We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B+B/Small hotel in the Medoc”
Review of Le Medoc de Maxou

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Medoc de Maxou
Ranked #2 of 2 Lamarque B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 May 2017

Well positioned for visiting the Medoc area this little hotel/B+B was a great spot to stay. The room was a very good size with a bath/shower over, there are 5 rooms in total the others have showers. The accommodation is simple, comfortable, quiet and very clean, The breakfast is included and is very good with a slightly different warm item and sweet item each day along with the usual croissant/bread/yogurt. The hosts were friendly and helpful. A kettle and mugs are provided. As mentioned by others there is a spiral staircase so be aware if you have very big bags or mobility issues. There is no air-conditioning but fans are provided. We were very comfortable indeed and enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank gillif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2015

On my first day of vacation I became Ill from something I ate in La Rochelle. Unfortunately I had to drive to my first stop which was Le Medoc de Maxou...fortunately, when I arrived they noticed I wasn't looking right and suggested I eat something. The called a restaurant a few blocks away and told the I was coming as it was getting fairly late. After dinner I returned to my room and passed out. When I awoke I was surprised to find that I had slept for 12 hours. It was noon but the staff held breakfast for me and gave me some in formation on local wineries. The room was fresh and clean with new bathroom appliances. It was a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gary91214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2015

We called in here without a reservation and were shown to a lovely room on the top floor. It was bright, spacious and quiet with a large very comfortable bed. The bathroom was very modern and well lit. There were tea/ coffee making facilities in the room.

As mentioned by other reviewers, the spiral staircase may prove difficult for anyone with mobility issues, but we didn't find it a problem.
Breakfast was served by our charming host and even included a fried egg and freshly made crepe, a nice touch.

We also used the bicycles to tootle about the local area and visit vineyards.

Very pleasant place to stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woolif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Small and intimate hotel. Lamarque is beautifully situated in the Haut Medoc and it was a true pleasure to wander from this village for the day and return to a comfortable room. The rooms are small, as are the bathrooms. The circular, narrow staircase could be problematic for the disabled, large luggage or anyone travelling with children. The breakfast was very pleasant, as were our hosts.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kcoers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

we found the room to be too small, and it was hard to bring up our suitcases through the tiny stairs, not very practical.
the people are friendly - they could organize more activities with chateaux, as we did not get to see any from the inside through them.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobeTrottLobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamarque
25.9 km away
Ibis Bordeaux Le Lac
Ibis Bordeaux Le Lac
#17 of 174 in Bordeaux
815 reviews
6.5 km away
Relais de Margaux
Relais de Margaux
#1 of 2 in Margaux
674 reviews
10.6 km away
Chateau Cordeillan-Bages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 km away
Hotel de France et d'Angleterre
7.0 km away
Le Pavillon de Margaux
Le Pavillon de Margaux
#2 of 2 in Margaux
76 reviews
0.3 km away
Un Herisson Dans Mon Jardin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Medoc de Maxou? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Medoc de Maxou

Address: 19 rue Principale, 33460 Lamarque, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Lamarque
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lamarque
Price Range: ₹ 5,268 - ₹ 6,874 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Le Medoc de Maxou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing