We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveller rating
217
46
1
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
217
46
1
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews captain nick great hosts fish rum punch reef view apartments local community english harbour their lives local food outdoor shower lovely balcony pots and pans minute drive roti stingray city all inclusive hotel pineapple
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 270 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2017

Myself, husband and teenage son had the first 2 weeks of August at Reef View Apartments, hot weather, a bit of rain, but you get to see Carnival! The garden apartment was just right for us, with a separate bedroom and single bed in the sitting room area. Karoll was a mine of information on the real Antigua, helping out with day trips (like to Barbuda), local restaurants, bars and shops (Henrietta's bakery just down the road was great) and even our two day trip on the ferry over to Montserrat. Cades Bay just behind the apartments is a wonderful snorkelling site once you wade out over the first bit of reef. The Turner Beach and Darkwood Beach just up the road are spectacular and about $2.50 EC (approx $1 US) fare on the friendly No. 22 bus service that plies up and down. We did our PADI open water certificate up at Jolly Harbour Beach just up the road and then got to do some real diving off Cades Reef, so so beautiful. It was at this point I found out what an amazing knowledge Karoll has of reef fish, corals and other reef life, being an advanced diver. We didn't go out fishing with Nick, but that would be great for another trip. Karoll was so helpful arranging a few days of car hire, drop off just outside the property, so that we could drive around to places like Shirley Heights, reached through Fig Tree Drive rainforest. Everyone was so friendly in Antigua, and we really felt we had experienced the real deal. It was good to be a little off the tourist track and just get the bus into St John's, and actually for the carnival this was the best way to do it. Oh! and I must mention the humming birds sipping nectar along the wonderful flowering trees Karoll has planted all around her garden. On a downside, there are singing frogs through the night, which are wonderfully tropical, but noisy little creatures!

Room Tip: Upstairs apartments have sea views.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017

This was our 2nd visit to Reefview and we had another excellent time

We stayed in the large Penthouse apartment which is equipped with everything you need and has good Wi-Fi. There is a cooling breeze and from the balcony you can choose whether to watch the great views of the sea or the hummingbirds as they flit around Karolls lovely garden

Karoll and Nick are great hosts who go out of their way to ensure you get the most out of your holiday. They will introduce you to the local community - Henrietta's the local bakery and Chappy's the local restaurant are within easy walking distance and both great - as well as recommending the best beaches (Darkwood and Turners are fab and within 5 mins drive or bus) plus places to visit and eat - we did the the Creole Cruise and a visit to StingRay City which we loved

We had a couple of nights out with Karoll and Nick which were an excellent laugh and made the holiday even more enjoyable

We would definitely return and stay with Karoll and Nick at Reefview apartments

Room Tip: The Penthouse apartment is large, airy, very well equipped and has great views
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017

Jessica and I stayed with Karoll and Nick (aka Captain Nick) for a week in May. It was a pleasure to stay in their company and to be able to have their assistance in feeling like a true local to the area. From the moment we arrived and experienced their mouthwatering gourmet welcome BBQ meal, to the day we left and snuck in a final snorkeling session, we were pinching ourselves to make sure we weren't dreaming. We enjoyed the cottage and it's amenities as well as the beautiful garden that Karoll has obviously spent a lot of time keeping looking so healthy. The atmosphere is wonderful and the location is sublime. Minutes walk from Cades Bay with breathtaking snorkeling and a nice little cabana to yourself. Picturesque local beaches are no more than a 5 minute drive in either direction. There is no shortage of things to do on the island, and Karoll will be your one stop shop for information! We absolutely will recommend this location to others and will definitely be back again.!!! <3 <3 <3

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

We stayed at Reefview Apartments for almost three weeks in March- April. The service provided by Nick and Karroll prior to our visit was excellent. We knew what to expect from the accommodations and the surrounding area. The good service continued during our stay and we are happy to give a big thumbs up to our hosts.

We stayed in the ground floor apartment and it was lovely - the second floor is a better choice, as it has two balconies, a lovely ocean view and a cross breeze. For those of us who are not tropic dwellers, a cross breeze is a welcome thing! However, we had fans and open windows in our accommodations and they did the trick. Our apartment had everything we needed to enjoy our stay - pots and pans, dishes, TV, Wifi, beach towels and chairs, and a library of local information as well as a good selection of beach reads.

We loved living in the local community. We were close to the school, so saw the kids everyday, we walked to the local bakery and had roti and fresh fish and baked goods at Henrietts's which were delicious. We also ate at the local restaurant, Chappy's, about 5 minutes down the road. The restaurant is by the marina and specializes in local food and fish and jerk pork and chicken. It was all good and a great local experience that we could not have had living elsewhere.

Karoll kindly introduced us to the local markets, taking me on on an introductory shopping expedition and pointing out all the hot spots. She and I also did some shopping and exploring in St.John's while our husbands were fishing. Captain Nick was an equally excellent host. By all accounts the fishing for tarpon was a great experience and fish were caught!

One of things we liked best was that Karroll had our fridge filled with the basics before we arrived and cooked a welcome barbecue for us on our first evening. That cleared the path for an easy first day. We chose the menu and the grocery items we needed to startup so that was very helpful.

Karroll also recommended places to go and things to see on this, our first visit to Antigua. We did a Creole Cruise around the island, visited English Harbour and did a lot of exploring. All her recommendations were helpful.

We would definitely return and stay at Reefview apartments. Thanks Karroll and Captain Nick!

Room Tip: Second floor apartment has the better view.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbmcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

We just had the pleasure of eight wonderful days at the Reefview Apartments. Two things made the stay so special: our hostess Karoll; and her lovely cottage accommodation. From the moment she met us at the airport to when she dropped us off there again at the end of our stay, Karoll was a warm, lovely and entertaining hostess who immediately made us feel at home. Her menagerie of dogs, cats and parrot greeted us on arrival and kept our 12 year old hugely entertained. From the best snorkeling excursion to the local food spots, Karoll made sure we had the inside scoop on how to maximize our enjoyment of Antigua. The cottage was equally nice. As a family of three, we had enough room to cook, shower and sleep with equal parts of togetherness and privacy. The outdoor shower was a special treat, and was well used by us. Karoll's place is not an isolated resort type of property. You are definitely part of the community, and will hear dogs, goats, people (and mosquitoes!) going about their lives. We found that embracing it and taking full advantage of local life (a pick up soccer game, a Sunday cricket game, and Chappy's restaurant) made for a more meaningful trip.

Room Tip: Two of the accommodations have ocean views
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank LostLawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
REEFVIEW, Owner at ReefView Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

Thankyou so much for your lovely review so happy that you enjoyed the local vibe and our quirky unique cottage. All 3 of our holiday accommodations have seaviews and 2 have outside covered patios. We hope you come back and see us soon. We were very fortunate to have escaped the awful hurricanes in Sept and even our picnic table coconut thatched cabana survived the 185mph winds and are still there next to the waters edge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews