps from Qurum Beach with its café-lined promenade. Oman's main business and ministerial districts are 10 minutes away. Families and couples can sunbathe on the private beach and swim in a pool set in leafy gardens alive with bougainvillea and date palms. After exploring ancient Muttrah Souq and Corniche, you can savor a cool drink in our English-style Dukes Bar as the sun dips into the Gulf. For dinner, how about Italian, Persian, or lavish buffets on the terrace of Tropicana with stunning sea views? Business travelers enjoy the hotel's relaxed vibe and convenient services such as complimentary Wi-Fi and parking, 24-hour room service and a Concierge who can pre-arrange taxi fares. After work, you can re-energize in the Cliff Club Fitness Center, challenge colleagues to a game of tennis or squash and de-stress in the sauna or steam room with our compliments. With 200 stylish rooms and a convenient, prestigious location in Oman, you'll find Crowne Plaza Muscat an ideal hotel for productive business and enjoyable leisure time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Muscat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Muscat Hotel Muscat
Muscat Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing