We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect getaway!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A cosy loch-side cabin in the midst of lacustrine splendour.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
45 reviews
A cosy loch-side cabin in the midst of lacustrine splendour.
Bedroom #1
The fog lifts off the loch
Sheltered porch
One of the many views from the cabin
Avich Falls Trail
Lochside footpath
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Loch Awe, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
NickyLove...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway!”
Reviewed 21 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

My husband and I went to the cabin for our first wedding anniversary and it was absolutely perfect! The cabin itself is in a wonderful location, right on the loch shore and secluded from the neighbouring cabins. It is simply furnished but is well equipped and had everything we needed. The wood-burning stove was great, in fact at one point it was so good that I had to go outside to cool down! Booking the cabin and picking up the keys were very straightforward, we arrived late at night in the pitch black and rain, and still managed to find it OK (just about!!).
Dinner at the social club was great, and the full breakfast at the cafe/shop in Dalavich was very filling! We also ate at the two nearest pubs, one in Kilchrenan (20min drive and good pub food) and one in Kilmelford (30min drive and excellent food). The best way to eat by far is a BBQ on the balcony, which we managed to do on the one night that it didn't rain, and thankfully having gone well equipped for fighting off the midges, we didn't encounter a single one!
There are lots of good walking trails nearby, Kilchurn Castle is well worth a visit (free), as is Cruachan hydro-electric power station. The Inverawe smokery has a nice cafe, nature trail and shop and it is a pleasant walk from there to the Bonawe Furnace in Taynuilt. Oban is good for a day out (McCaigs Tower, Distillery, Pulpit Hill, seafood on the dock-side and various boat trips).
Overall it was a fabulous week away, thanks Reuben!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The length of drive to a 'main' road (but then the location is a plus!!)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Dec 2012
Very impressed by your activity in the area! The cabin is so secluded that sometimes it's difficult to find in the dark. As per your suggestion, I've added a sign next to the road that says 19! Hopefully it will survive the winter.
Thanks for your lovely review, please come back soon. Reuben
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
allycolq
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“CANT WAIT TO VISIT AGAIN”
Reviewed 21 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We visited the cabin in July, it was a last minute attempt to get away from everyone and everything and it was just perfect. The amenities at the cabin are more than adequate although we couldn't work out how to get the wood burner going (too use to flicking a switch) luckily we didn't need it as it was warm enough.
We had a 14 and 6 year old with us and thought we would have to listen to how bored they were but they loved it, it really was brill to get away from the computers and games and play the board games and cards provided in the cabin, quality time. The 6 year old was in love with the ducks that come up to the cabin as soon as you open the doors.
We ate at the restaurant on the site the food was excellent as were the locals who made us feel very welcome. Irene who we picked the keys up from was lovely.
It is breathtaking how fantastic the scenery is and even more so in the evening with the sun reflecting off the loch its a wee peace of heaven there.!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The remote location but everything at hand
Liked least: Didn't dislike anything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2012
Thanks so much for your feedback, we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay! Yes, the Dalavich folk are lovely people indeed. Come again soon, the ducks are waiting!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stunning views
Liked least: Midges!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Aug 2012
Thanks! I'm glad the cabin was up to your standards. I'm continuously making improvements, and I hope, like many other guests have done, you enjoy it a second (third!) time round soon. Cheers, Reuben.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SophieMir...
Olne, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: la vue
Liked least: le manque de propreté
Travelling group: En famille avec adolescent(s)
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing