We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (499)
Filter reviews
499 results
Traveller rating
323
87
42
26
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
323
87
42
26
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhirlpool bathsplit levelwedding venueupgraded to a suitewedding breakfastsitting areacountry hotelfour poster bedjanet simpsonthis wonderful hotelhuge bedlancashire countrysidedressing tableevening mealblack puddingfood was lovelystayed for one night
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 499 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

With swift, friendly service, a gorgeous view out of the picture windows and a lunch set menu to please all twelve of us, there was absolutely nothing negative to say about the Gibbon Bridge restaurant. We were greeted warmly on entrance and shown to a large table, beautifully laid, as soon as we had all gathered. The set menu for lunch on Easter Sunday was £30 - not cheap, but my shrimps for starter and main of goose were delicious, followed by a trio of gorgeous desserts. Coffee and sweets followed. For a special occasion this is well worth visiting.

Stayed: April 2018
Thank Jud1thmason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018

We had a lovely dinner and overnight stay. Staff all attentive and friendly, food was excellent; black treacle marinated fillet of beef was gorgeous, and the pheasant was excellent. There is a nice sense of tradition about it, and the decor, especially the wallpaper throughout the public areas was stunning throughout.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jiminkendal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

Spent a weekend with friends at Gibbon Bridge and had a lovely time from start to finish. Hotel is in a nice location, we had a walk to nearby chipping even despite the snowy conditions! Had a lovely sandwich lunch in the bar area near to a very cosy log fire, staff extremely helpful and couldn’t do enough for us. Evening meal was excellent - food, staff and service all faultless. The starters we had included scallops, pork belly and potted shrimp, mains duck (which was outstanding), beef shin and venison, we had a wide selection of puddings between us but the lemon cheesecake was well worthy of a mention. Rooms were excellent and the entire hotel is really nicely decorated and they obviously have and maintain high standards. My only slight complaint was that despite there being loads of hot water in the room when using the shower the water was cool. Our stay was completed with a lovely English breakfast - loads of choice and freshly prepared. All in all an excellent place to stay and highly recommended.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Anita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018

this hotel has a lovely roaring fire great rooms lovely food and attentive friendly staff what more could you want.The gardens are really nice.We went in January I imagine it can only be nicer in the spring/summer.

Stayed: January 2018
Thank tonywest4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

We visited here to celebrate our wedding anniversary unfortunately clashing with this very busy special day. As usual the place was elegant and cosy. Welcomed with a drink we sat down in front of the log fire. The good thing about this place is no matter when we visit there are always plenty of helpful and pleasant serving staff, so even though we knew this would be very busy, everything was extremely efficient. Shown to our table, minutes after making our choices we sat in the conservatory overlooking the gardens.
My choice of tomato and lentil soup, although usually boring was a refreshing change and tasty with their home made bread. The other prawn and avocado choice was well received.
My main of goat cheese and shallot tarte tatin was delicious as was the other lamb main. The assiete of puddings was a real treat.
Yes we had to bite the bullet and pay more for the pleasure of mixing with all the other Mothers celebrating their days. Nevertheless this was a good meal, always wonderful service and a feeling of fine dining.
Our event in the Cavalier lounge a number of years ago is still talked about and the place will always have that special meaning.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank ptpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews