We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Norfolk Broads boating holiday”
Review of The Dog

The Dog
Ranked #3 of 3 Restaurants in Ludham
Price range: US$ 5 - US$ 16
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: An olde worlde pub, set close to Ludham Bridge and the river Ant, surrounded by stunning rural views over the countryside. With an adjoining field for 'Happy Campers' we welcome tents, caravans and motor homes, all year round. Basic camping is offered, loos and water only, no showers or electric hook-up, but you get the vista with horses, cows, chickens and windmills across the open marshes in exchange.The pub offers a warm welcome from landlords Lorraine and Geoff and our brilliant staff. We serve local Real Ales, and home-cooked 'pub grub' using locally sourced ingredients wherever possible. New for 2016 is a fresh new look, newly fitted commercial kitchen, and new chefs. With a pool table and darts board in the games room, outdoor seating with glorious views, and a welcoming atmosphere inside you will at home immediately. Well behaved children and dogs always welcome, inside and outside.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

very nice meall helpful staff,pleasant nice country pub in the Norfolk countryside.Would visit again

Thank keenpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglandLorraine, Owner at The Dog, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thank you.

Regards
Lorraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018

Stopping over on our boating holiday with moored up at ludham. So we pitched up at a busy time with our groupon voucher with the family. The landlord and staff were hospitable and welcoming, tried really hard to fit every body in. The drinks are well priced as is the food and the staff very polite. We stayed abit longer and had a few more beers. The locals are really polite and welcoming.The menu is broad with plenty of choice.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglandLorraine, Owner at The Dog, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Hello James, thank you for taking the time to write your review of the Dog pub, I am pleased that your visit was good. I hope you all enjoy the rest of your holiday.

Regards
Lorraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Terrible customer service from the landlord, very obnoxious and couldn’t care less attitude. Thinks he is better than he is. The Wayfarer cafe is just over the bridge and serves fantastic food coupled with excellent customer service, I would go there every time. The Dog pub - avoid!

2  Thank S A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglandLorraine, Owner at The Dog, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Hello. I must say I am very taken aback by your comments about our service, it sounds very unlike either my husband or our bar manager, as you can see from other reviews people praise Geoff and Mike highly, so I have no idea what occurred for this to happen.
If you would care to discuss further you can email me via our website.

Regards Lorraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

We went to the Dog for dinner on a Thursday night. The owner was very welcoming.
We had a lovely meal with great starters. Food was well presented and tasty.
Definitely will go back.

Thank peter_mm_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglandLorraine, Owner at The Dog, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Hello Peter, thank you for your great comments, so pleased you enjoyed your meals, I will pass your comments on to our chef.
Regards
Lorraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

We called in quite late, 1.30pm for Sunday lunch. There was a large party also eating but it was no problem. We were all served in a timely manner.
Our two dinners arrived quickly, tasty beef, two types of potato and four vegetable servings. All well cooked and tasty.
Welcoming atmosphere friendly staff and proprietor. The weather was warm enough to sit outside and with comfy seating. Dogs also very welcome !

Thank Madame-Dragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglandLorraine, Owner at The Dog, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Hi, thank you for your review, I am so pleased you enjoyed your meals, Miro (the chef) cooks great food!

Kind regards
Lorraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dog also viewed

Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 

Been to The Dog? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing