We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bequia is truly sweet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bequia Beachfront Villas
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Friendship
Reviewed 21 June 2009

The property and villas are well maintained and clean. Daphne (housekeeper/mgr.) is great, very helpful and friendly. As the other reviews note, it is a few yards from the bay. It is very quiet here, so if you are seeking nightlife, or action this is not the place you should go. I sure hope that Bequia will not succumb to the fate of most islands in the Caribbean. Without major hotels/resorts this island retains the true culture of the West Indies. There is plenty to do with days trips to St. Vincent, Mustique and Tobago Cays, etc. available for those who feel the need to run about.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2009

We have just returned from our second stay at The Beachfront Villas on beautiful Bequia. Little has changed; still an excellent housekeeper/manager in Daphne, still a stunning beachfront location. This really is beachfront, just a few steps to the sand and a reef which is busy with lots of varieties of fish.

If you want to eat some fish then Daphne will point you to one of the fishermen based a few metres along the beach and you can cook some of the freshest fish you will ever eat in the well equipped kitchen.
We stayed in the one bedroom ground floor villa and it is charming, with pretty much everything you might need including daily housekeeping, cleaning, towels etc.
From the verandah you can watch the fishermen, the locals and visitors walking and swimming and the goats up on the point. This makes it sound quite busy; in reality if you see six or eight people it is a busy day! A pleasant breeze will keep you cool. You can sink into the pleasant laid back relaxation that is the whole point of Bequia.
On this visit, being aware of the exchange rate and that this isn’t a cheap option, we had a good look round for something else that might suit us. We couldn’t find anything that matched the location and style/standard of accommodation. We are surprised that there aren’t more reviews of the villas, and would happily recommend them to anyone who likes this kind of holiday. Not for those who crave resort style hotels and lots of nightlife.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brittraveller31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2007

I was in two minds about posting this review as I don't want Bequia to turn into another overdeveloped holiday island. However that would be selfish so here goes. We stayed at the "Beachfront Villas" in February and were delighted to find that we were about ten metres from the water. The beach was great for swimming and pretty good for snorkelling (swim along the left edge of the coral just off the beach in front of the appartments). Snorkelling in Bequia is OK but I think there has been to much spear fishing in parts. The beaches however are amazing on the east and west coasts - Princess Margaret Beach was probably our favourite. Our area of beach was kept tidy by Brandon who tirelessly worked at removing any sea grass that accumulated.

Our property was immaculately kept by the manager Daphne who is a lovely relaxed lady with a twinkle in her eye. The appartment had everything you could want and more especially as we prefered trying the local restaurants to cooking main meals for ourselves. However this semi self-catering is a great antidote to the hotels where after a week you start to feel hemmed in by the endless onslaught of meals.

People describe Bequia as being like Barbados 40 years ago and it certainly is charming. The capital Port Elizabeth is tiny but has a good range of shops. I especially liked the delis near the post office and one that I think was called Nina's. We hired a jeep but there are loads of taxis and dollar buses.

Best moment was probably sitting on the gorgeous wood verandah eating birthday cake, watching the frigate birds and looking out at at other even more deserted islands.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank PumpsieGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2006

Just returned from a pre Christmas holiday to Bequia. We loved the island and found everyone to be exceptionally friendly, including Daphne, the host / housekeeper at the Beachfront Villas. We stayed in the penthouse 2 bedroomed villa, which was basic but well kept and clean. As there are no welcome provisions (not even tea bags and coffee), plan on bringing provisions with, or shopping on arrival. There was a tiny bar at the top of the road which sold bottles of water / beer etc, which you could take out, however the pounding reggae music they played could be heard from within the villa became intrusive. The view from the balcony was beautiful, although we were a bit disappointed that the balcony was in complete shade most of the time (apart from an hour or two first thing). There was a very thin strip of beach which meant that there was not much room for sunbathing there either and this filled up with vast amounts of see grass (like pine needles) which was tended to directly outside the villas but not along the rest of the bay. We would have liked to have had enough sun loungers for each person as well, which were lacking.

We enjoyed walking round the bay and swimming in the bay to cool off. There were hardly any other tourists staying in the area whilst we were there, so we saw more locals cooling off in the bay and walking their dogs along the beach! The snorkeling was not as good as we had anticipated and meant you had to go out quite a way to see anything.

Another grip was that the next door neighbors to the villa had 2 dogs which would bark frantically at anyone within eyeshot which became quite annoying.

We felt very safe and able to get out and about using taxis and the dollar busses and enjoyed eating out every night. The restaurants are not sophisticated (nor as pricey) as the ones in Barbados or other more developed islands, however we particularly enjoyed The Gingerbread Hotel and Springs (the Sunday lunch curry buffet was great). We didn’t think much of our meal at the Friendship Bay Hotel though, which is currently undergoing major rennovation. We went to Frangipani for the weekly BBQ / Buffet and “Jump up” which was fun but very touristy.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank josie_w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2006

we had stayed at this hotel on tortola and were equally impressed by this one on bequia. everyone is very friendly. dont rent a car, gideons taxi service is better to get around in. very laid back, great snorkeling, great room. they had some food waiting for us in the fridge and supplied a cell phone ($20)when ours did not work. ac in the bedroom was a big plus. breakfast overlooking the ocean each morning left no need to go into town. for lunch and dinner frangipani is the best place to eat, as many places are closed from june to oct. cocos is also great. at our hotel our host was daphne and we loved her! super nice. one bit of advice, check ferry schedules and holidays. the only ferry was at 7 am and the flight was not until 130. we took a speedboat instead, bad idea! saw my life pass before me. we stayed in the 1 bedroom and toured the others, very beautiful. overall the location can not be beat! also loved the locals.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Travelcat888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friendship
0.3 km away
Bequia Beach Hotel Luxury Boutique Hotel & Spa
4.6 km away
Sugar Reef Bequia
Sugar Reef Bequia
#2 of 10 in Bequia
185 reviews
3.7 km away
Firefly Bequia Plantation Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Spring Hotel Bequia
Spring Hotel Bequia
#1 of 1 in Port Elizabeth
74 reviews
13.8 km away
Firefly Mustique Hotel
Firefly Mustique Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mustique
152 reviews
16.2 km away
Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bequia Beachfront Villas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bequia Beachfront Villas

Address: La Pompe | Friendship Bay Beach, Friendship, Bequia
Region: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Bequia > Friendship
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Friendship
Price Range: ₹ 20,531 - ₹ 37,306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bequia Beachfront Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featured in Architectural Design, Bequia Beachfront Villas are located on Friendship Bay Beach. The 1-4 bedroom villas are very large, beautifully decorated, with the most elegant design details such as unusually high-beamed ceilings. Each luxurious villa has a living room, kitchen, bedroom(s), bath(s), and deep luxurious porches, superbly designed for entertaining, eating outdoors, or just lounging. Bequia Beachfront Villas, a Fort Recovery Resort, have all the comforts of private living with hotel amenities. Truly elegant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bequia Beachfront Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bequia Beachfront Villas Hotel Bequia
Bequia Beachfront Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing